Choice of Project Car

Correct me if i'm wrong but cars above 20 years old are usually the hardest or nearly impossible to get loan from banks in Malaysia. Some would opt for personal loan. Even if you do have good connections, it still is hard. I suggest you go and compare car loans (and possibly personal loans) from different banks at their respective websites. To add, there are two types of car financing, either Islamic car financing or the conventional financing. Also, try and talk to some bank officers to get a rough idea and compare the pros and cons of loans offered. Not all questions can be answered via web.

Insurance depends on the car's age and what premiums are available depends on the insurance company. As for road tax, not sure if they had made any new changes but this was around 2009 / 2010. Should give you a rough idea of how much does it cost.

http://www.jpj.gov.my/c/document_library/get_file?uuid=ef8fefc9-2a29-4814-a5bf-9af71905636c&groupId=10157

thanks for the info dude! hmm i guess i'll have to ask the bankers on the requirement...guess looking at the schedule. road tax for cars below 3000cc is generally very affordable.

Yes, the engine is from Celica GTS 6 spd manual, unless take the 2zz from XRS and other models
that have 2zz-ge engine. Toyota Fielder is also one of them.

Not easy to find halfcuts from XRS and Fielder I think... Some more need to find those that come with manual.

Proton Auto gear box, I know the Perdana SEi and I think was the older Wira 1.6 4AT ones are not good...:banghead:

---------- Post added at 03:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:37 PM ----------

Yah! standard will be more reliable. Boost more add more strain to the engine.....

Perdana SEi and Wira 1.6 AT are using mitsubishi gearbox right?
Then your friend must be having difficulty in maintaining the engine of his VR4

Not easy to find halfcuts from XRS and Fielder I think... Some more need to find those that come with manual.

If you mean the 600bhp beast, I think not daily drive, got one seat only.....:smokin:
Probably for weekend play only....:driver:

Yes, easiest and available is from Celica GTS, but a half cut owner shop told me that I could try
to get those halfcut shop to find one for me in Japan.

They do offer such services.

If you mean the 600bhp beast, I think not daily drive, got one seat only.....:smokin:
Probably for weekend play only....:driver:

Sounds like a track car. If daily drive, sure not efficient already. 600bhp is too much for daily use.

Yes, easiest and available is from Celica GTS, but a half cut owner shop told me that I could try

:confused: I thought the one with 2ZZ-GE is called Celica SS-II? The halfcut shop seems to offer a good service.

Sounds like a track car. If daily drive, sure not efficient already. 600bhp is too much for daily use.

:confused: I thought the one with 2ZZ-GE is called Celica SS-II? The halfcut shop seems to offer a good service.

Japan models call SS-II, usually most of them recognize it as GTS.
Celica GTS is for europe market :biggrin:

Chassis code is the same for both where some call it by the chassis code ZZT231

Japan models call SS-II, usually most of them recognize it as GTS.
Celica GTS is for europe market :biggrin:

Chassis code is the same for both where some call it by the chassis code ZZT231

I see now. Thanks for telling, haha. Even though this Celica SS-II is powerful, it is still no match for the previous Celica GT-FOUR with 3S-GTE. Screw Toyota for eliminating their turbo engines. Now all their new cars don't have turbo anymore. 2JZ-GTE, 1JZ-GTE, 3S-GTE and the rest of those performance turbo engine all gone without any successor.

Latest 3S-GTE only in Caldina GT4 :biggrin:
Ya, 2zz-ge still no match to K20A Type R. Sad but true.

Engines you cannot find locally, you can ask them to source for you. It is all about $$$ only mah!..:biggrin:

Ok after 16 pages of endless talk, has the threadstarter decided on a base car?

TS seemed to disappear already. No reply at all. Maybe already got his own project car and enjoying already, haha :driver:

haha...yea, TS please share with us your decision and show some pics too... but i did think he mention satria neo as his choice due to cost consideration.

Engines you cannot find locally, you can ask them to source for you. It is all about $$$ only mah!..:biggrin:
Yup, nowadays is all about the money...

TS seemed to disappear already. No reply at all. Maybe already got his own project car and enjoying already, haha :driver:

As usual, most TS starts a thread then went missing while visitors are more active than them.

Yup, nowadays is all about the money...

As usual, most TS starts a thread then went missing while visitors are more active than them.

Got money then got hope. lol. Well, hope the TS got himself a nice car and hope he remembers to post pictures of his new car out at here. :biggrin:

Lots of options. Caldina, Altezza, and ya from GT4 Celica :biggrin:

Caldina not bad but mostly is automatic. For Altezza, many prefer 1JZ-GTE over 3SGTE.
One question, can Celica GT FOUR be modded until it matches the performance of lancer evo or impreza wrx sti?

Caldina not bad but mostly is automatic. For Altezza, many prefer 1JZ-GTE over 3SGTE.
One question, can Celica GT FOUR be modded until it matches the performance of lancer evo or impreza wrx sti?

No idea on that, but Malaysia Boleh :biggrin:
Lighter body too for GT4?