CAR LOST - SATRIA GTI WJG3949

Thank you Guys.

It has been 4 months now and things have gone back normal for me. Police already issued me the report for claim and insurance have offered me the amount they going to pay me back. Have yet to accept the offer yet.

Even my new car already more than one month old now. I started to let the old car go, however I still do miss my GTI sometimes when I see GTI around. But well, when it is gone..means…it’s gone.

I do agree that any millions of lock u use in your car do not keep your car safe. It will only delay the stealing process. It just matter of time. I did use steering lock that time too.

By the way, I heard some of my collegue recommend the steering lock that goes over your steering then the center. This will actually AT LEAST reduce the chance of ppl just take out ur locked steering and replace with new one b4 driving it away.

At the end of the day, it all your luck. All we can do is just reduce the possibility.

Once again, Thanx to all of you!

sad for u

im sorry to hear, u r sad news.
your car should be quite new, how much the insurance ppl paid u? just curious.
im about to buy a 2nd hand gti as well ( i love gti), any advice for me, does paddle losk helps?tq!
take care

adornis...

insurance comp offered me some 95% of my sum insured. My car is 2 yrs old with me. and 1 yr with first owner.

Erm...if you think bout getting Sgti...or putra...i would advise u to think twice. yes the car is fun to play but prepare for all the worriness u r goin to face. You have to be extra careful with those car because it is highly targetted for its parts as..most of proton car such as wira or satria can use those parts in sgti or putra.

anyway, final decision is yours and money is yours. However, i do agree sgti is fun car to drive. http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/icons/icon7.gif

oh i c..sorrry to bug u again, but can i ask, what is the most important whn u look for a gti, ( millage, how many owners, year), assuming all is constance like the condition and the price range is about RM 44k- RM 50k. (dats my budget)
currently i hav 3 cars in mind, with the type of inquiries i've mention,tq!
u mean consider ( me buying a gti) as in the theft rate or the maintainance is expensive??
nice chatting with u!

ha?..what to look in gti?...i guess most importantly....the year of production. try to get those manufactured by june 2001. those 2002 onwards using siemens ecu which is prone to modification.

the rest is up to u...condition of coz based on the price u looking at lo. accident free? as for mileage, i guess it shldnt be much problem but just check if major service needed. but don expect much from 2nd hand gti with superb condition all over as most of the gti also kena trash by the previous owner b4. hehe. as long as the car is well maintain shld be alrite la.

maintaining a gti is not expensive. just like any other proton...or maybe slight higher only. but expect extra cost if u plan to modify it. =)

reply2

hey thanks man!
prone to modification? i thot the one using siemens ecu, is less powerfull and hard to modify?most gtis i saw, are all over 90k km (mileage)..pretty high ha..
anyway, im not interested in major modification, so i guess the maintainance should fine.
ya, its quite hard to find a gd 1, if u do find a gd 1, they want to sell it for slightly expensive price ( i mean its a 2nd hand car)..
so, wat car r u in now and how was it compare to ur "x" (gti)

yea...sorry...i mean its less powerful and hard to mod.

90k Km i guess shld be still ok la. i once saw a second hand gti(2yrs) selling 53K with 160,000km on clock. That scare me. =) Maybe Frequent thailand visitor.

but anyhow, i still think gti at RM50K(more or less) is worth it. The price didnt drop much since i bought mine last time till the theft took place.

The car i got now is different from my ex car. a vios. different feeling lo. vios more comfort and easy to drive. while gti is much more...wild type..hehe

reply4

no offence, but wat is eith u "x" gti owner and vios? lots of u guys like to chg to vios??
im trying to find gti less then RM 48k,coz after u buy u need to like do major service (plus,minus RM 1k more)..does the number of owner really counts?yes, i knw the price is pretty much fix if i resold:)
got like 3 liau, still scouting:)
hope to own 1 soon..
so u prefer vios or gti, is gti very uncomfortable, coz u say vios is very comfy? (dont compare 2 doors to 4doors)
ya, looking for mmc ecu as well.is it lots of diff??
any final advice i sholud knw?tq!
cheers!

find at MIHAJAR CONDOR

bro i stay at mihajar condor at cheras before ..that is a good place to hide try it !i saw the black mercedes that glacia say at there olso.drive by a chinese very bad look ,like drug addict

Vern,

My Putra has the same fate as your GTi. Thanks to your posting will not get another Putra as my next car. Once bitten twice shy. Owning it will cause worries and economic crisis. Am still trying to piece my life together. So distraughted.. until I goy sick yesterday and today..

