GUITAR TALK

dl malmsteen's video, damn keng la that guy goreng, no need oil wan :ph34r:

Did you guys know that in US guitar stores there are songs that are banned from you to play while testing the guitars over there?
This is because EVERYBODY plays them and its getting annoying :lol: :lol:

A few of the songs that are banned are:
Starway to heaven
Enter Sandman
Sweet Child O Mine
(you get the idea)

Hmm, after you guys finish playing Metallica, try Dream Theater... (they rock big time)

Dream Theater

Ah, Dream Theater freaking rocks. Gotta love Petrucci's playing, they're a very talented band. His solo albums kicks ass too. :D

I can only play the intro to Dream Theater songs lar.. riffs never tried yet, solo totally out of question :lol:

Red Hot Chili Peppers have some good songs to learn to.. Californication is a really nice, easy song to play, plus the solo isn't hard at all. :)

Originally posted by Metaphor@Mar 28 2005, 19:45
Red Hot Chili Peppers have some good songs to learn to.. Californication is a really nice, easy song to play, plus the solo isn't hard at all. :)
[snapback]848031[/snapback]​
yeah... i've tried to search for the chords by listening to it.. but kinda hard.. my fren and she's a gal, can get the chords just by listen to the music.. she said that she have some speciality in recognizing sounds.. i wish i have that ability.. :rolleyes: :D

Hi farique,

It's pretty simple to find chords to a song (basic song la)
You just have to know the right method
Dun try to listen to the song and try out a lot of different chords to match it.

Listen to the bass guitar
Then derive the chord from the bass that they are playing.
If you practice enough it will be much easier.

There is also a thing called chord progression.
Any song (that makes musical sense) will have a proper chord progression, so once you know what chord progression that the song is in, it is easier to learn the song too.

For example in a Major scale the progression is:
Major - Minor - Minor - Major - Major - Minor - Diminished

If you play a C major scare you will have these notes:
C-D-E-F-G-A-B

So in a C-Major chord progression you get:
Cmajor - Dminor - Eminor - Fmajor - Gmajor - Aminor - Bdim

Most pop songs will have Cmajor, or Eminor chord progression.

Click here to learn how to play some basic chords:
http://www.accessrock.com/IntermediateLessons/learn-guitar-chords.asp

Hope that helps.

bro Jebu,

thanks for the links.. well, i know the basic chords.. except for the bar chords.. ah, i'll just keep on practicing until i got it all rite.. :D

btw, thanks for the info too! it helps alot! :D

if u guys wanna get really good tabs, buy guitarworld magazine RM30 only haha.
They give u around 5 songs per month ;)

Originally posted by farique@Apr 1 2005, 19:47
bump! :D
dun want this thread dies slowly... :lol: :lol:
[snapback]860446[/snapback]​

i agree...
anybody would like me to put up weekly guitar lessons on this thread?
I used to teach so I got lots of material
we can cover scale building, patterns, chord progression, soloing and music writing...

Anybody using torrent here?

Anyway, i've got some goodies here.

100 Greatest Guitar Solos
---> http://s6.isohunt.com/download.php?mode=bt&id=3125638

Steve Vai - The Secret Jewel Box (3CDs)
---> http://s5.isohunt.com/download.php?mode=bt&id=3907275

Happy downloading!!

ExtremeRC,

Heheh, thanks for the Top 100 solos. I've tried manually downloading them before, and got sick of finding the songs, only read until number 12 then I quit. :lol:

Is that Top 100 one based on Guitar World?

Originally posted by Metaphor@Apr 5 2005, 15:17
Is that Top 100 one based on Guitar World?
[snapback]870555[/snapback]​

This i'm not sure though!! :P ^_^