Brake Caliper upgrade

guys....does anybody know if the vr4/evo3 4 lug 114.3 twin pot calipers clear 15' rims?

Anybody tried to retrofit this before?

Hey guys I upgraded to bb1 brakes

The master pump I using the original one

But somehow when I rev ( drive ) the car then I tap the brake the level I need to press for it to start braking is normal

After I keep using the brakes without accelerating again the brake pedal needs to be depress a bit lower than before

Why ?

bro...did u bleed the brake system?
ur hoses is normal or steel-braided?

guys....does anybody know if the vr4/evo3 4 lug 114.3 twin pot calipers clear 15' rims?

Anybody tried to retrofit this before?

yes clears... but still depends on offset iirc...had a friend with VR4 twinpots under 15"

a singaporean dood with an EG hatch fitted it to his car..also running 15"

BUT... he mentioned his rotors are 286mm though after searching, EVO3 is actually 272mm or something like that...

http://img243.imageshack.us/img243/2243/img0459m.jpg

http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/8904/51291844.jpg

you only need to skim the calipers a little. but mine are so close to the rims, even the balancers on the wheels have to be moved inside the rims more. but i'm super happy with the look and performance of it. i was using prelude 282s on my old eg9 with brembo max rotors, and this beats that hands down.

evo3 286mm rotors + 2pot calipers + project MU brake pads = budget man's effective BBK

source (requires registration)

Hmmm..he did mention he's current setup is using Project Mu Brake pads, that is serious stuff...Did he use the same brand in his previous setup? If not, than no use comparing..

no mention of brake pads... but he was using the BB1 with Brembo Max rotors...thats it

I think the stock EVO1-3/VR4RS should be 270+mm...but seems like some US spec VR4 will come with a 286mm rotor. Interestingly the Mitsu FTO also came with twinpots but 5 x 114.3. So for those who are already on EK9 hubs and you want to go twinpot..that is a possible option.

Hmm guys any idea why my car is facing this problem ? I posted the page before

I'm using steel braided now and I did bleed my system and drained the old fluid and put new ones

Problem is with acceleration brake pedal height is normal

After pumping the brakes without accelerating again the pedal height is slightly lower

Why !

give it a few more days...then see how... coz had a friend whp upgraded his brakes, also had the same issue... after a few days, ok liao...

madman : Yeah using r32 caliper n rotor bef (280mm) but only fit 16" rims with +40 off. In terms of weight is only 0.2kg additional fr oem ek9 .. but if include the base ... it will be more. Thats why feels more heavier than oem ... Rotor thickness oso differ ... materials oso diff ... r32 caliper is aluminium while oem ek9 is cast iron

just bought me a pair of silvia 4pot calipers....wheeeeeeee...

only thing is..no money to pasang...hahahhaha

gotta keep it for awhile first before installing :P

im using back the rotor...caliper only change :P

just bought me a pair of silvia 4pot calipers....wheeeeeeee...

only thing is..no money to pasang...hahahhaha

gotta keep it for awhile first before installing :P

gonna put into 15' or 16' rims? can i know the caliper from s14 or else? i am planning to change my caliper too...

gonna put in 15"... not sure which silvia...

but i do have 1 problem now....

i need suggestions on (replica) wheels that has forgiving barrel n spokes for 4pots... any thoughts??

type c rs? spoon/regamnaster? te37sl? type f?...if can give link to mudah even better...

im looking for 15x7 +35...but really dunno which one can clear the brakes...

:listen:

i need suggestions on (replica) wheels that has forgiving barrel n spokes for 4pots... any thoughts??

type c rs? spoon/regamnaster? te37sl? type f?...if can give link to mudah even better...

the easiest is to try and find p1 buddyclub as it comes in weird offset such as +17, +22, +33, etc, u can also try advan rg but a bit rare to find offset below 35, but ive seen a few with nice spec such as 15x7.5 with +25 offset..... as for replica, u can try the new rota wheels..... if wanna go oldschool then easy, can find ssr mesh, longchamp, watanabe, etc... price quite good too....

my relative done clear rx7 4 pot with taiwan advan rg in his ae101... somehow the rx7 brake is me who sold to him.. lol...... sifu madman's car must be very fast since nid big brakes...:adore:

---------- Post added at 06:50 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:49 PM ----------

or maybe a spacer can do, if u dun mind.. lol

:listen:
the easiest is to try and find p1 buddyclub as it comes in weird offset such as +17, +22, +33, etc, u can also try advan rg but a bit rare to find offset below 35, but ive seen a few with nice spec such as 15x7.5 with +25 offset..... as for replica, u can try the new rota wheels..... if wanna go oldschool then easy, can find ssr mesh, longchamp, watanabe, etc... price quite good too....

those weird offset would be ori wheels... dun wan ori.. no marnee...(n im also not that much of a fan of the design)

as for rota.. im already on rota auto x... but with the +40 offset and BB1 caliper it only barely clears...and i too lazy wanna drive far far to buy rims... rota in malaysia is extremely overpriced... so no way im buying it here..

looking at taiwan replicas at ah kit honestly... since its near my place...

my relative done clear rx7 4 pot with taiwan advan rg in his ae101... somehow the rx7 brake is me who sold to him.. lol...... sifu madman's car must be very fast since nid big brakes...:adore:

---------- Post added at 06:50 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:49 PM ----------

or maybe a spacer can do, if u dun mind.. lol

trying to avoid spacer... plus, spacer only helps with the spoke clearance.. the rim's barrel oso might be an issue... need to consider that oso...

and rx7 4pot caliper mmg small one from wat ive heard.. smaller than silvia oso iinm.

my car not fast... just that i like to brake late..hehehehhe

offset 38 is more then enough since r32 ori offset also +38... last time the evo 6 rim i used also offset +38 ,to clear a bigger evo 6 4 pot that as thick bout 4 inches ++

according to my friend who has to same setup said hes using +35 n mebbe had to use spacer oso...

the rotor tophat kinda plays a role in the offset thing oso...will just have to wait and see la....

in the mean time...im on the hunt for 15x7 +35 wheels...would be better if i can get 15x8 +35 :D