Bigger Rim problems?

tajulsans said:
Aiyak, rollakid.. all the while u where thinkin the 50 is the height ah.. no wonder u where thinkin ur tyres are so thin.. hehehe.. :d
no kiddin.. i can get the spare tire out and its bigger than my current tire...

definitely my mistake, but it only clear two thing, that the person who tell me its measured in mm is misleading me and the reason why i can't seem to get accurate measurement with a ruller lolx silly me.

new wide tire has great traction on dry.. but on wet days my car is all over the place. i just hope ppl dun think that i'm some drift wannabe cuz my car just oversteer all over the place even if i dun wan it.

Obviously ur car is Fr one right... The prob with wide tyres are rainy days, realy prone to aqua planning (if there is air bertakung laa, if its just wet road it is still sperior than thin tyres).. but a good set of tyres can overcome this problem with good thread design..

agree, more on the tire tread design, seems like its blocky and almost like autocross tire :D, design dated back to 1975 and older, same tire goes in the prototype celica. this is the last two, i'm still wondering what tire to use after they are botak. maybe use the same one as the front, sumitomo's never once lost traction yet, just glued to the ground.

13x7j, heavy heavy... but if we are to talk about rims/tires -> handling, IMHO its kind of narrow minded won't you think? how about suspension? or this tread is talking about stock suspension and change rims?

rollakid said:
agree, more on the tire tread design, seems like its blocky and almost like autocross tire :D, design dated back to 1975 and older, same tire goes in the prototype celica. this is the last two, i'm still wondering what tire to use after they are botak. maybe use the same one as the front, sumitomo's never once lost traction yet, just glued to the ground.

13x7j, heavy heavy... but if we are to talk about rims/tires -> handling, IMHO its kind of narrow minded won't you think? how about suspension? or this tread is talking about stock suspension and change rims?

Good handling in wet conditions go for Yokohama ES100s. Nice grooves and goes really smooth over wet patches but a bit noisy after 50% wear.

Hawke said:
Good handling in wet conditions go for Yokohama ES100s. Nice grooves and goes really smooth over wet patches but a bit noisy after 50% wear.
i don't think it came in the size for 13x7" old school deep dish... my only choice now probably sumitomo htr200, maybe there's others but i dun have much info about them...

wah! d topic getting hot eh? cool.. cool.. somehow, i've read 1 article in Hot4 saying that we can only increase 1"-2" bigger rim without having trouble to the ori settings. more than that, need to be inspect by engineer for: traction / accuracy / stability etc.. but never know bout tires this bad. (where did i put the mag!! duh..)

by saying this, i mean here we need not exceed the general rules, modify but retain comfort.

tire sidewall to thin gotta be very bumpy liau if suspension not changed. hit pothole rim bengkok sakit hati again...

The best size of rims so far that I've tried is 15".....comfortable for all types of roads...previously was using 16".