Engine 'Check' light on and off.

Karz

Guys,

Need help here. My 96 civic (Vtec) has this problem. The engine check light is on and off. I've change that distributor thing but still not solve. When the light is on, my engine seems 'semput' at rpm between 1000 to 2000.

Any suggestion what to check??

Cable plug??

Thanks in advance.

How many time does it blink? my experience, if no blink (meanin the check light is on all the time) go check your 02 sensor. If more than one.. err.. cannot remember.

There's one VTEC sifu here that know the code, but I cant remember who..

I assume yurs is EK single cam rite ..?? coz yu've mentioned yur is vtec 96 .. or correct me if I'm wrong .. and I assume yu already knew the location of yur comp box .. shud be underneath yur glove box, mounted right at the left side ..

yur guide in checking error code ..

1. locate the service connector .. shud be green in color
2. get a paper clip or short wire or anything ..
3. short circuit the female connector or male .. cant remember :biggrin:
4. switch to ON ..
5. count how many blinks ..

Look for this connector http://technet.ff-squad.com/how-to/celcheck/celcheck.01_tn.jpghttp://technet.ff-squad.com/how-to/celcheck/celcheck.02_tn.jpgat passenger side of your dash board. and short this two together.

stimGILER said:
I assume yurs is EK single cam rite ..?? coz yu've mentioned yur is vtec 96 .. or correct me if I'm wrong .. and I assume yu already knew the location of yur comp box .. shud be underneath yur glove box, mounted right at the left side ..

yur guide in checking error code ..

1. locate the service connector .. shud be green in color
2. get a paper clip or short wire or anything ..
3. short circuit the female connector or male .. cant remember :biggrin:
4. switch to ON ..
5. count how many blinks ..

6. inform stimGILER on the number of "blinks", he will then tell you there and then wat it means .......

luckily i didnt short the denso plug above ^^

this one rite?
http://img354.imageshack.us/img354/6241/1000045a0ox.jpg
i get 1 long light, no blink, n didnt turn off at all

so i assume its 1 or 10

here >> http://technet.ff-squad.com/ecu.codes.htm
it state either 02 or AIT sensor
whats that?

but not sure if i shot correctly..how to check if i short it correctly ?

The ait is air intake temperature. It is on the intake manifold near the fuel regulator. The O2 sensor is the lambda sensor on your exhaust. Not sure where it is on your ek. normally it should be on the colector. The B pipe.

I am not sure how it don't blink because by right it should blink. It is either a long blink or a short one.

Cheers

indeed its strange..
no matter how many time i short it, it wont go off..
n i hope its not the ecu thats having problem..

so, assuming the sensors having prob, how much should i expect to spend on repairing these?
if its quite pricey, better off i save money n check/replace all the sensors in one go n save labour charge

p/s: my eg already 7yrs old :(

Just make sure that the ignition is off when you are short circuiting the two wires. The only you switch your ignition on.

Eg sensors is easily attainable. Just go around a chop shop or garage and you can get anything. just a thought. If it is pointing to a particular sensor. It is not necessarily that the sensor is faulty. It could be that the wires is short circuit or as simple as a loose connector. Check at both end.

i tried when both ignition off n on..
but the problem is, when the check engine light is on, i cant even start the engine [like fuel pump dont feed fuel or ignitor kong]
but both these parts were replaced not long ago..

so, untill i can hear "grrr" sound of fuel pump, than i can start engine,,
the prob is getting messy.. even sending the car to aurhorised honda center dont solve the prob =___=

now i need to search for pro honda mechanic in skudai to check my car, as honda centre cant even solve these

haih~ >__>

if the lite on n doesnt make any beep... maybe 1 of the wiring to ecu 'putus'... in my case 1 of the fuel pump wire (green-black line) putus... check 4 d whole wiring... connect it... it'll take couple minutes to the lite disepeared... on n off rapidly... gud luck...

the "ggrrr" sound is definitely from yur fuel pump .. thats the sound of the motor whinch pumping the fuel .. no prob with that ..

yu said if the "ggrr" sound is not there, yu cannot start the engine .. yu probably have facing the situation like zamrioo2 said ..

the error code most probably 10 .. which means IAT .. could be the sensor konked or disconnected or even one of the wires tercabut ..

mr stim giler...
wat happened to my car is the ggrr still make sound... maybe there are 2 wire for fuel pump control... only 1 ok...

honda wiring so sensative... even terlipat check engine will appear...

If that sounds did not hilang after a good 10 sec. or so that means your fuel pump relay is stuck open, it will not click off. The fuel pump relay is somewhere near the accelerator padle. This is only my guess. Cheers

if yur using standard fuel pump, then something is not rite .. the grrr sound shud dissappear after the check lite turn off ..

if yur using other than standard fuel pum, say benz or bmw or after makrket, I think the sound is normal ..

zamrioo2 said:
mr stim giler...
wat happened to my car is the ggrr still make sound... maybe there are 2 wire for fuel pump control... only 1 ok...

honda wiring so sensative... even terlipat check engine will appear...