Car Cover?

[PIMPIN]

Don't know if this is the right forum for this topic but I'm after some advice regarding car covers. I'm forced to park a couple of my cars outside since they do not fit under the porch and some of them don't get driven as often as they should. So I was thinking of covering them with a car cover. However, I've read on other forums that using car covers won't allow the paint to 'breathe' and that the humidity, etc will in the long screw up the paint. Is there any truth in this? What alternatives do I have then?

Was going to post this in the Car Detailing forum but this seems more care care than actual detailing. Any suggestions, ideas and recommendations welcome :adore:

not sure la bro...but i guess using the plastics ones should be ok instead of the cloth like types.

I thought the plastic/pvc ones were bad and you needed the cloth or fabric type that allows the air to circulate whilst still keeping car under wraps. Something about paint being able to breathe or something.

Maybe I should have posted in car detailing section?

U can use the plastic one, then put a 'Dehumidifier' under the cover near the front windscreen to suck up the moisture trap beneath the cover.

BUT,

- in M'sia's hot sun, the cover will only last the most 2 months, it will turn brittle & tear
- make sure u use jumbo 'clothes pegs' to hold the cover at the wheel arches or else the cover will 'flap' in the wind, trap dust underneath & scratch your paint.

ive used the cloth like ones before, 24/7 car covered under the sun, after a few mths the cloth begins to tear apart....& damp a the same time....maybe should ask KC..

---------- Post added at 03:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:19 PM ----------

U can use the plastic one, then put a 'Dehumidifier' under the cover near the front windscreen to suck up the moisture trap beneath the cover.

BUT,

- in M'sia's hot sun, the cover will only last the most 2 months, it will turn brittle & tear
- make sure u use jumbo 'clothes pegs' to hold the cover at the wheel arches or else the cover will 'flap' in the wind, trap dust underneath & scratch your paint.

can use thirsty hippo ah? :hmmmm:

Thirsty Hippo can... but cheaper to use Carrefour own brand @ RM1.99 apiece, one for front windscreen the other for rear windscreen

icic..tq bro...but u put it ontop on the bonnet & rear boot not inside rite?

yes put it outside but i also put one inside to stop the interior having 'bau kulat/lembap' - musky smell

I guess I'll just park the car somewhere else for now lah. A bit inconvenient when the house has parking for 2 cars yet everyone on my street, in fact all neighbours got more than 2 cars. Although there is ample parking space at the end of every street (each street is a dead end cum parking lot) the cars are still exposed to the sun and dashboard all crack after sometime.

[PIMPIN];1063551501 said:

Don't know if this is the right forum for this topic but I'm after some advice regarding car covers. I'm forced to park a couple of my cars outside since they do not fit under the porch and some of them don't get driven as often as they should. So I was thinking of covering them with a car cover. However, I've read on other forums that using car covers won't allow the paint to 'breathe' and that the humidity, etc will in the long screw up the paint. Is there any truth in this? What alternatives do I have then?

Was going to post this in the Car Detailing forum but this seems more care care than actual detailing. Any suggestions, ideas and recommendations welcome :adore:

Hi Pimpin,

Just came across my mind there was a thread by kc about car covers last time, perhaps you can find more info there. :biggrin:

exclusive report - car cover damaged paint by KC

I've encounter this problem few months back. I've asked macguair's person regarding this topic. They told me to avoid pvc type because can damage paint layer. They suggest to use cotton type such as bed sheet or curtain or anything as long as it's cotton.

Had that milky stain on my bonnet once, not because of car cover but because i placed a car carpet with the fibrous surface onto the painted bonnet. It was one those months where it rained daily.

I think the moisture is somehow absorb by the clear coat. In my case the stain removed by itself after a few days - must be the heat from the engine bay.

I was advised to put on cloth cover then plactic type on top if the car not moving for long time...the cloth cover will absorb the moisture beneath the plastic something lidat :burnout: