to be honest, BOTH ways stiffen the chassis lah. the difference is, just at different points..and you're correct mah..a spot weld uses electric currents to bond the new metal over the old one, thus stiffening ANY specific area you want to on your chassis. Technically, this allows you to exactly customize the welding to your driving needs. For example, i've seen drift cars and track cars spot weld differently, given that both cars are in sound condition with no need to correct the rusts/patchwork that is...
In my opinion, bars generally stiffen the chassis to correct understeer and oversteer rather than overall chassis flex, which is what welding does. But then again, the welder needs to be good as well, because you need to know exactly how thick and how dense the metals need to be before bonding it to the chassis.
If the uncle uses too little power then there won't be a good enough bond and (worse) the metal will just float away under all your paint/rustproofing/carpets, etc without you knowing..but then if too much he's gunna BBQ ur chassis...lol.
So I guess at the end of the day, adding/subtracting bars are better if you want to trial and error and want to find out what you want and to have a feel for the handling differences that happen as you bolt on/remove different combinations of bars to your car. However if you are more hardcore, and fussy like me, then bars will probably not be enough...hence d7zul's suggestion - u try the bars first lor..if tak suka then sell off and WELD!!!!!!!! hahaha
In my opinion, bars generally stiffen the chassis to correct understeer and oversteer rather than overall chassis flex, which is what welding does. But then again, the welder needs to be good as well, because you need to know exactly how thick and how dense the metals need to be before bonding it to the chassis.
If the uncle uses too little power then there won't be a good enough bond and (worse) the metal will just float away under all your paint/rustproofing/carpets, etc without you knowing..but then if too much he's gunna BBQ ur chassis...lol.
So I guess at the end of the day, adding/subtracting bars are better if you want to trial and error and want to find out what you want and to have a feel for the handling differences that happen as you bolt on/remove different combinations of bars to your car. However if you are more hardcore, and fussy like me, then bars will probably not be enough...hence d7zul's suggestion - u try the bars first lor..if tak suka then sell off and WELD!!!!!!!! hahaha