Gauging interest on plasti dip

Gauging Interest : Which Plasti Dip Color Would You Prefer And What Would You Dip?

• Blaze Blue

Votes: 1 33.3%
  • Blaze Green

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Blaze Orange

• Blaze Pink

• Blaze Purple

• Blaze Yellow

• Base White

• Base Red

• Base Black

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • Smoke!

• Gun Metal

• Camo Black

• Camo Brown

• Camo Tan

• Camo Green

• Total voters
Awesome! Insight Club also started dipping their grille's already. Actually 1st coat dont need to be heavy or even...as long as about 50% transparency, the other coats will cover it up. At the last coat i like to apply a slightly heavier one, but thats my preference... So the spray speed is slowed down by half of the regular pass.

Thanks!

So, 1st 3 coats just make a quick spray? My at 1st I thought is gonna be rough, but after 2 days, when I touched, still acceptable but of course not as smooth as the panel that you plastidip inside your car...that is super smooth...

Yeah, after a few times experimenting, you'll achieve that texture... it takes getting used to. speed, distance, amount per layer...hehe...spray more!

Gonna check out the base black and blaze purple soon. Looks like I gotta go to Ace Sunway as I did not come across this stuff while looking for a heat resistant spray in Ace The Mines last week.

Any idea on roughly how many can of PD I need on 4 pcs of lower door trim?

Thanks a lot PocketRocket for introducing such a nice product to us.

SupraFan : You didn't newspaper behind your grill? So sprayed onto the manifold or whatever that's there?

I want to plastidip my car decals, but I've been stalling cuz I can't figure out how to clean the car. I heard that normal microfiber won't work too well so what should I use if I wanna do this?

Haven't been to ACE Hardware lately. Have ACE restocked their plastidip or have to source from pocroc? Just gonna go for spray can first before indulging myself with the dip.

If the peeling part is gonna fun, its just gonna be like me popping those bubblewraps non stop :rofl:

SupraFan : You didn't newspaper behind your grill? So sprayed onto the manifold or whatever that's there?

I want to plastidip my car decals, but I've been stalling cuz I can't figure out how to clean the car. I heard that normal microfiber won't work too well so what should I use if I wanna do this?

Yup, I did put newspaper behind the grille, after removing it, not much on the newspaper but
still better to protect other parts from oversprayed.

Yes, microfiber cloth won't work cuz it will ruin your plastidip and will leave some fibres
on the plastidip, in short just not suitable.

Got to use Dipwasher from Dipyourcar.com. Some sort of rubberized cloth that is
really suitable for plastidip. I have no idea where to get it for the moment.

Maybe I'll try to find something similar which is rubberized cloth to see if it works
other than importing the dipwasher all the way from US.

How to Wash PlastiDip - DipYourCar.com Introduces the Dip Washer - YouTube

https://www.dipyourcar.com/images/P/dip-washer.png

Haven't been to ACE Hardware lately. Have ACE restocked their plastidip or have to source from pocroc? Just gonna go for spray can first before indulging myself with the dip.

If the peeling part is gonna fun, its just gonna be like me popping those bubblewraps non stop :rofl:
Yup, easily peel off...but just have to be thick enough to peel off easily, if some parts
are not coated with enough layer, is kinda a bit hard to remove. Take longer time.
Something like peeling off some dry skin on your skin :rofl:

Is there any grey colour plastidip? Would like to get 1-2 bottles wuwuwu...

Didn't realised any, saw Red, White, Black. Other colours like Blue, Yellow and etcs come
in sealed cans unlike the black and white where it has a spray head. Not much choices of
colors if u were to compare with what you see in their website.

yalor...not many choices here. Moreover black always kena sapu by we know who =P hahahaha
PockRock!!! Faster bring in Plastidip hahaha we support you

yalor...not many choices here. Moreover black always kena sapu by we know who =P hahahaha
PockRock!!! Faster bring in Plastidip hahaha we support you

:rofl: Now makes it two who sapu PlastiDip...Me and PocRoc :rofl:

Looks like synthetic chamois. Have you tried cleaning/wiping with a chamois?

No bro, dare not do anything to it yet as per advised not to wash the car for at least
5 days to a week after plastidipped by a professional Plastidipper in here :biggrin:

But as per advised by dipyourcar.com owner, I think I'll try to find rubberized cloth 1st,
if not then will try as per suggest by you bro. Chamois.

