Custom Y-Pipe For A32/A33

i don't think it help much in FC ... should be very minimal. still our 3.0 V6 engine being 10 years old should consume pretty much petrol due to age, wear & tear, etc.... also the technology used 10 years ago differ from the technology used now. e.g. vtec, dvvt, dsi,

Hmm, since it doesnt help much in terms of FC, and it doesnt also give any significant feeling of power (unless we dyno the car and we would not be like Jeremy Clarkson screaming Powerrrr all the way), shouldn't we just concentrate on just removing the cat as it doesnt function properly over 80K?

Doesn't it cut cost? means better money to go to other part of the car? :biggrin:

it will improve FC, cause you have better exhaust flow, and you gain power.

If you control your right foot, than ok one.

Since there had been talks around Auto with S flow muffler, anyone here have any experience with Twin Loop Muffler? Review say it gives an overall better response.

Since most of us are planning on the Y-Pipe, why don't we plan the whole shebang :smile:

http://www.torontocivics.com/articles/twinloop/twinloop3.jpg

if i do the y pipe, will also try to put in the Skyline R34 GTT muffler. got it foc from my friend. its a S flow with pressure actuator that will open another flow after certain pressure build up. maybe i got to open it up and change the spring for lower pressure

What happened to this Y-Pipe, btw? I am on the verge of getting someone to remake mine.

Also, yes...it would be a good idea to chage the pressure actuator spring, or install another vacuum controlled actuator. Can put a bleed valve to adjust when it will open. Then again, I've never seent the exhaust, so I can't really say what you can do with it.

I also need an s-flow. Got any jalan for a nice second hand one from any scrap yard?

ah, defcon1, muffler got alot in the chop shop mah... but the correct one its not easy to find. If i see any apexi S-flow will let you know. last time i use on the VE, very nice sound and power. should be good in VQ

agree with weikee....mine was the 2nd one coz the 1st i bought was incorrect size....

I am all against S-Flow or any double-muffling exhaust! If you want to change your muffler, you change something that make sense, and not something that actually build up more exhaust pressure.

Sure, it gives you appropriate pressure at low rpm (especially on auto tranny) but you will suffer extreme loss at top rpm, don't believe? take it to the dyno and you will soon find out.

The best way is for the auto VQ is to find something of the correct size and flow, too big and you will lose low end power but gain top end, too small and you will lose the top end. The best is the one that stays in the middle.

Another alternative to the exhaust valve is from A'pexI, they made exhaust valve with controller (mount inside cabin) which allows you to adjust the valve opening on the exhaust pipe (before the muffler), they came in various sizes depending on your pipe's sizing. It is called A'pexI EVC (Exhaust Valve Controller).

http://img519.imageshack.us/img519/2264/e26095suprarzgtwing2001fo7.jpg

http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/5243/image007oc6.jpg

edgar_raphael,

The R34 rear muffler build in pressure valve, and after certain pressure build up, the second flow will open.

The Apexi S Flow are really good, last time when i use on the VEs, the power are very much similar to the straight flow and even create the "PoP" sound like the straight flow (but not too loud)

i was using the apexi Megaphone, a d than to another brand (forgot whats the brand) both are very good

i think most jap brands r good...but the prob if u buy used exhaust: how long they will last?? if u r lucky, u will get those that r very new (like less than 30,000km)...yet most ppl also dont care (like me) hahahah
coz new japanese muffler will set u back around rm1.5k n above!!! while those from halfcut, around rm300++...to find the best around, u will need to make friends with those chop shop ppl...

Guys,

Just got my cefiro A33 2.0 downpipe( Y-pipe) replaced, by removing 2 cat-con, 1.8 inch piping all the way from runner until center box( silencer?).

Significant improvement on low-end power, sufficient torque given around 2k RPM, mid is still acceptable, but top end power has recede, FC had increase as well, from 400km per tank to 350km per tank(50% HW 50% city).

I've not change my rear muffler and center box, as it should be, noise level had increase 15-20%. If i wanted to balanced out top end power and low end power, which part of the exhaust system need to be changed? S-flow muffler is currently in my wish list, or perhaps a bullet replacing the center box. Guys, do u need to fix my piping (from the Y-joint all the way out) to a larger diameter piping, say 2.0?

Really hope to get enlightened...

Thanks.

Bro,

Care to share where you did it and the cost?
i'm using A33 3L. I think my exhaust is going to crack soon...

Nice to hear that you manage to get getter Torque and FC after getting the Y pipe and losing the Cats.

I'm using RON97 still and a tank full can get me about 420km~450km depending on mood.
(I'm using Piggy Back ECU)

Maybe you can try UniChip and see if you can get better FC??

joey~~ its been ages din c u lar~~ u still driving ur feilo ar?? muahahaha have u do anything to ur baby??????

Bro,

Care to share where you did it and the cost?
i'm using A33 3L. I think my exhaust is going to crack soon...

Nice to hear that you manage to get getter Torque and FC after getting the Y pipe and losing the Cats.

I'm using RON97 still and a tank full can get me about 420km~450km depending on mood.
(I'm using Piggy Back ECU)

Maybe you can try UniChip and see if you can get better FC??

Did it at JFA, 2 flex pipe, 1 long 1 short 1.8 piping RM480, i would say it's a little expensive.

which piggy back u're using? mind briefly explain the difference of piggyback and unichip?(while i'm doing my research on it as well)

guys, if i changed the centre bullet and muffler, can i get better FC? it's really horrible now, 70-80km/quater, same driving habit as before (rev once a while).

joey~~ its been ages din c u lar~~ u still driving ur feilo ar?? muahahaha have u do anything to ur baby??????

I'm doing well....yeah. Still with my Feilo.
No much time for mods liao..
Only maintain and fix what is giving problem.

---------- Post added at 07:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:12 PM ----------

Did it at JFA, 2 flex pipe, 1 long 1 short 1.8 piping RM480, i would say it's a little expensive.

which piggy back u're using? mind briefly explain the difference of piggyback and unichip?(while i'm doing my research on it as well)

guys, if i changed the centre bullet and muffler, can i get better FC? it's really horrible now, 70-80km/quater, same driving habit as before (rev once a while).

I'm using MAP ECU. (from NZ)
You can google UniChip. If you wanted to know more, can check out the workshop in Puchong Utama.

it will definitely improve FC, but the price is way too much for a N/A car since it's not gonna help gaining much HP on N/A car. correct me if im wrong.

will look into S-flow muff and bullet 1st, any recommended one? S-flow muffler, any chop shop famous with their 'chopped' muffler..? inlet and outlet piping size?