DC2 Type R Brake Servo

user6

Hello bros and sifus....

Can anyone elaborate me on the above mentioned item...what are the difference between the Type R and the NON Type R brake servos...

Any illustrations/pictures would be very much appreciated...

Thanx a lot....

Hmm.. what's a brake servo? From what I know.. It's the round black thing in the picture (sorry, black engine bay..). Is that right? or is that called the master pump? the normal one is single layer, and the other one in Type-Rs are dual layer, since they are thicker. The one is the pic is dual layer.

Not really sure.. I dunno as well.. anyone?

brakethingy.jpg

hi Shiroitenshi,

I thought type-r master pump is 3 layer? 2 layers is stock std for EK4 SiR / SIRII. Correct me if i'm wrong.

generally these sort of topics can be found many in the web.

the thing abt the type-r ones are they are the same size as the BB preludes. just that typer are newer and also expensive since its a type r(over priced as usual in malaysia)

i never cut open the master cylinder and see whats inside it in real life but the difference would be piston diameters, reservoir volumes, bolt patterns, and line fitting sizes as said in some technical writeups.

the TERMs :
Master Brake Pump/Brake Booster = the front portion that holds the canister
Master Brake Cylinder = the black roundish plate to the firewall
Brake Servo = commonly use TERM in other countries, easier to pronounce.

c00lric said:
hi Shiroitenshi,

I thought type-r master pump is 3 layer? 2 layers is stock std for EK4 SiR / SIRII. Correct me if i'm wrong.

Not sure.. as far as I know, there is only two layers max.. If what you said is true, then I haven't seen a type R ori one.. but I do wonder how much thicker is the three layers., since my brake fluid reservoir almost reach the strut bar already, compared to the earlier single layer, where there was a lot more space (if I remember right)

As I mentioned earlier, i was not sure, I do know mine is dual layer.. god knows from what car! (got it along with the brake conversion)

Well.. why don't we wait for more pictures? I'd like to know the difference as well.

J101 said:
the TERMs :
Master Brake Pump/Brake Booster = the front portion that holds the canister
Master Brake Cylinder = the black roundish plate to the firewall
Brake Servo = commonly use TERM in other countries, easier to pronounce.

Thanks J101 for the term info... those multiple terms are a killer! Even worse when we have 'localised' versions! haha!

Confirmed with my mech.. the one in the picture is from the EK9.

According to him.. there is no triple layers for the R.

c00lric said:
Hi Shiro,

Thnx for the Info. How much is a used CTR / ITR brave servo nowadays?

Dunno.. I got the discs and knuckles and the brake thingy in one shot. 2.2K.

r u sure the one in pic is from ek9?

i'm sure that those from accord looks like that too...

xxxx said:
r u sure the one in pic is from ek9?

i'm sure that those from accord looks like that too...

Pretty much.. or do you have a picture of type R's one? I'm curious as well about what's the difference from the type R unit (if my one is not from the EK9)

If I'm not mistaken,
My mech told me that dual layers are usually for ABS brakes, and single layers for non ABS brake systems...

From my research..
EK9/DC2R have 1" master cylinder/ brake servo
EK4/EG6 & 9 /Integra GSR?? have 15/16"
SOHC EK & EGs have 13/16" to 7/8" depending on model and w/wo/ABS
u can see the sizes stamped on the side of the brake servo (below teh reservoir)

by replacing the brake servo with bigger size shud have some improvement..