---------- Post added at 10:24 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:20 AM ----------

dun sapu all lor...leave one for me pleaseeeeeee

If I leave it there, no chance for u to get already, cuz others will sapu :rofl:

just wondering..
as the Plasti Dip is so hard to find, what if we contact the supplier, and share the price as much as u want?
for example, i've obtained the distributor price for Plasti Dip.. but they said that the best value would be ordering a pallet, which is 2000 cans of aerosol spray can type.. the shipping cost is cheaper..
they also mentioned that minimum order value is USD 2000, approximately 230 cans, more or less.. but the shipping cost is half from the cost of shipping a pallet..
for sure i won't be needing that much of Plasti Dip, and i dont have the time to sell those, if i want to be a distributor..
what if, if u need 10 cans of spray, u just bought the lot of 10 cans using the distributor price?
and myself, i need maybe 50 cans, so total would be 60 cans.. and find more people to buy them until we meet the minimum order or a whole pallet..
or else, if anybody have the budget, u can just bring in the whole thing by yourself, and sell it here..
if anybody interested, do PM me your email, and i will send u the price list..
thanks..
p/s : just hate the effort of going to Ace Hardware outlets, but could not find one..

I thought of importing Gallons of the plastidip, thought of doing up the whole car but too bad is illegal
to ship those in big gallons in and it wont be cheap even if they allow to ship in with our country taxes...

Not only the paint, the spray gun and other equipment needed to spray a car.

So, the only way is to do it through Cans of Plastidip which I'm waiting for advice from dipyourcar.com on
whether it is possible to do it by buying lots and lots of Spray Cans.

There's a lot of factors that is holding me back from ordering by the pallets, one is taxes and the other is shipping costs & their risks. I've read that somebody in US ordered in bulk and ground shipped to him in the states and half of his stocks exploded in transit. What more having to pay for shipping and go thru all the paperwork only to find that the pressurized cans exploded upon arrival. I can open a pre-order option for the first wave if anyone interested, various colors and their respective products as well... In the event that the items aren't usable, i shall not be held responsible. Fair enough? Anytime i can lock in the order too. Problem is, if I have to bear all that cost and risks, its not really beneficial for me right? I've crunched the shipping costs & taxes per can and sigh.... Having doubts if i can ever be assured on my side.

We shall discussed more bro. If plastidipping the whole car is cheaper than a repaint, I'm more than
happy to DIY myself.

We shall discussed more bro. If plastidipping the whole car is cheaper than a repaint, I'm more than
happy to DIY myself.

Okay...Guess you become PlastiDIY_Fanatics already...just kidding :rofl:
To be honest, DIY and modding cars can be addictive. Even more when we found new idea or something different to others :driver:

actually, i've already obtained the price list.. it's from their distibutor in Thailand..
quite a good price as the range is from USD 7.96 to USD 9.72 for aerosol cans.. excluding shipping and taxes though..
and for the shipping, i think is not that illegal as (MAYBE) they would not use air transportation (as the main concern is to ship aerosol cans over the air)..
at first, i was thinking of bringing it here on my own, but i had just forked out RM30k for something that i would like to sell here later..
refer here --> removable tint - YouTube
but, as PocketRocket mentioned, the risk is there..
that's one of the reason why i cancelled the plan of bringing it here and become the seller of Plasti Dip.. that's why i was thinking of sharing the cost by demands..
well, then again, just a suggestion.. :biggrin:

https://www.dipyourcar.com/images/P/dip-washer.png

For USD9.00 per piece it's a bloody expensive investment just to wipe a stripe or two decals on my car. That's excluding shipping too.

If anyone is ordering this cloth, I'd like to add on 1 piece for me. Save on the shipping!

As for shipping the paint and spray, pressurized spray cans risk exploding on transit and the paint itself is considered a toxic chemical and will need a helluva lot of permits and stuff to clear the shipping.

Personally I only want an additional can or 2 and perhaps another can or 2 of another colour. Not really worth it for me to confirm orders with you guys if there's no guarantee of delivery. Risk is risk, and money is money. DIYers like me are poor buggers. Every cent counts!