close ratios for AE86 - XXX @ Alvin

Can you even mix and match the pinion and crown like that? Don't they need to be lapped together etc? From what I've been told you can't...

Here in Oz we got either a 37/9 (4.111), 43/11 (3.909) or 41/10 (4.10). I've got all 3, am running the 41/10 at the moment. However my 37/9 is in very bad shape (or at least the crownwheel is), so I don't think you'll want it anyway.

And yes, you can buy those ratios. The first set of ratios from Palmside NZ (and I think the TRD ones are same ratio), and the second set from Albins in Oz. However, the 2nd set is not a standard Albins ratio, it was custom made. Should probably be available, but might be more expensive.

Yes I was told we cannot simply mix ring and pinion. However it doesn't hurt to get one and put them together and try to spin in. Right?

I would think, as long as the pinion was meant for a 6.7" ring then it would do already. I hope anyway.

So, can send me the 9 teeth pinion or not? How much you wanna charge for it? including the shipping cost please?

Thanks thanks.

So reminder again, are all ring 6.7" - ,,,....... ???

Acoustic: I think you'll be disappointed :( Have you ever heard a diff that wasn't set up correctly? I blew my diff up in 2 days because of that (after welding it the center warped a bit so the tension was wrong). What a waste :(

If you want, I can send you my 9 teeth pinion (it's a bit stuffed, you can have it for free to try, just need to pay shipping) or I can try to find another one and hopefully it will be better?

Hi, thanks for the warning

I'm taking my chances, please find a good one and send both. I'll pay for shipping and the good one and buy for TT for the free one :)

Please PM your bank account number. I'll get some friends to put in the money for me and I'll pay them back.

Thanks thanks

Please do not worry about the matching issue. I've got a few friends here who are good in checking things and they've been very good and surpass the so-called foreign standards.

I was very impressed by these locals for their dedication, accuracy, carefulnes and etc.

May be because I'm close to these people so I always think Malaysia Boleh??? don't know......

Things are happening in Malaysia - if we look for it, it's getting better and better - that's how I see it :)

Well I've always known Malaysians to be rather "innovative" :P I mean, look at YOUR car :)

So yeah... I'll try to find another good one, they aren't all that common, it took me a good few months to find one and even then it was an accident. Will PM you bank account number later, let me find one first. Or if you don't want to wait so long I'll send mine now.

I'll see what I can find. See, one problem is that nobody sells just the gears. If I want the gears I have to buy at least the whole center, and in some cases the whole diff!!!

How much are you willing to spend? Diff centers here usually go for about AUD50, complete diffs up to about AUD150. I'll have to see how to get the pinion out (I don't have the tools to remove the pinion), hopefully can get that done for free :) I don't think I really want to send the whole center, it'll be really heavy!

it's too heavy for the whole diff, so just the diff center type of deal and AUD50 is acceptable, not more ....... thanks thanks ....

damn cool sifo chin.........
its can be done practically....

i think alvin is penang......wait for him to comeback....
he surely interested.....

hi corolla gt

it's a risk actualy, I'm testing only ...... not sure work or not ... scared like they say after 2 days explode into the diff :(

chin......nevermind....its can be try.....
maybe can be use practically......
there is no things without a theory.......

eheheheheheh

reminder

You think engine engineering so easy meh ......................

get a TRD gear for this project - then will be succesfull.....

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

anyone selling 86 final drive ... 4.5 ke or 4.778 ? Been trying to source it..

Wah this thread still going strong without me in it. :lol: :lol:
Chin sifu "Happy Cock Year" to you and to all u cina peks. :P

wah...chin is now playing with ratios...so clever aaa,my opinion,maybe u should dyno your car(i think u already did it right),find the 'sweet' spot of your engine rev range,where the torque peak is,and calculate the ratios so that each gearchange drop the rpm in the range,expecially in higher gears.

no need to rev kaw kaw coz power is dropping,and 1st gear should be tall,81 kmh sounds very nice,and final drive shouldnt be too big,coz the engine will screaming but speed is not high,basically ur first calculation is okay
;)
and ppl told that u cant mix and match pinion and ring gear,they are quite right since each gear have been made with accuracy,to be mated with their correct partner.in operation,it will slide,bang on each other,creating forces on impact,correctly mated ratios minimize this forces,so can last longer...

check for runouts,backlash,gear pitch when building the axle will be good ;) ,but u r less likely to break a toyota axle..hehe,but my frend broke one..i dunno how he did it,a standard ae86 lsd ring gear is broken,chipped at its edge,he's using 4agze though...and enjoying making hard 'moves' with his car

Hi sifoo acoustic,
im very n00b here, but may i know whats taken into account when u determine gear ratios? and u get the numbers and top speed for it, are there any equations involved? if yet, what are the equations?

p/s: are u a mechanic or an automotive engineer?