Budget Car Audio Set-up for All

just finish install my ice yesterday..... thanks to michael (mnkh0027, now at hongkong??), zenn, imad and other...
i can say kf audio provide superb installation and service...... definitely will recommend frens to them... but me, a miskin guy, broke liao........ because tiao racun also hahaaaa.... but i just regret not to get a/d/s amp from michael (might be better?), instead i get that precision 440 (toooooooo hooooot) :(

but anyway thanks to these guys... ;)

.:BreT:. said:
just finish install my ice yesterday..... thanks to michael (mnkh0027, now at hongkong??), zenn, imad and other...
i can say kf audio provide superb installation and service...... definitely will recommend frens to them... but me, a miskin guy, broke liao........ because tiao racun also hahaaaa.... but i just regret not to get a/d/s amp from michael (might be better?), instead i get that precision 440 (toooooooo hooooot) :(

but anyway thanks to these guys... ;)
a/d/s/ or PPI ...both are nice amps.....

r u the one in the jazz installing in KF last saturday?

yes sir ;)
u r? oh i noe.... the one i chat with..... hi :)
but dunno y, still not enuf for me haha.... the sound still not up to my expectation but wat to do, entry level hehe

I am back!!!!!!!!! :) BreT, congrats on ur install. Glad to hear via msn with that u are happy with it.

Cheerio.

hi bro,
haih finnally saw ur post
hope u can help me out here or give me an advice on wht should i do , i was conned too many times , till date i have a screwed sound system , let me know wht should i do first.

now i have a clarion standard wira player
a 6-cd changer , boss 1000watts max to power a boschmann rb6200pro component for the front and a 3 way boschmann 690 for the rear, for my woofer i got 2 12" boschmann in a custom vented box and its powered using a epsilon 4 channel amp rated 75X4 rms , im using a active pre-amp to play with the settings

after doing all these, my sound is not even better than a standard waja sound system. i got fedup with the woofer performance and already kept my woofer in my store room. As for some ppl who sat im my car, they claim that my sound system is NOISY. what could be the problem bro. And the bass i got is very err like vibrating , im not good at ICE , i was looking for a bass system tht would beat my heart , like a heart beat , but instead my bass vibrates the whole car lol.

let me know wht i should do , and if can quote me some stuff from wht u have :) , will a monoblock be usefull for the sub and i use the epsilon amp for my component and rear speaker ? player useless and has to go away ? get a good passive crossover ?
i knw its hard to judge from not looking and hearing directly , but u all could obviously see something wrong in the system and comment bout it, hehe , no worries

thanks a million

precision power mono block really cool..my fren bought it at round 6k+ plus installation..if u r rich then buy precision power mono block.u wont regret wanler.

jinkl said:
hi bro,
haih finnally saw ur post
hope u can help me out here or give me an advice on wht should i do , i was conned too many times , till date i have a screwed sound system , let me know wht should i do first.

now i have a clarion standard wira player
a 6-cd changer , boss 1000watts max to power a boschmann rb6200pro component for the front and a 3 way boschmann 690 for the rear, for my woofer i got 2 12" boschmann in a custom vented box and its powered using a epsilon 4 channel amp rated 75X4 rms , im using a active pre-amp to play with the settings

after doing all these, my sound is not even better than a standard waja sound system. i got fedup with the woofer performance and already kept my woofer in my store room. As for some ppl who sat im my car, they claim that my sound system is NOISY. what could be the problem bro. And the bass i got is very err like vibrating , im not good at ICE , i was looking for a bass system tht would beat my heart , like a heart beat , but instead my bass vibrates the whole car lol.

let me know wht i should do , and if can quote me some stuff from wht u have :) , will a monoblock be usefull for the sub and i use the epsilon amp for my component and rear speaker ? player useless and has to go away ? get a good passive crossover ?
i knw its hard to judge from not looking and hearing directly , but u all could obviously see something wrong in the system and comment bout it, hehe , no worries

thanks a million

im in a similar situation to u. im using 1000w boss to power my cheap twin subs, and the bass really vibrates my wira, it lacks heart thumping punch

New package for those with a better budget:

RM5600. (does not include installation - approx
Helix S6 Competition Components / Focal 165K2P (upgraded) Components
Helix W12 Competition 12" Subwoofer
Diamond D6 600.4 Amplifier or two units of Diamond D3 400.2
Directed 4 gauge power cables
Directed 12 gauge speaker cables
Directed Platinum or Stinger Bullet RCA/Interconnect

* For two units of Diamond D3, need to add additional power cables and another pair of RCA

For info on Helix, browse
http://www.audiotec-fischer.com/englisch/helix_englisch/helixstart.html or download the catalogue in pdf:
http://www.audiotec-fischer.com/pdfs/HelixProsp.05_gb_neu.pdf

For info on Diamond, browse
http://www.diamondaudio.com

For info on Focal, browse
http://www.focal.tm.fr/car/en/k2power/index.htm

oh..i thought this topic for budget audio ?? :P
anyway.. i'm currently using Macrom M3s.60 2-way component speaker.. and 8" custom sealed box subwoofer. any suggestion for 4 channel amp to power both?
budget around rm500
thank you. :D

digitheatre said:
anyway.. i'm currently using Macrom M3s.60 2-way component speaker.. and 8" custom sealed box subwoofer. any suggestion for 4 channel amp to power both?
budget around rm500

Some people earn in excess of 60k a yr, so RM5K is still budget for them. haha!

Anyway with your budget, I'd suggest you try to find a second hand amplifier such as an older Alpine or older Soundstream. The amp may be at least 3-4 years old so treat it good and hopefully it will give you another couple of years of enjoyment.

Btw, this topic is about budget audio, not low end audio. ;)

mnkh0027 said:
Some people earn in excess of 60k a yr, so RM5K is still budget for them. haha!

Anyway with your budget, I'd suggest you try to find a second hand amplifier such as an older Alpine or older Soundstream. The amp may be at least 3-4 years old so treat it good and hopefully it will give you another couple of years of enjoyment.

Btw, this topic is about budget audio, not low end audio. ;)

hehe..sorry .. misunderstood the topic :P
why 2nd hand amp? my budget too low isn;t it?

Ok, try this for someone with about RM3K budget.

a/d/s/ 236is 6-1/2" component speakers
Helix Dark Blue 4 amplifier or a/d/s/ P450.2 4-channel amplifier
12" Helix Deep Blue 12 Subwoofer
10 ft Directed 4 gauge power cables
20 ft Directed 12 gauge speaker cables
2-3 meters Stinger Nitro or Directed Silver RCA/interconnects

Additional:

Installation of amp under front passenger seat. Installation of midrange on the door with wooden supporting ring and tweeters on the dash. Labour approx. RM200 depending on customizability. Standard enclosure for subwoofer RM150 or >RM200 for customized enclosures.

digitheatre said:
hehe..sorry .. misunderstood the topic :P
why 2nd hand amp? my budget too low isn;t it?

Yes, if you would have read the first page, main post I hinted if you have not set aside about RM2000 minimum for an amp, speaker and subwoofer then this thread may not be suitable for you. Honestly even with RM2000, you won't be able to get much in the market. Probably some local brands or low-end commercial brands.

Perhaps someone can suggest something within your budget. Anyone?

digitheatre said:
budget around rm500

if u could add a "1" in front of your RM500.00-->RM1,500 might be able to help u get some decent second hand brandy oops branded amplifiers! :biggrin: btw i m newbie in ice too :biggrin: :rock: :rock: :rock: