First Drive: 2006 Satria Neo

I was told by the sales people during test drive that you only need to half clutch only, don't know why they tuned it like that..i prefer to fully depressed clutch pedal, when fully depressed the gear some how is a bit hard going in..tested the 1.3 manual the other day, couldn't slam from 1st to 2nd quickly because of the clutch pedal setting. After 5k like got sudden roar from engine..really loud induction sound..If open pod i don't know how lo..you guys should test the manuals la, the autos you really need to manual shift otherwise in D its very boring. handling no need to say la, its been their trademark already.

ethanphoon592 : the roar u heard could it be when the Campro valve activates?

I think the cluthch is semi-racing clutch issit ? I sat in one stationary Neo n juz move the gears n depress the clutch, wah feels like Short Shifter n also Semi-racing or racing clutch...

Hailat lor those drivers during traffic jam... hahahahaha!!

nitrus: yeah! i noticed the clutch abit heavier something like metal clutch (semi racing) lolz left leg will b bigger than the right 1 :_: traffic jam? doesn't seem to hv much prob wit tat, used to drive wit metal clutch... neway i've never tried with full racing clutch before :shades_smile:

gate-crasher : i hav tried my fren's full racing clutch before and damn, trust me u wun wanna be driving a full-racing clutch around especially if u get caught in traffic jams often. :shocked:
Bout the Neo, im not sure if its semi-racing type or full-racing clutch ... i din reli test it properly juz step on it abit only ... i was more interested in the short-shifter lolzz... but the gear shifter was quite hard tho..

my neo already clocked 1500++km.. for the time being the car juz nice.. a fren of mine that done practical at Toyota recently told me that bumper n exhaust system are from Toyota system, Proton and Perodua somehow under Toyota rite now? Neo produced at Tanjung malim factory, along with gen.2 and savvy if i not mistaken.. a huge factory only produced 3 models.. huh

nitrus said:
ethanphoon592 : the roar u heard could it be when the Campro valve activates?

I think the cluthch is semi-racing clutch issit ? I sat in one stationary Neo n juz move the gears n depress the clutch, wah feels like Short Shifter n also Semi-racing or racing clutch...

Hailat lor those drivers during traffic jam... hahahahaha!!

Campro valve activation? i wish la..you might already know the campro is still camproless..that's probably an induction sound of the powerband..thats all..

Semi racing clutch? wa you guys expectation very high ah...of course not la..its just a normal clutch, where do you think proton will throw in this kinda things..

still considering myself whether this neo is a good buy or not?!? heard a lot of complaints with regards to this "CAMPRO" engine... is it really bad?!? need some guidance here...

really hope for a stock neo comes wit semi-racing clutch + short shifter hehehe... mujadid84 : wah bro u've got ur neo for weeks, even drove the car till 1.5k km while i still havent get my neo yet... warghhh! the salesman told me i'm 1 of proud customers to own a first badge neo, but now "habuk pun tarak" darn la the salesman!

gate-crasher : i bought this car in k.terengganu, i think im da first one there.. ahaks.. neway be patient, once ur neo arrive, welcome to da club (,") basically i dun think neo come with short shifter and semi-racing clutch, maybe juz gear ratio.. for this car, i really luv it's handling.. the engine not really promising, but it's enough for a stock car.. dun compare the engine and the handling with Gti or R3.. it is only a stock car : ) ... plelerc : campro engine is still new, cannot compare it with VTEC or VVTi engine, but for me.. its ok la for a stock car.. need more power? mivec or gsr engine maybe suits..

yup ivan_cyc, i also heard dat they have to wait up to 2mnth.. but my neighbour is the boss at proton edar in k.terengganu, so maybe he try to get my car faster hehe.. one of my fren visited tanjung malim factory and their engineer said neo have some problem and need to be fix it.. dats why u have to wait very long..

I've been having my neo for three weeks now. Done 1700km. For you guys out there who are thinking of getting one, let me list down a few things. This is about my 1.6 manual.
The good
Handling superb for stock /fun to drive
FC pretty good 9liters/100km for heavy town driving (i have a heavy right foot)
Looks great, especially after changing the bling rims.
Engine got useable power from 2000rpm onwards (much better than Gen2)
Fit and finish probably best of protons.

The bad
Small. Back seats and booth smaller than previous satria but still useable.
Engine gets very loud after 4000rpm.
Its not a gti so don't dream of racing with one.
Soundproofing could be better (All fixed glass windscreen etc... no exterior seal, like gen2 rear windscreen)

Honestly i'm very happy with my car so far. I'm newly married so i got nobody to put in the back so size is not an issue. For 50k you can't get a better handling or better looking car.
Hope i helped some :regular_smile:

the engine gets very loud after 4000rpm?!? hmmm... this is not the first time i heard of this... most of the review that i've read complaining abt the engine will start to "bising" after 4000-5000 rpm... Is that good or wat? or is there any alternative to counter that "loud engine" sounds... maybe by changing the air filter perhaps?!?

wooo, today only i saw one Neo bang backside already.... rear bumper got a hole. sad man. lol ...

just make sure those blind dogs dun insert his little cute things inside can already HAHA!

managed to stop by at a rim/tyre shop in klang this afternoon, 2 sets of brand new neo rims traded by owner... according to the shop boss, the owners dun like those "bling-bling rim" anyway neo can fix the thickest of 17inch tyre size 205/40... 205/45 sadly can't be fix, otherwise rear tyre would "kena" the mudguard! **using stock shock absorbers** neo looks great on 17" wahhhh can't wait for my neo to come out for a "pimp my ride" version hehehe...

anyone noticed that the neo's shape is kinda weird.. the whole rear part is kinda weird.. the old satria looked better.. the rear part.. but of course the front part of neo wins hands down!

same with CarNoob.. my car also done 1700km.. agreed with the good and bad of Neo.. 17" can fix with 205/40? em neo R3 concept can put 18" but dunno the tyre size..