Bolt on turbo question

evoX2

hi,

I'm interested to add bolt on turbo kit on my 1.6 sohc vtec, is it a wise move? All i want is gain extra pick up power. Will bolt on turbo give better pick up compare changing to B16A engine?

Btw, will the bolt on turbo cause damages to the engine? Thinking of around 0.4-0.5 bar.

Does anyone what is the import duty/tax for auto parts to Malaysia?

Thanks.

Hi evoX2,
Give blur civic a call cause he has already did abolt on a turbo to his sohc engine. in between a bolt on turbo and engine swap to a B-series, You should look at realiability between the two where as a turbo bolt on will give you more uumphh \than a stock B-series.
cheeriossssssssss.

3gciviczc.:shades_smile:

3gciviczc said:
Hi evoX2,
Give blur civic a call cause he has already did abolt on a turbo to his sohc engine. in between a bolt on turbo and engine swap to a B-series, You should look at realiability between the two where as a turbo bolt on will give you more uumphh \than a stock B-series.
cheeriossssssssss.

3gciviczc.:shades_smile:

i also wanted to bolt-on turbo my SOHC VTEC leh...somemore mine is auto, do you think it works well ar? B series too costly leh...

people said bolt-on turbo need to get E-manage to re-configure, and change piston everything also...not as simple as that....

not need change pistons..just lower your compression by putting thicker head gasket...to boost higher..

BLUR CIVIC~!! i like your ride engine spec exactly like mine~!!

how much u'd done with the bolt-on itself (together with the ticker head gasket)? can pm me ar?

hope can make friends with u bro....cheers for SOHC VTEC~!!

Hi 938,

Always glad to make more friends.. I was previously running a non-Vtec.. recently converted to a Vtec.. I'll PM you the cost.. :) If I list it out here alot of DOHC ppl will tembak me..

PM me too blur civic. a bit interested to know the cost. maybe can do the same thing to my accord. where did u have ur civic turboed? aerotech ka?

Map Sensor

Hi blur_civic,

I'm interested in turbo-charging my SO4 too...low presure lah...but I'm worried about the MAP sensor...which is mainly a big problem for honda when it comes to turbo...one way i read was to put in HONDATA, which will enable us to use back the stock MAP sensor but able to read boost. But do they support our ECU? That I've yet to find out. How did u solve yours? Anyway, happy boosting...yeahhhhhh!!!

in asia.vtec.net there are a few articles on turboed SOHC honda civic. 3 cars SOHC auto SOHC VTEC auto SOHC manual. done by aerotech... i called them once... price = 14k

amdfaisal said:
in asia.vtec.net there are a few articles on turboed SOHC honda civic. 3 cars SOHC auto SOHC VTEC auto SOHC manual. done by aerotech... i called them once... price = 14k

Yeap.. I called them before too... hahahaha... when I heard about it I fell off my chair.. hahaha... the price hit me by surprise..

lilvee.. don't quiet ler... post some comments.. he is another boss.. running a much bigger turbo on his SOHC... :p

amdfaisal said:
PM me too blur civic. a bit interested to know the cost. maybe can do the same thing to my accord. where did u have ur civic turboed? aerotech ka?

Got it done at Drager Racing, Andy@0123963348.. :)

ramrodx said:
Hi blur_civic,

I'm interested in turbo-charging my SO4 too...low presure lah...but I'm worried about the MAP sensor...which is mainly a big problem for honda when it comes to turbo...one way i read was to put in HONDATA, which will enable us to use back the stock MAP sensor but able to read boost. But do they support our ECU? That I've yet to find out. How did u solve yours? Anyway, happy boosting...yeahhhhhh!!!

Unfortunately I found it out only after my MAP sensor went faulty.. :p hahaha.. no biggie.. got it swapped and got it over with..

wah suddenly so much people interested in bolt-on turbo their VTEC....

blur_civic can launch a "Turbo Seminar Talk" liao....

Hope one day we can bring up all the SOHC VTEC lover together yam cha....it will be great...

blur_civic said:
Hi 938,

Always glad to make more friends.. I was previously running a non-Vtec.. recently converted to a Vtec.. I'll PM you the cost.. :) If I list it out here alot of DOHC ppl will tembak me..

Bro, please PM me the cost, as well as cost of convertion to manual transmission.:_:

P/S: I did notice your posts in D-series, quite interesting.

wow... thats way way back... :) im surprise anyone found this post..

erm.. but Andy@0123963348 is the guy you wan to call to enquire about the price and all... :)

Im just a normal customer..

Erm.. definitely not trying to show off or anything.. but feel free to check it out.. http://z13.invisionfree.com/TimeToBlip/ it has my car blog ( if thats what you call it) :)
Has all the problems and others which I encountered..

ok, i'll try to find it out and digest properly, (",)

My current car is similar to ur ride b4 mod, Local EJ7, 1.6 SOHC VTEC, Auto.

Hope i can convert it to manual transmission soon.

Erm.. honestly speaking, i would prefer auto to manual now that I've tried both.. :p

Just a personal preference.. :)