e-Manage vs SAFC II

netracer

I'm totally confused over these two options or rather should I dump this and go straight for MOTEC and the likes?

Pros out there, your opinions are appreaciated.

Any reputable tuners in town?

since u r driving an evo8 mr Motec $$$ is not a problem for u. What for go for those emanage or vafc2.

Look up GT Auto in Sunway for more options...
Haltech...MOTEC...F-Con...SMT-6..

alot depends on ur budget...and what you plan to do... ;)

Heard e-manage only have 5 level rpm control while SAFC got 8 level rpm control. But e-manage able to control extra injector. :blink:

for all i was told, a standalone ecu is only as good as the tuner is...

MoTec has this PnP for E8 available now in Msia?

Originally posted by sum-dum-fuk@Feb 16 2005, 17:49
Look up GT Auto in Sunway for more options...
Haltech...MOTEC...F-Con...SMT-6..

alot depends on ur budget...and what you plan to do... ;)
true enough... what do you want the upgrades for - fast road or track use coz either one may take you to different tuning routes. e.g. if you are only interested in fast road, ECU should not be on top of your list. Perhaps get the boost controller and improve your fuelling should be enough (stage 2) after you've done the exhaust/filter upgrades (stage 1). Above that, only then consider the ECU replacement.

fast road only. So what r my options now? SAFCII for looks (if there is) or emanage or is there anything else out there? UTEC? TurboXS stuff?

Check out with Miata, he has a PFC for sale. It's worth to buy. U can try, if u dun like it, u still can sell it and don;t hv to worry the resale price is low.

Originally posted by netracer@Feb 18 2005, 21:24
fast road only. So what r my options now? SAFCII for looks (if there is) or emanage or is there anything else out there? UTEC? TurboXS stuff?
i've read recently that the standard ECU without piggybacks (e.g. SAFC) can handle up to 350bhp on an evo MR but you must upgrade your fuel pump. Other items are full exhaust system from down pipe, decat and back section, air filter and mechanical boost controller (a dumb valve???) cranked up to 1.6bar.

correct me if I'm wrong but can Haltech / Motec EMS stuff be superior to stock ECU
in terms of:-

1) aggresive fine tuning with mods - definite yes?
2) other settings like i/cooler timing - possible or by other control unit
3) any other settings apart fm ignition, a/f, etc that both have - control by other ECUs too?
4) any other issues?

as my application is not for track but fast road daily use.

Definitely! If money is no object... then go for them. However, if you have limited resource, perhaps you should prioritize. The stock ECU with certain mods can cope up to a decent power output.

If you are the type that always on quest for more power, probably you better get those aftermarket ECUs as it will provide you with the best platform to continously increase your power. Only issue, I suppose, is you need to find good tuners as any new mods you put in you must pay them a visit to optimise your performance and reliability.

Emanage... new version is coming soon
Apexera new piggy back is comming soon as well 16 x 16 map point
with software as well

Power FC is best and low cost .
get the handheld as well ..

since new version is to be released, i'm holding back n wait... on 2nd thoughts, new version may have bugs.... #@$#@

net..

aftermarket ECU's are juz as good as stock ECU...and better...but..also alot depends on the tuner...if a crap tuner given the best ECU will not be able to harness the real potential of the engine..

Some aftermarket ECU is very flexible and can actualy give u up to 4..6 or 10 additional outputs...means u can use them to control almost anything u wan to control...
- anti-lag
- launch control
- fan control
- boost control
- rpm shift light
- nitrous control
- secondary fuel pump control
- ....and so many more... :D

Cool... Hongkong tuner like to use Apexi F-Con V Pro Commander... quite expensive also... :P

so SAFCII (red) would match the EVO MR interior dash... emanage-hideout...

any more tots?