Exedy Cluth Kit (DK) for Proton/Mitsu

is the 3puck full race or semi race?? or both oso got??

HMS, can u pm me the price for complete semi race clutch set for 4g93t, organic & 3puck...

mitonct26:
cover + plate, the bearing i need to double check again

putra:
ok now i understand wat u guys mean by organic. I check for you. So it should be round plate and material friction is like the 3 kaki?

wildboar:
3 kaki is full race....very keras one....4G93T is 8.5" right?

Errm.. guys hae some questions regarding to clutch here...

like this....

My mistery #1:
Clutch problem. Recently i observed a weird sound coming from either the
engine bay or the tyre compartment. Everytime i start moving the car in
1st and then engage into 2nd gear, there is metal rubbing sound. The
sound comes exactly synchronized with the release of the clutch pedal.

My diagnosis #1:
I suspect either: clutch, drive shaft, rotor.

So I jack-up the car, fire-up the engine and engage to 1st gear, release
the cluct pedal slowly - everything just fine.

Then I try to turn the tyre manually in N, can feel that the rotor is in-
contact with the pads - NORMAL?

Finally i un-jack the car, hand brake, engage into 3rd gear, release the
clutch slowly (without eccelerating the engine).. at first, rpm starts to
drop, slightly judder, and engine starting to vibrate... then AHA!! That
metal rubbing sound!!!

Then in 1st gear, the sound even louder at lower frequency.

This is actually how you guys test for slippery clutch, right?

AM I HAVING A SLIPPERY CLUTCH?

Some in AW suggested that it's the clutch ball bearing..

What's your opinion?

is it like woin woin woin sound.......
if it is this sound then like the bearing sound. Cos last time my car rear wheel bearing died time is tis sound.....damn noisy and irritating....

Wah, full race exedy clutch, cover and bearing at RM780.. :o :o

GREAT PRICE MAN :lol:

This deserve a free bump!!

Originally posted by AlucarD@Jan 13 2005, 14:24
Wah, full race exedy clutch, cover and bearing at RM780.. :o :o

GREAT PRICE MAN :lol:

This deserve a free bump!!
take note..tat for 1.6 engine with 8 inch diametre

Originally posted by HMS@Jan 8 2005, 03:27
Exedy DK 8" Full Racing Kit (Made In Japan) for Proton
with NTN Bearing Japan

Rm 780 NEGO
give me price for 8.5 inch...complete 3 puck clutch plate, clutch cover & bearing

Drexchan:
That's my bearing sound last time.......my car change time the rear wheel bearing 1 side with ABS gear almost RM400..... :blink: pokai liao

jero:
8.5 full racing cover + plate + bearing japan = RM 780 NEGO
i PM the price

AlucarD:
the price can nego....not final price....

well from what i know , the organic clutch is just a replacement clutch which shown in the first picture which has fiber & copper material in it . where else the semi race / heavy duty clutch are the 3 puck legs one . full race clutch will be the twin plate or tripple plate clutch .

mmc & exedy is the same , only packaging is different , materials should be the same also .

yup vestax... u r correct actually.... just the clamping force tat's different... pls most of the clutch also from exedy daikin... just the chop

HMS,
wah!! RM400. If i have change the rims and tire will it void my warranty?

Originally posted by vestax@Jan 14 2005, 04:05
well from what i know , the organic clutch is just a replacement clutch which shown in the first picture which has fiber & copper material in it . where else the semi race / heavy duty clutch are the 3 puck legs one . full race clutch will be the twin plate or tripple plate clutch .

mmc & exedy is the same , only packaging is different , materials should be the same also .
thanx for the info vestax...

so the pressure plate & clutch cover will be still da same la rite?? meaning i can use either organic plate or 3puck haevy duty plate wif da same pressure plate & clutch cover?? its just which friction material i wanna use..am i rite to say this??

btw, the clutch plate material for na cars r different from material for turbos rite?? i guess for turbo wud b more grippy...in other words, clutch plate for 4g93 na is not suitable for 4g93t, rite??

OKOK so the twin plate or triple plate actually label as FULL RACE. Then the red box I posted one is called what? The cover spring is so hard already for the red box.....

OK, here is some info on the Exedy fren of mine.
He also recommend that if the driver dun want a so keras feel on the clutch, then use the Blue Box Clutch Cover and then match with a 3 pug plates. He said very good grip but not so tough to press the clutch pedal. The blue box cover spring rate is not so hard. The red box clutch cover spring rate is very hard.

I think the question of NA or Turbo uses what clutch is just the driver preferences. But if Turbo engine fit with a not so grippy clutch then sure got huge power loss lor. The what I think its logic. At the same time make sure u got sticky tyres too :lol: if not power loss again.

Originally posted by vestax@Jan 14 2005, 04:05

Thanks for the info.

MMC and Exedy cost oso different! Wonder if these guys are just making extras or it got different manufacturing process. But my fren driving 4G92 DOHC (non Mivec) tell me that the exedy unity he fitted grip better than his previous MMC. Anyone here had used both and can give any comment?

Vestax, ask u a technical question. The plate there spring is for what function. I see the Unity oni got 4 sets twin spring but the 3 pug have 6 sets twin spring? I just wish to learn more B)

from what i know those replacement clutch for the 4G63 by mmc or daikin would hold up to 280hp before it starts to slip .

heavy duty / semi race / street performance
the difference between the replacement clutch and the heavy duty clutch should be the pressure plate & the clutch disk it self . cause heavy duty clutch are for heavy duty use , like track use , prograssive driving and abit of dragging , the clamping force & material is also different from the replacement clutch .

replacement clutch can't do all those heavy duty stuff , cause it will heat up very fast and the clutch will be slipping and might burnt the clutch , unlike heavy duty clutch they can widthstand the heat and doesn't burnt as fast as those stock clutch .

turbo / na clutch should be the same , the only difference will be the contact surface , thats why cars like gsr , evo , mirage , vr4 use a larger flywheel which is 9" , compare to those other cars are runing on 7.5 / 8 / 8.5 .

those who are planning to use the stock pressure plate and couple it with a 3 leg disk , better don't cause the stock pressure plate doesn't clamp hard enough and the disk will start to slip and cause damage to the pressure plate & flywheel surface . thats why heavy duty clutch comes with a higher clamping force .

so sua ter.... wat ves is trying to say tat pls buy the whole clutch kit as the clamping force or watsoever wat counted by engineer... dun be clever clever go n match with better material... might end up the clutch sprung back then coz slipage...

Originally posted by HMS+Jan 14 2005, 18:31 -->
QUOTE (HMS @ Jan 14 2005, 18:31 )
--QuoteBegin-vestax
@Jan 14 2005, 04:05

Thanks for the info.

MMC and Exedy cost oso different! Wonder if these guys are just making extras or it got different manufacturing process. But my fren driving 4G92 DOHC (non Mivec) tell me that the exedy unity he fitted grip better than his previous MMC. Anyone here had used both and can give any comment?

Vestax, ask u a technical question. The plate there spring is for what function. I see the Unity oni got 4 sets twin spring but the 3 pug have 6 sets twin spring? I just wish to learn more B) [/b][/quote]
HMS, how much for semi-race clutch for SGTi?

vestax:
thank you

crash:
I am still checking on the semi-race details and how it actually looks like cos there are so many different terms ppl describe them. If possible then please post a pics of the semi-race.