can diy short shifter?

wah.. all confused liao..

well i think quickshift and shortshift is de same..

if u can shortened de gear shift.. then logically ur gear shifting time is reduced...

adjustables i duno how to explain... de stick below got few holes(i saw 3 holes wan b4) - is to adjust de leverage or de shifting distance i think....

correct me if i'm wrong B)

Quickshifter and Shortshifter are all the same - Quickshift because with them you can shift faster, Short Shift means the shifting distances are short so you can shift quicker laaa..

Whatever it is, for those who don't want to go through the hassle of DIYing this Quickshift or buy a Custom unit at RM150, I can mod your existing shifter to become a Quickshift for a flat rate of RM50.00 - all you have to do is drive in your car and watch me do it. It Includes disassembly of shifter unit, cutting and re-welding, re-assembly and testing - comes with warranty against broken weld too.

I have already done 5 cars to date and the owners are happy with them.

oh yes this applies to Cable type shifter only.

Thanks.

Call me at 012-240 7780 anytime.

Ya lor,EFN where u location??? WANGSA MAJU arrr???
Hv done ISWARA or not??? bcs ISWARA OEM damn long 1 lehh...

WAJA2003 & badguy,

If both of you interested. I can do it this weekend. My location is between Wangsa Maju & Batu Caves (Very near Genting/UIA Toll)

Normally it will take 1 and a half hour to do.

Call me at 012-2407780 if you guys want to confirm.

wah... i also interested!! but i duno how to go to wangsa maju or batu caves leh... i'm from Serdang...

If Batu Caves are not familiar to you guys, How about Sunway? I can make appointment & mod you shifters there.

Yes, cable shifters are mostly for FF cars.

Call me at 012-2407780 if you guys need further infos.

wahh... u gonna carry ur welding machine there to do da shifter also ah ? im interested also leh ... by the way, enquiries... what is the throttle trumpets that u put at ur signature there?

Originally posted by khguan@Jan 2 2005, 15:06
wah... i also interested!! but i duno how to go to wangsa maju or batu caves leh... i'm from Serdang...
wei u serdang kia also ar?
hahah me also, come lets go drift.

Originally posted by WinDz@Jan 3 2005, 15:31
wahh... u gonna carry ur welding machine there to do da shifter also ah ? im interested also leh ... by the way, enquiries... what is the throttle trumpets that u put at ur signature there?
Hahahaha no lah, Welding machine I still have to pay Exzos workshop to do it. I'll just meet up with those interested, diassamble the shifter on the spot and both will go to the nearest welding shop to have it re-welded.

Throttle trumpets? currently I am making Toyota's 20V Four Throttles (42mm & 45mm) velocity stack. But this also applies to any four throttle weber type carbs. But the ones that I am making are not made from metals, they are hard plastic (oh yes they don't melt that easily, and throttles area are not to be hot anyway)

If you want to do yours just PM or call me at 012-2407780

TQ

ohhh liddat wan ah .. i think i better meet u around ur area lerr.. lol... scad sunway there those welding cost they charge very expensive leh .. since i alwiz got go lepak at wangsa maju wan. so means da RM50 is only for the disemble of da shifter unit only or together with the welding wan eh ? the total cost to get the whole thing done is? and oh yea, i was wondering if we mod the original shifter liddat to a shortshifter , is there any draw backs?

can show where to cut and where to weld ???
DIY Forum here mah! ;)

i just helped a friend to modify his gear shifter to a short shifter
his car is a '00 Ford Laser, the same car is the 1999 Mazda 323 Protege

what we did was not modify the original shifter, rather we took dimensions of the original shifter (length, ball size, clevis, bushings.. etc etc) and then fabricate a totally new shifter (just in case shit happens)

we used a 32mm dia. steel ball with ID of 18mm (we obtained this ball from a M18 rod-end)
basically we machined the gear stick to fit the ball, used 2 circlips to hold the ball in place, the clevis at the bottom of the gear shift is also machined to connect to the solid-rod which is connected directly into the gearbox (the gearbox uses solid mechanical linkage instead of cables)

after a bit of calculation, we extended the bottom of the shifter to an increment of 4cm, the end result is a reduction of shift-travel from about 5cm to only 2.5cm!

the shift is heavy, but it has a very good feel, definitely a bit uncomfortable for daily drives, but if you're one that likes to rev up a lot, the short and stiff shifting is definitely a plus point.

i don't have any pictures with me now, i'll try and snap some when i get the chance to take apart the shifter again

:)

i don't know about other makes, another friend of ours took apart his Nissan March to check the shifter and found that the steel ball (pivot point) size is also 32mm dia.

EFN, after taking apart so many cars, what are the ball sizes that you noticed?
I thought maybe most manufacturers would use almost the same sizes, or maybe it's just coincidence that a mazda/ford and nissan are the same..

:)

Originally posted by jiggly_head+Jan 3 2005, 15:52 -->
QUOTE (jiggly_head @ Jan 3 2005, 15:52 )
--QuoteBegin-khguan
@Jan 2 2005, 15:06

wei u serdang kia also ar?
hahah me also, come lets go drift. [/b][/quote]
go where drift? my drifting skills not good ah...

only try to drift once in a while in some corners ni Serdang.. got once i made a van driver shocked.. haha