Regards,
Brianytl

vernshang said:
adornis...

insurance comp offered me some 95% of my sum insured. My car is 2 yrs old with me. and 1 yr with first owner.

Erm...if you think bout getting Sgti...or putra...i would advise u to think twice. yes the car is fun to play but prepare for all the worriness u r goin to face. You have to be extra careful with those car because it is highly targetted for its parts as..most of proton car such as wira or satria can use those parts in sgti or putra.

anyway, final decision is yours and money is yours. However, i do agree sgti is fun car to drive. http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/icons/icon7.gif

What insurance company are you using? I'm going to take Kurnia but I'm hearing lots of bad things regarding problem with claims. Is this true?

altisdude said:
What insurance company are you using? I'm going to take Kurnia but I'm hearing lots of bad things regarding problem with claims. Is this true?

Don't take Kurnia. :D

Guards sleeping on the job... what do u expect?

Even in areas such as Villa D'sara... an Altis was stolen under the guard's noses around 1AM. The resident association fark the developer 99 n now they put extra guards n also sealed off the main entrance after 11PM.

Heck, even resident like me also hv to go through the inspection after 11PM. Long process n I guess better than nothing.

buy gti already spray the car bright pink.. if hilang also easy to spot.. :lol:

adornis...
em..took vios coz i like that car very much ma. and well... at least the car wont give me so much of modifying it kind of feeling..hehe. and why it is much comfy?..simple, becoz it is not proton. im not condeming them or putting high on toyota...but..well...understable la. other word to say is...vios is suppose to be more comfy anyway

i think 2nd or 3rd hand ownership doesnt really matter much oredi unless till 5th or 6th la sure next buyer will wonder why this car change so much owner liao.

but final advise...think twice before buying gti or putra if u concern on theft matter.

ppl,
i use panglobal on the gti. so far i would rate them 8 out of 10. been accident with the car b4..not much problem in claiming....as for car theft..they offer me the amount just 2 weeks after i get my police final report. now pending me to accept and sign the letter. don know how long they take to issue the cheque to me then. but so far so good. not so sure bout kurnia anyway

brianytl,
i understand ur feeling. take it easy bro. there is nothing much u can do. So i bet the feeling in you now is..." why out of so many putra..and why yours". right?

tq!

ya,i knw u r not condemming proton, but i knw wat u mean bro.
i just call the pan global site and they told me lost they cover 85%, u told me u got like 95%,rite?did u cover anything extra?im just talking about the basic comprehensive motor ins, without any extras.
lets say, i bought the car for about RM 43k, how much do u think i should cover?
is it really dat serious, i mean does theft really targer gti's, y is dat so?i told my fren a few days back dat, gti's r on wanted list, he laugh at me and say who wants to steal a proton!?
glad to hear ur ins stuff in settle:)
take care bro, tq again!
Regards
Peter

Ok, drive around in the Klang Valley. See all those really ghetto looking Satria 1.3's with wei yip exhausts and unpainted bonnets? I'm willing to bet 1 out of 3 of them wants to kit their car out with a GTi bodykit. Say la that there's (for ease) 9,000 of this type of car. 1/3 of that means 3,000. At least half of that will not want anything less than original GTi parts. All of them want it at a low price as well.

So what happens? Supply has to meet demand, cars get stolen(supply) to feed a market(demand). Sad truth. I can be an ass sometimes about this, sometimes I see a converted GTi and I honestly wonder how many of the parts were stolen :X.

No offence to regular Satria owners, just giving him an example about supply/demand. Just like most other hot cars.

adornis
em...mine is 95% of my insured value. maybe they tell u ...85% is market value. coz my insured value is only 45k last time when i renewed my insurance. overall, i think also depends how old is the car lo.
I think it doesnt matter how much u buy ur car..insure ur car on market price range should be good. so have your get ur gti yet? i miss the driving gti feeling also la, mainly on the manual side

btw, about ur fren, is he driving some bmw or ferraris? if yes...congrats to him.
but the way, pls inform him that never be single minded in thinking. ppl stealing for a reason. and the reason these car become a target because there is high demand in market for these part. thats why modified car are highly targetted most of the time. like moer said, u can see a lot of wira or satria are not running on their ori engine, they are running on mitsu engine or something like that.
if your fren is driving a ferrari, tell him he is mostly safe from car theft as there is no demand for that in this market and if there is also....superbly low percentage. If his ferrari is stolen also, 80% can get back coz the stealer might just took it for joyride. =)
don let ur fren laugh on u, smack him on his face tomolo.