Fixing a deliberate deep scratch

Veloc

Last sunday after shopping, I returned to my car to find this...

From the driver's door all the way to the back.
DSC01635.JPG

DSC01636.JPG

Hated me so much, the person made sure it went really deep. Past my clear coat and colour all the way into the primer.
DSC01638.JPG

DSC01640.JPG

Besides pain and anger, I was actually analyzing whether this is deliberate or an accident. A few signs tell that it is an accident. A few more show signs or deliberate vandalism. Couldn't come to a conclusion. But fixing this thing is the main priority now.

So what can be done? Polishing wouldn't do any good since the paint isn't there anymore. I will just have to paint it myself then... Got some Kanasai Kansai 2k pearl white paint. Slowly, using a toothpick to touchup the scratched area.
DSC01652.JPG

From far... It covered the primer but still visible.
DSC01660.JPG

A total of 4 coats were applied with a drying time of 12 hours each over a period of 3 days.
DSC01682.JPG

The area was then wet sanded down by hand. 800, 1000, 1200, 1500 and finally 2000 grit with ONR QD as lube.
DSC01705.JPG

Sanding removes the excess paint over the edges and the new paint is leveled with the original paint.
DSC01709.JPG

Compounded with Optimum Hyper Compound on wool pad via rotary. Early sign of gloss...
DSC01711.JPG

Proceeded with Hyper Compound on polishing pad; and then polished and finished with Hyper Polish on polishing pad all via rotary. The transition between the new paint and the original paint is now hardly noticeable and it is safe to say that the paint is completely leveled.
DSC01718.JPG

Some after pictures... Scratch almost non existent.
DSC01723.JPG

The back is even more satisfying.
DSC01726.JPG

Under sunlight
DSC01742.JPG

DSC01743.JPG

DSC01744.JPG

Side look.
DSC01747.JPG

DSC01748.JPG

Of course if one stares hard enough, one will still be able to find traces of it. Found it? Nevertheless this is a significant improvement over the early state. Quite satisfied with it.
DSC01751.JPG

See it?
DSC01758.JPG

A quick recap of before-after pictures...
before-after+2.jpg

before-after+3.jpg

before-after+4.jpg

before-after+5.jpg

before-after.jpg

Finally, I can sleep. Obviously, the golden rule of "Do unto others what you would like them to do unto you" is not in the minds of these people.

Accident of the day: Sprayed a bit of compound into my eyes :(

Thank you for viewing another detail of mine...

Veloc, respect your perseverance and patience in fixing that damage. Thumbs up!
Could that be a shopping cart graze?

Hmm... Unlikely. Because that place is not a supermarket. It's a shopping mall. No carts around. It looked like something done by vandals. Just fyi, kk got lots of these illegal immigrants that really destroy this otherwise beautiful place. All thanks to the gov.

Veloc,
I also experience this before when i was back to KK some time back with this so call illegal immigrants "Fui Chung" on my friend's car.

fan cheong.. hahaha! Yeah! The amount of chinese you know never fails to amaze me! :biggrin:

Eh Veloc, how much did you pay for the paint? Did you have to buy a large can?

fan cheong.. hahaha! Yeah! The amount of chinese you know never fails to amaze me! :biggrin:

Eh Veloc, how much did you pay for the paint? Did you have to buy a large can?

No I didn't buy it. I asked the body shop to give me a small can when I sent my boot to be resprayed the last time. Hoping it comes in handy at times like this. This is not a touchup paint. Just a normal automotive 2k paint.

before-after.jpg

Finally, I can sleep. Obviously, the golden rule of "Do unto others what you would like them to do unto you" is not in the minds of these people.

Accident of the day: Sprayed a bit of compound into my eyes :(

Thank you for viewing another detail of mine...

A picture worth a millions but this step by steps picture worthless

Thanks for showing the right way - to restores & to loves your enemy
well both requires lots of courage & you got a big big heart

Keep it shinning bro, by this all men will know " you're His Disciples" :burnout:

Thanks for kind words KC. Well I have to be patient. No choice... It's my daily and only ride and the scratch bothers me so much.

Fuyoh! My kids, don't know where they park also kena a few scratches. Better read nicely your post and attempt also.....

I had a similar problem on my civic but no where as bad. The scratch stopped at the clear and was the thickness of a strand of hair. I bought the touch up paint but the clear version for the clear coat. Applied to the paint a few coats and sanded it down as well to blend the area. Still can see the scratch but have to stare and look for it. Good work veloc.

Mine quite bad, quite deep also but on one door only (passenger back door).
I got the paint from my spray painter, but paint back to prevent rust only (some places looks deep)
But the line still very visible. Now have to coat a few round like bro. Veloc, then try to sand and polish back....:rolleyes:

You got the clear version??? How and where? I couldn't get the clear version here. They told me that colours are available for sale but for clear, they have to mix it fresh and have to use it within days. So they do not stock anymore. I was also puzzled why do they have to make fresh clear. Isn't it like other paints? Comes in a small can?

Mine quite bad, quite deep also but on one door only (passenger back door).
I got the paint from my spray painter, but paint back to prevent rust only (some places looks deep)
But the line still very visible. Now have to coat a few round like bro. Veloc, then try to sand and polish back....:rolleyes:

Yeah I got a few areas on the bonnet that are stone chips. I just touchup to prevent rust. But this like is too damn muchI can't take it. So 4 coats over 3 days it is.

You got the clear version??? How and where? I couldn't get the clear version here. They told me that colours are available for sale but for clear, they have to mix it fresh and have to use it within days. So they do not stock anymore. I was also puzzled why do they have to make fresh clear. Isn't it like other paints? Comes in a small can?

If you mean the clear coat itself, yes sold in most hypermarket. They put on the same shelf where they display the paint in small bottles. They will mark as clear coat and transparent in color....

Here is the product - autospa....
http://www.autospa2u.com/app/?Page=17

If you mean the clear coat itself, yes sold in most hypermarket. They put on the same shelf where they display the paint in small bottles. They will mark as clear coat and transparent in color....

Here is the product - autospa....
http://www.autospa2u.com/app/?Page=17

I think in Sabah they might not have Autospa in the hypermarkets lah. Oh if you can find it. I suggest to get a bottle of solvent as well. it will be labelled "Solvent". Because its actually quite thick and difficult to apply if not thinned out.

Then have to contact them and see if they are distributed by anyone over there.....