Cek This Out 4 Sutera

er...few questions though, how's the crash test? I heard the engine is weak, is it true? i can't test drive yet coz no test drive unit yet.

HKS-GT2835R said:
well the car felt roomier than my eg4, maybe my imagination, maybe the colour. but IMO it's not bad, really.

some pics fer views.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/aidiefume/0427_222925.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/aidiefume/0427_222903.jpg

engine looks decent. no red enginecover here..
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/aidiefume/0427_222845.jpg

neat. i like the design. but it'll be dirty really quick.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/aidiefume/0427_222815.jpg

a close shot of the meter.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/aidiefume/0427_222748.jpg

that gearknob's ain't aluminium..
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/aidiefume/0427_222741.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/aidiefume/0427_222733.jpg

whoops..torn already?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/aidiefume/0427_222713.jpg

full view of the motor.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/aidiefume/0427_222628.jpg

nice pic dude.!!
but interior more plastic feel....
i wonder if park this sutera under hot sun, and open (...forgot closed) front light, window all closed....any happen esp at plastic dashboard "meter" ...:shcokedcamo:

btw another "good" small car in town.
:cyclops:

The package is unbeatable~ RM35k, a proper small car that fulfills all the requirement for a modern car, airbags, mp3, electronic adjustable side mirrors. All in all, aesthetics and looks and interior space aside. This thing is wonderfully worthed ! BUT, the ones that were heavily advertised, are the "Selling Points" of this car right? hence i see this car being developed by Marketing Department rather than Engineering Department. Buyers must seriously consider on other aspects such as contour of seats, driving position, usable space, handling, fuel efficiency and many others to really bring this car into consideration. All in all, bye bye Savvy.

1st of all tis car looks dam crappy...i will never pay 35k for a car like tis...i would rather get a secondhand corolla or civic....altough its bloody old..heheh

you may need to cost in all the maintenance fee for keeping old car up and running. There and then you will need to search for spare parts. This month drive shaft problem, next month radiator leaking, the following month aircon got problem. Never ending story..

BlackSamurai said:
you may need to cost in all the maintenance fee for keeping old car up and running. There and then you will need to search for spare parts. This month drive shaft problem, next month radiator leaking, the following month aircon got problem. Never ending story..

hmmm sounded so familiar..... lol `

BlackSamurai said:

Have to disagee with this. I got an old 1st Gen Accord for RM5500. Its a bit high for an old Accord but it came with a Japan spec engine cause the old one blew up and the previous owner couldn't afford the repairs so sold the car. I got the car, drove it for a few months and then changed:

1) steering rack
2) brakes
3) rear springs
4) water pump
5) rear control arm bushes
6) gave it a normal service (oil, plugs, filters, the works)
7) changed all radiator pipes and rubbers

Got it painted, changed both bumpers and some door rubbers. Altogether spent another RM5K. Total RM10500 ++

Got the car now for 5 years. Problems so far:
1) Electrics kept dying, traced problem to main fuse which wasn't original. Original blew when I accidentally fixed the battery the wrong way around. :embaressed_smile:
2) Fuel pump failed after I hit a rock (my fault again I know :embaressed_smile: )
3) Blew a rear tyre at 80km/h, car still kept going straight (amazing honda suspension!) Actually was doing 110km/h but felt a vibration suddenly so slowed down to 80 and tyre blew.
4) Leaking radiator pipe and rubber.

5 years and 4 problems. Think its doing pretty well for a 26 year old car. My ex-gf's Celica TA22, 33 years old, no major problems also. Love old cars man, can't get the same feel with modern cars...though they're more comfortable.

vantageX said:
Have to disagee with this. I got an old 1st Gen Accord for RM5500. Its a bit high for an old Accord but it came with a Japan spec engine cause the old one blew up and the previous owner couldn't afford the repairs so sold the car. I got the car, drove it for a few months and then changed:

1) steering rack
2) brakes
3) rear springs
4) water pump
5) rear control arm bushes
6) gave it a normal service (oil, plugs, filters, the works)
7) changed all radiator pipes and rubbers

Got it painted, changed both bumpers and some door rubbers. Altogether spent another RM5K. Total RM10500 ++

Got the car now for 5 years. Problems so far:
1) Electrics kept dying, traced problem to main fuse which wasn't original. Original blew when I accidentally fixed the battery the wrong way around. :embaressed_smile:
2) Fuel pump failed after I hit a rock (my fault again I know :embaressed_smile: )
3) Blew a rear tyre at 80km/h, car still kept going straight (amazing honda suspension!) Actually was doing 110km/h but felt a vibration suddenly so slowed down to 80 and tyre blew.
4) Leaking radiator pipe and rubber.

5 years and 4 problems. Think its doing pretty well for a 26 year old car. My ex-gf's Celica TA22, 33 years old, no major problems also. Love old cars man, can't get the same feel with modern cars...though they're more comfortable.

haha..then i think you got lucky liow..
some guys (like me) aren't so lucky meh.

i heard the car runs on 92RON, can anyone confirm that?

If thats true, where does one find 92RON nowadays? and what happens if you run 97RON?

Safety wise, especially for a small car, a strong bodyshell is a must. Seatbelts, or even airbags aren't going to save you if you roll over and the roof caves in on top of your head. Airbags are good, but they are definitely not everything.

I think its best to lookout for the crash test results for the sutera first, we are all just speculating now.

anyways, its amazing how naza can bring in a car thats practically CKD, made in china, change a few bits from malaysia, and assemble it here, add 2 airbags, and sell it cheaper than everyone else. Even perodua can't fight them for price.

A friend of mine has booked the car. Getting ready with quite a huge downpayment. Will be his first car, btw.

Will it be worth it? He told me he was first attracted with the 1) price 2)dual airbags/accessories. He knows that the car is a rebadged Hafei Lobo.

Are those engines really "designed" or a spin-off from Suzuki?

Will it eat Kancil's share? I bet it will.

It will even compete directly with Savvy/MyVi/Kelisa/Kenari.
Even the sales of Saga LMST will feel a pinch.

We can just wait and see now, can we?

Savvy no need to tell lah.. now itself no sales for it... as for perodua cars... i think Myvi will survive for a quite long period.. as for the other cars.. most probably the sales gonna go down the drain... hehehee Sutera the selling point is its unbeatable price in its class lah... other than tat... the design so-so oni mah.. family car lor..

rear seat space is excellent. much bigger than the peugeot 206

I just read the cars.my magazine.. There are 2 models for this car right? One is 35k and the other is 36k. One has "i" at the end. What's the difference between the 2 models? Another thing is, both are manuals right? Auto coming out later of the year? :)

perodua still wins in the compact car sector for local cars... thanks to the popular and proven jap models of mira, move, and boon.... they all turn out to look more pleasing to eyes.. u know.. love at first sight.

but heck.. the new kancil... somewhat ugly. Dunno.. m'sian designers just arent up to the level yet.

Any owners would like to say a word or two on this 'lil model?
Summary of your first hand experience?

darahhitam said:
Any owners would like to say a word or two on this 'lil model?
Summary of your first hand experience?

haha, u wanna know?

my sis juz get 1...yellow color......

let me test drive it, then let u guys know...

btw, in the waiting list...muz wait ler...dun play play

cheers!

summary of 1st experience is lack of power even is 1.1L, according to other forum and owner of NS .. power will improve as 1k, 5K service ....

NS owner's have a club & forum at http://www.suteraclub.com

Generally, looks like the Sutera suffers from QC issues just like Proton.