Dissapointment over 4G93 Power

cksiow....
that might be a bit different coz ur referring to a turbo & n/a version of a similar displacement. as g88 mention its fair to compare 1.6 & 1.8 due to the power over load it has to carry. not to say turbocharged engine are gas guzlers...but if u drive off boost u might get the same as an n/a version of similar type. but then u have to remember turbo engine usually runs on bigger injectors & fuel map

just my 2 cents

ManOfWar,

Thanks for the clarification over my years of doubt. Also, I wanna ask if the boost has not "kicked in", will the car feel very very lethargic ? Or how does it feel when the boost does not kick in ? Say for example : acceleration of what capacity engine ?

Regards,
CK Siow

from my experience...last time when my turbocharger fin 'gave way'... feeling was of course more sluggish...but u can still drive (in my case straight to my foreman) then only found out that the 'nut' holding the turbine blade went off causing the edges to grind with the turbo inlet wall. a new turbo was required to be replaced.
engine oil went straight in instead of only lubricating the turbine.

since last time i was running on vr4 engine with 2ltr capacity...i un really felt super sluggish...and due to the leakage the boost meter was only max at 'zero' scale.

whatdamn said:
g88,
hmm, i think i've gotta rebuild my engine la. got a few things to fix first.

I have thousand year never meet you liao..hahaha...what happen to your ride..talk to me in PM ok ?

cksiow said:
g88,

So, which means with the same driving style, does the 4G93T gives a better mileage then my 4G93 since you are quoting based on power to weight ratio, i guess.

4G93T as in Wira ? Turbo FC definetely higher then NA even w/o boosting...Turbo is performance engine how can expect FC better then NA :p..if like that everyone go for Turbo lor...problem is higher maintainance then NA.....

cksiow said:
ManOfWar,

Thanks for the clarification over my years of doubt. Also, I wanna ask if the boost has not "kicked in", will the car feel very very lethargic ? Or how does it feel when the boost does not kick in ? Say for example : acceleration of what capacity engine ?

Regards,
CK Siow

if you drive a Turbo 99% i believe you can't tahan NOT to use the Turbo at all :_:...even w/o boosting your injector, airflow, settings, tuning all is different from NA since it need to "feed" the Turbo to standby....therefore i still thinking FC is higher...

From my experience, lasttime i drove my friend Original GSR triptonic in Hong Kong, fulltime 4WD...walao....miss that car alot man !! Wish Malaysia have one ler...

g88,

You don't even need a turbo to make you floor the pedal :tongwink: . Now the open-pod filter just makes me go high when the rev meter goes high !!! I do agree with your point, what the use of turbo if you don't spool it ?

Why GSR 4WD ? Isn't the EVOs are 4WD and have a higher base capacity + turbo ?! Doesn't the EVO satisfy you instead of the GSR ? Maybe due to the tiptronic ?

Alright, I've also heard of aftermarket 4G93 bolt-on turbo kits. What does the package consists ? Bigger injectors also ?! I've been told it runs on high compression rather then the usual 4G93T's low compression

Regards,
CK Siow

ck siow,
these bolt-on kits that you're referring to are most likely the ones sold by dragger racing. you can search the 'engine and performance' section for their thread.

it's about rm3.8k for fitting the BOT to an MMC ECU engine. these kits let you boost below 0.5 bar safely and the higher compression pistons i should think are a comparison between the stock 93P pistons and the 93T pistons. since the 93P is originally an NA, so obviously the compression will be a little higher.

cksiow said:
g88,

Why GSR 4WD ? Isn't the EVOs are 4WD and have a higher base capacity + turbo ?! Doesn't the EVO satisfy you instead of the GSR ? Maybe due to the tiptronic ?

cksiow, 200cc make a lot of different la..:baring_teeth:

Steward,

Yeah, I do know that EVOs are 2000cc. (200cc more then the GSR). So, ultimately i'm asking why does the GSR impressed him. As he said :"From my experience, lasttime i drove my friend Original GSR triptonic in Hong Kong, fulltime 4WD...walao....miss that car alot man !! Wish Malaysia have one ler..."

Since Malaysia can't source the Original GSR, but we have a monsterous EVOs (which is better in almost all terms). So why he still wish to have the original GSR in Malaysia ? What is the thing that he desires in the GSR over the EVO (if there is any) ? That basically my question. Cause I believe in every different car, there is something in particular is better then others.

Regards,
CK Siow