DIY Braided Brake Hose

hahaha... we all guessing only la... if got effect also long term one la... dont worry so much... everything in ur car also will fail after years of usage.... its the basic of nature...

PS: u la sifoo... u sifoo replying, where got other people dare to kacau... haha...

no offence, but if even wanna diy, do it the proper way, ok put it simple, brakes are the most important feature of any moving vehicle, number 1 priority....

i would suggest save some money, target ur budget around RM 400 for a set of goodridge steel braided hose, it's ok if u wan a cheap set of pro rs but not recommended due to inferior quality build.... then peace of mind at least not worrying everyday looking at ur cable tied brake hose for any leakage, the goodridge hose is as almost good as maintenance free for life..... i'm using it n i recommend this to all....

just my opinion....

the cable ties material is much softer than the brake hose.... so it will not be able to cut tru the brake hose...

and if the brake hose expands at certain part... the cable ties at the particular point will break for sure... so no worries bout the cables ties... the ties will degrade much faster than the brake hose....

they might not work after a year or so as they will get brittle... n time to change new cable ties.... so u can check the condition on the brake hose during the cable ties change.... n most brake hose can last quite long... no worries...

khguan said:
the cable ties material is much softer than the brake hose.... so it will not be able to cut tru the brake hose...

and if the brake hose expands at certain part... the cable ties at the particular point will break for sure... so no worries bout the cables ties... the ties will degrade much faster than the brake hose....

they might not work after a year or so as they will get brittle... n time to change new cable ties.... so u can check the condition on the brake hose during the cable ties change.... n most brake hose can last quite long... no worries...
the sifoo has spoken...:regular_smile:

khguan said:

But then quite hard to see whether the brake hose has any crack/tear right if the cable ties are still tied closely to it ?

If have to keep changing cable ties yearly abit susah lor heheh... Coz have to cut the cable ties .. n might accidently cut the brake hose instead in the process of removing the old cable ties.... :shcokedcamo: sigh..

u dun need to actually cut the cable ties when u are replaing them.... u dun even need to use a cutter... just use a long-nose plier to kepit the cable ties head n it will break off as they are somehow got brittle...

even if u use a cutter.. just cut the head.. not the strap.... not a prob... u'll get the move after cutting a few ties.. ;) try it then u'll know wat i'm toking bout...

nitrus said:
If have to keep changing cable ties yearly abit susah lor heheh... Coz have to cut the cable ties .. n might accidently cut the brake hose instead in the process of removing the old cable ties.... :shcokedcamo: sigh..
is like dat lor.... no money buy expensive steel braided brake hose, u need to be more hardworking if using cable ties...

diy these for so many years already, since johnson lam started, till now still intact... ehhehehehehhe

yesterday check my brake hose ties... still in tact ma... but got a little bristle la... used for almost a year adi lor.... use few months more change new ones... hehe....

been using in my iswara for more then 4 years.....no complaints....

the cable tie will actually make the hose last longer cos its not xpending too much

kennethfong said:
no offence, but if even wanna diy, do it the proper way, ok put it simple, brakes are the most important feature of any moving vehicle, number 1 priority....

i would suggest save some money, target ur budget around RM 400 for a set of goodridge steel braided hose, it's ok if u wan a cheap set of pro rs but not recommended due to inferior quality build.... then peace of mind at least not worrying everyday looking at ur cable tied brake hose for any leakage, the goodridge hose is as almost good as maintenance free for life..... i'm using it n i recommend this to all....

just my opinion....

yeah,, ifyou got the money and they got the parts for you... i'm driving 120Y geuss what? i got the money but people laughed my face off when i asked for steel braided for my car.

so i resorted to DIY.

FYI my rear brake hose is as old as my car (24 years old). the outer rubber already brittle off.. i did this DIY on it. and it works like a charm! now i can even lock my rear tyres during emergency brake.

make sure you use good quality cable ties. i used a 250mm ties that costs me RM18 for 100. i bought 2 bags for this project. i used up about 130 ties for front and back. mine i did as close as possible.

