DIY My Simple CAI.

slk850

2day felt was free and mood for DIY somethings... :P

Superlon, Scissor, cable tights and CAI Pipe.
http://img22.exs.cx/img22/6672/picture149dy.jpg

Wrap my Air RAM with Superlon
http://img22.exs.cx/img22/739/picture65dx.jpg

Located my Pipe to my front grill
http://img22.exs.cx/img22/8834/picture36qz.jpg

The end of the pipe
http://img22.exs.cx/img22/8053/picture113ow.jpg

Another view
http://img22.exs.cx/img22/2856/picture59kn.jpg

Cold Air come in from front
http://img22.exs.cx/img22/2394/picture45on.jpg

This is Before DIY pic
http://img37.exs.cx/img37/9379/apexip12wt.jpg

After DIY CAI
http://img22.exs.cx/img22/6774/picture26wx.jpg

It was so hot and dirsty, so remember drink more water... :lol:
http://img213.exs.cx/img213/562/picture95ji.jpg

The END.
http://img213.exs.cx/img213/4742/picture124fz.jpg

:P :P :P

can ask much much is the metal extension for ur air filter? the one u wrapped with insulation material.

eh SLK850.. slk brother here.. hahaha.. how u doing ? long time no go penang liao. :P

eh ask yr mech make 1 more air ram like that for me can ar ? hahaha.. how much ar ? nicely customed job man...

Originally posted by khguan@Mar 6 2005, 00:12
hey dude,

where did u get de hose from?? how much? wats de size??

n inside smooth or not?
khguan

i sell the pipe to him la :)
yes it's SMOOTH inside :)

got 1", 1.5", 2", 2.5", 3", etc.

Proton should be 2.5" and about 3ft.. RM30

Anyones interesting on pipe or superlon, contack ninja_iga aka Stanley.

wetwetwater, thanks and i'm fine with my stock EX850 engine. :P
The Aluminium Air RAM Pipe are made from MPower, somewhere near Chung Ling's High School. I think it won't cost much. But with this modification, i had to sacrify away my Windscreen water box. :P

After this DIY, engine response was a bit faster. :)

Stanley, thanks for the Superlon. :)

Eh. not bad wah your DIY. looks done by a pro leh.. :D

Originally posted by slk850@Mar 6 2005, 03:39

The Aluminium Air RAM Pipe are made from MPower, somewhere near Chung Ling's High School. I think it won't cost much. But with this modification, i had to sacrify away my Windscreen water box. :P

u can try looking for the windscreen washer bottle from the L2...its located on the other side! ;)

well.. so far i'm using 2.5" aircon hose as my CAI.. it works also...

i'm wondering if i use stanley's CAI hose.. wil it improve de airflow?
price is a bit steep.. but quality look better than mine...

this is my http://khguan.fotopic.net/c437153.html

Originally posted by tks+Mar 6 2005, 12:06 -->
QUOTE (tks @ Mar 6 2005, 12:06 )
--QuoteBegin-slk850
@Mar 6 2005, 03:39

u can try looking for the windscreen washer bottle from the L2...its located on the other side! ;) [/b][/quote]
I asked so many chop-shops, they dun sell it separately. :(

may i ask....wat is dat (circled) used 4? air compressor? 2 vacuum meter? where u got it from?

Originally posted by bigroom@Mar 7 2005, 10:34
may i ask....wat is dat (circled) used 4? air compressor? 2 vacuum meter? where u got it from?
Ok, this small filter actually is used on EFI engine. For better air flow smooth go in injectors.

But i use it for : Since i change to open pod air filter, there is a hose that connect back to original air filter box from engine bay. But it can't connect back after i used open pod air filter, sometimes when then engine's oil was too full/high rev. Some engine oil will come out from this hose, and spread it on everywhere on my engine bay. Thats why i use this small filter to stop those engine oil spread out and let those burned gas go out with a transparent pipe (for fish tank use). And i dun want those burned gas go into my Air Filter. :P

That small filter can get it from any mech places. RM10 only.

Hope my answer doesn't confuse you.

