DIY Voltage Stabilizer

Originally posted by alantan@Jan 11 2005, 12:54
vincew,

hmm..was wondering if you can built one for me and i'll pay you for labour lor...
because i'm not too good in soldering and wiring...

pm me if it's possible
Vincew, i wan also can ar?

currently busy for final year study, not have time to learn this... :( holiday still long to come... :(

can? :huh:

This is a great forum.

I do not think a relay is necessary. Caps do not leak voltage that easily. I am doing mine right now and incorporating an LED which draws about 10mA. Even at that rate it will take the LED to completely drain the battery of 50AH in about ... 200days!

haha... Thanks for urs opinion and idea on VS..
I have mine DoNE just now..
the whole project took me 2 days (coz a lot of E n E prob need to refer to expert) and my budjet is around RM30. WOW.,... 100 plus for VS... Bravo..(mine VS is base on the Jap website plus some additional cap) :D :lol: cheap man!!

For the first drive.. i felt slight improvement at the response of the engine.. air cond draging became less...and smooth drive.. THE CAR JUST REV..(must be illution, too high and pround of own baby VS),, :rolleyes:

For the voltage reading... With VS..mine is at 14 plus minus..and the voltage did change much as the air con on!! I think is a good symptom. For the Led., mine is connected in between the circuit.. in case any prob.. the LED will cut off as an indication. I was worried on that battery drainage issue too.. but after consider the sistem,, i think its ok to let to LEd to keep on lighting all the time. same case to the Cap.. i believe the discharge and recharge won drain out the batt but help to prolong the batt life (this is claimed by famous manufacturer of VS like Pivot etc.)
So,,, no worry man... ;)

If u really scare of the drainage,, then add on a on off suis to control ur VS. Just off it if u are going away for long time.. haha

CHEERS... DIY is FUN man... not only the result,, but the SATISFACTION :D :D

ah lee, u can do in RM30 budjet, but pls do survery on the capasitor, different type of capasitor with different price,dont forget it must stand the high temp of engine compartment...
. RM30 budject will not last long and just bit improvement, better do grounding, same cost...

if u study engineering or EE, u will know what i said... ;)

blacky is correct... RM30 just won't last long. Especially electrolyte type.. have you tested the Voltech VS? What's your feed back? Maybe you can use it as a bench mark in your DIY project..

;) hey,, u all are rite.. the one i m using is the cheap cheap one... 16V, 85celcius... i also wonder how long can my VS last.

Wat type of kapasitor is recomended? 105C... then wat's the ideal material? :blink:

I also done my grounding together. Coz i put in both together, so dunno the effect. But i perharps both is the same. Anyway... still evaluating. After a few ride, I actually can tell much diff with VS, just slight improment here n there. I wonder that was mental effect or not.. haha :)

I am sure most DIY project will produce the same effect.

If anyone here has done something similar like wat i have done,, can share ur experience on the KElasakan and Ketahanan of ur VS?

The Voltech by alan... i have try it out. Not bad. At least better than my VS i think. I am not sure lah,,, coz just use it for a short road. Maybe should test it once more. Any body got feedback on the Voltech VS? B)

:angry: after thinking for my VS... i ahve make up my mind to move a step forward. TO DIY the reverse current stuff... THis is posted in the Jap website. The material is so simple and maintanance free... haha...

But,, b4 i start... aany sifu around aledi started with that Reverse current thing..

to see the jap site, pls click the following add.
http://www.skai.co.jp/swmech/step3dps3/step3dps3.htm

SIfu sekalian... come lah help me!! ;)

the voltech are using branded capasitor and poly capasitor, so it cost high, sorry i cant mention too much on the material using...

becareful for the material using coz it will easy melt in high temp engine campartment, u can DIY, but think wisely on b4 DIY, not think for the cost and proud u hv the lowest cost DIY...

anyone who live setapak area can PM for testing, the voltech VS is really good, u test u will know...half year warranty..

Originally posted by ah lee@Jan 12 2005, 00:20
:angry: after thinking for my VS... i ahve make up my mind to move a step forward. TO DIY the reverse current stuff... THis is posted in the Jap website. The material is so simple and maintanance free... haha...

But,, b4 i start... aany sifu around aledi started with that Reverse current thing..

I am also thinking of making the Japan Version.
now i am looking for the materials. ;)

Do anybody know where to get the materials? :huh:

It is simple to make :D but i still don't know the effectiveness :huh: .

The point i like is this thing can really last (judging from the material used compared to electrolitic Caps. :)

Anybody done it? Or otherwise i will be the white mouse :unsure: ?

thank Black.. Good to get ur advice,,really appreciated. I will monitor my VS from time to time.. ;)
The sure thing is, Voltech VS gives a better result la :)

Vincew,
I saw that aluiminium mass or net thing in the fernell's catalog. I think its not so hard to get it from pasar road as that thing is quite common for eletronic uses. So... i am gathering some info and going to DIY nextweek. Vincew, u wanna join me for that?
BTW, anybody know wat is the name if that XXYY thing tat i am going to make? is it call reverse current.. If yes then, wat brand in the market having the same application?

So.. brothers.. DIY wisely man! :ph34r:

Originally posted by ah lee@Jan 12 2005, 00:20

i dun get it... duno wat is de jap fellow doing... is dat some sort of dielectric thing to create some sort of capacitor using those wires n stuff??

like dat wun short de batt. meh? :unsure:

I also not sure whether that will short circuit.. But if u study the diagram...it's actually a big capasitor. The two terminal doesn;t touch each other and act like a big cap. Just imagine a internal part of a cap and compare it with the reverse current thing.

CHeers/. ;)

mr ah lee......if you go from the 1st page of this thread...i'm already been attch the link...... :D .....need to find out where to get the sleeves metal tube only...... :D

:ph34r:

i don;t quite understand how the diagram works at all...

can sombody make it easier?

hv any of u guys experience on your FC? i mean i gain about 20km on Full tank... usually 50 bucks only allow me to travel 340km, but today i get 360km... but this is the 1st Full tank after i installed the VS...

any one care to share?? :)

Mr Servo,

If u know where to get the mesh ,, pls share with us lah,, I also wanna made this one and compare the result. I saw that in FERNELL's catalog and is about Rm 10-20, depending on the length.

For those E n E background DIYian... pls lah act fast to get the thing and let us know macam mana dapat that thing. :lol:

ya, fernell is good capasitor, if using poly capasitor with fernell u will know y voltech was in 3 digit of price liao

farnell = rip offlahh..mayb they got better grade, but with tatt price can get beter cap else whereler....

Dear all,

for the reverse current thing, i checked it against FERNELL's catalog and they name it as COPPER BONDING STRIP. For 15 A, 1 reel (25m) is about RM 61. I think if this the case, pasar road should have it. just print that photo and bring to pasar road. :rolleyes:

Another sad thing is, :unsure: i've checked the frenell's cataolog on capasitor and i found out that most cap can only last for 5000 working hours :o . This is about 200++ days.
So, in order to make sure ur VS function well... why not we go for the reverse current stuff... if u scare that 1 is not good enouff to handle to current, place it in one big and one small... then is much more better la,, i think ;)

Come DIY reverse current !