Ok sifos! LOL ... i did my braided brake hose ady today lolzz... damn i forgot to take pic!!! AIYARKKKKK NOW ONLY I REMEMBER !!!!! WTFF !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ........... aiyoi. -__-

anyway... yea, dunno if got diff anot la my brakes, coz juz serviced brake fluid so , yea... no diff la ... i realized my LMST the top brake hose there's already some metal thing coiling around it ady, maybe their own "braided" brake hose? lol ...
so i left the top brake hose alone n braided the bottom one connecting to my discs instead ...

and in the process, accidently dropped my tires n scratched my rims i juz bought not long ago on the floor..... fucking !@)#*!#(@!#* major SAKIT HATI weih.... sigh. Neighbour house was arguing, i tak tahan ady shouted so many times so loud n cursed .... even neighbours in their house also diam ... haih. sad la. neighbourhood sure think i siao ady groaning mindlessly out loud like someone juz died.... haih. dunno la...

well.. i would advice u to change the brake hose since they are as old as the car... u never know when they will fail.... a car without brakes is really scary...

do u mean previously u cant jam the brake even with hard braking??

nitrus said:
Ok sifos! LOL ... i did my braided brake hose ady today lolzz... damn i forgot to take pic!!! AIYARKKKKK NOW ONLY I REMEMBER !!!!! WTFF !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ........... aiyoi. -__-

anyway... yea, dunno if got diff anot la my brakes, coz juz serviced brake fluid so , yea... no diff la ... i realized my LMST the top brake hose there's already some metal thing coiling around it ady, maybe their own "braided" brake hose? lol ...
so i left the top brake hose alone n braided the bottom one connecting to my discs instead ...

and in the process, accidently dropped my tires n scratched my rims i juz bought not long ago on the floor..... fucking !@)#*!#(@!#* major SAKIT HATI weih.... sigh. Neighbour house was arguing, i tak tahan ady shouted so many times so loud n cursed .... even neighbours in their house also diam ... haih. sad la. neighbourhood sure think i siao ady groaning mindlessly out loud like someone juz died.... haih. dunno la...
hahaha... relax la dude... people fighting also nothing to do with u ma... put on ur ipod or something la.. they arent using any missiles to fight also... so, no worries it will go off target... lolz...

honestly... this diy doesnt give real much effect... unless u try sudden hard braking, there are abit of effect.... under normal braking situation, i dont think its that effective...

btw, how u dropped ur tyre and scratched ur rims??... no need to remove the wheel also can do ma... hehe....
i jz need to turn the steering wheel to the max lock and climb under the car.... since my car too low, i need to jack it up a little....

skywalker, no la bro lolzz.. wasnt shouting at my neighbour, i think they suddenly heard me outside cursing so loud thats why suddenly they quiet..

i unscrewed all the screws on my rims ady, then jacked up the car abit more, but still couldn't take the rims out ... so i continued jacking up the car la higher abit ... tiba tiba the rims at the corner of my eyes plopped out from the screws n landed on the ground FACE DOWN ... sigh. i cant climb under the car im not having short hair lol ...

anyway this is the pic of the scratch on my rims, the dot kinda scratch... sigh.

Image2338.jpg

Image2339.jpg

anybody can advise anyplace that i can repair scratches on my rims ? very sorry for going outta topic

uish... sakit hati ohh see brand new rims scratched like that....
i not sure where can repair scratched rims ler.... but if small small matter nvm lo...try use polish and polish back the surface... might work... hehe...

DIY "Braided" brake hoses

Yup...me just tried out the "braided" brake hoses DIY...
Used up 30+pcs for both the front hoses to the disc calipers only.

Manage 2do mod w/o removing wheels.

Here is a pic of my effort :

http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/5461/braidedhose2ch2.th.jpg
RHS "braided" brake hose.

Result? Me felt a more solid braking response esp on sudden braking! Worth my RM7.60...bought 4pkt of 20pcs black cable ties to use.
BTW my OJ is >14 yrs old liao...haha...

Go for it, guys!!

khguan said:
well.. i would advice u to change the brake hose since they are as old as the car... u never know when they will fail.... a car without brakes is really scary...

do u mean previously u cant jam the brake even with hard braking??

the brakes were very soft feel. i can brake, but it'll never lock at the back... only the front brake can lock if i pump few time before braking.

i've change the master pump, since the car is meant to be about 600kg, the braking properties wasn't that good. but after doing this DIY, it's much better.

FYI i've outdid waja's emergency brake on highway before.

skywalker , for our saga/iswara .... our rear brakes got brake hose wan ar?? cant seem to locate it ... or issit quite under the car ?