Did i answer your questions ? :)

nice design man... i like the RAM pipe extension... currently i just use 3' pvc pipe as my extension... this is neat and really nice... bravo job!!! :P

Originally posted by tykoh@Mar 7 2005, 13:30
nice design man... i like the RAM pipe extension... currently i just use 3' pvc pipe as my extension... this is neat and really nice... bravo job!!! :P
:lol: :lol: Thanks, not so bravo lar..... :P
Benefit with this curve extended Air Ram are you can point your Air Filter to diff directions (depends where is your cold air intake).

MPower customized it for me. :) Price around RM35 ~ 40 (Price are not fixed) Hope you all understand. B)

Originally posted by slk850+Mar 7 2005, 12:28 -->
QUOTE (slk850 @ Mar 7 2005, 12:28 )
--QuoteBegin-bigroom
@Mar 7 2005, 10:34

Ok, this small filter actually is used on EFI engine. For better air flow smooth go in injectors.

But i use it for : Since i change to open pod air filter, there is a hose that connect back to original air filter box from engine bay. But it can't connect back after i used open pod air filter, sometimes when then engine's oil was too full/high rev. Some engine oil will come out from this hose, and spread it on everywhere on my engine bay. Thats why i use this small filter to stop those engine oil spread out and let those burned gas go out with a transparent pipe (for fish tank use). And i dun want those burned gas go into my Air Filter. :P

Did i answer your questions ? :) [/b][/quote]
ya sure, tanx. i hav 1 like dat 4 my air compressor. jus din noe where 2 get a new 1.

Originally posted by bigroom+Mar 7 2005, 15:02 -->
QUOTE (bigroom @ Mar 7 2005, 15:02 )
Originally posted by slk850@Mar 7 2005, 12:28
--QuoteBegin-bigroom
@Mar 7 2005, 10:34

Did i answer your questions ? :)

ya sure, tanx. i hav 1 like dat 4 my air compressor. jus din noe where 2 get a new 1. [/b][/quote]
Welcome, sure you can easily get a new 1 from mech place or accessories shops. :)

Originally posted by slk850+Mar 7 2005, 14:15 -->
QUOTE (slk850 @ Mar 7 2005, 14:15 )
--QuoteBegin-tykoh
@Mar 7 2005, 13:30

Benefit with this curve extended Air Ram are you can point your Air Filter to diff directions (depends where is your cold air intake).

MPower customized it for me. :) Price around RM35 ~ 40 (Price are not fixed) Hope you all understand. B) [/b][/quote]
wah i really like the curve air ram.... and its really affordable... i was looking for it quite some times ago when i try to extend my open pod filter... but now i just use pvc pipe... really ugly lah... but its functionable lah... :D

after change to open pod the sound of intake so great when full step on the gas.... so syok... :D

nicely done man...

Originally posted by tykoh+Mar 7 2005, 17:45 -->
QUOTE (tykoh @ Mar 7 2005, 17:45 )
Originally posted by slk850@Mar 7 2005, 14:15
--QuoteBegin-tykoh

MPower customized it for me. :) Price around RM35 ~ 40 (Price are not fixed) Hope you all understand. B)

wah i really like the curve air ram.... and its really affordable... i was looking for it quite some times ago when i try to extend my open pod filter... but now i just use pvc pipe... really ugly lah... but its functionable lah... :D

after change to open pod the sound of intake so great when full step on the gas.... so syok... :D

nicely done man... [/b][/quote]
customize wan ar.. means kenot get from accesories shop izit? i wanna get one ler.. :(

Originally posted by yinho+Mar 7 2005, 18:14 -->
QUOTE (yinho @ Mar 7 2005, 18:14 )
Originally posted by tykoh@Mar 7 2005, 17:45
Originally posted by slk850@Mar 7 2005, 14:15
--QuoteBegin-tykoh

nicely done man...

customize wan ar.. means kenot get from accesories shop izit? i wanna get one ler.. :( [/b][/quote]
Is the same pipe u get from accessories shops, then need to cut it shorter base on the length you need and fit into your engine bay. Thats i called it customized. :)