I'm totally disagree with the thread owner, the title encourage young kids to test it out.... Malaysia roads are cramp with idiots oredi, if there're idiots who crash with ZTH sticker on it....... It will give bad impression to this web..... So what the most responsible things to do here, where new kids always around in this web??? You kind advise, pls.....
Lennon,
We are not the guardians of morals and if you think the nature of the internet lends itself to be easily policed and controlled, then your sense of idealism is bigger than the size of Texas.
A ZTH sticker at the scene of an accident is not sufficient to link the cause of accident to ZTH forum content. It's a non-issue. If the car had Mugen or Eibach stickers, no reasonable person will automatically conclude that a bad impression is on Mugen or Eibach.
Purely from a legal standpoint, ZTH cannot be held liable for any accident on the same reasoning that the existence of a HKS Turbo in a car will not make HKS liable for any accident caused by the driver.
There can be an infinite number of things which can be linked as possible causes of accidents.
For any cause, there has to be sufficient proof. If the link is considered too remote, or too speculative, then the argument will not succeed in a Court of Law.
That is why a person cannot conveniently choose to SPECULATE on ONE reason out of MANY by telling the Judge that :- "Ah Beng had a ZTH sticker on his car and he must have been reading all that 'Go-Fast' crap on ZTH. And therefore, Your Honour, I submit to you that ZTH was the sole cause of Ah Beng's accident."
There is another reason why ZTH is not liable for any statements made by third parties. Disclaimer of warranty.
ZTH is an internet forum and I emphasize the word 'INTERNET'.
On the internet, any idiot, including a 6 year old, can get behind a keyboard and come into a car forum to give advice. Only a fool will take any advice from the internet without qualification, and then later complain that the advice was unsound.
The standard practice on most of these websites is to have a Disclaimer where the website owners DO NOT warrant or guarantee the credibility of any of the information posted on their forums by third parties. Further, it is also standard for most of these websites to declare that statements made by third parties are the sole responsibility of those making the statements and in no way should the statements be construed to represent the views of the website owners.
And there you have it. You can go and stick a sign on your car that says "Pak Lah Made Me Do It" but any attempt of blaming Pak Lah won't be anymore successful than anyone who tries to say a 'Baby On Board' sticker allows mothers to breastfeed their babies while driving a car.
Owning a 500hp monster needs passion to keep it, some take it as a hobby, some think it's cool....... Don't get the wrong impression that 500hp owner must be a bl@rdy racer, they treasure their car too...... You probably see more proton s or kancils doing more fancier stunts, rite??
An enthusiast does not need 500hp worth of mods in order to cherish his car. That's just assuming too much. We, small people driving unmodified 1.3 liter cars, value our rides too. It's not like we put everything to a collision-risk just because our rides are a piece of shit compared to a showroom quality JDM-import.
No. If you read it again, carefully, nobody here accuse anyone of being a 'racer' in the sense that they do such things on a regular basis on the roads. That wasn't even where most of the discusssion was directed. Merely, we are questioning the credibility of anyone here to suggest that they never street raced, not even ONCE. Such a suggestion is implicit in comments when people say, for example, "I only test my car on the dyno." Truth be told, you don't even need two cars involved to have raced. You could very well have been driving on your own and driving in a very spirited manner in speed-limited or space-limited roads and you probably have broken most of the road regulations with that one instance. If someone just chimed in and say "I only test my 500hp monster on the dyno", that is simply too 'clinical'......it's a loaded statement. We may be petrol-heads but we ain't dumb, you know.
This is the hottest thread this week with well over 900+ views. You know why ? Because that's the longest message anyone here has ever seen you post hehehe People come to see that message alone.