Haze - What can we do

satria_95 said:
Since our fucked up government doesn't seem to be giving a pig shit about the situation, I'm starting this thread (or at least) to see what we, the citizens can do. This is what I had in mind.
the dumb sumatran natives are burning their land, and the wind is blowing the smoke here, our goverement cant fight mother nature u know

satria_95 said:
Since our fucked up government doesn't seem to be giving a pig shit about the situation, I'm starting this thread (or at least) to see what we, the citizens can do. This is what I had in mind.

For one, we need rain, to a certain extent, at least. This is roughly what I can recall from my science classes many fucking years ago.

Rain, basically, is a process of evaporation and condensation. When the earth's surface has water, the heat will evaporate the water, turning it into gas/steam/what-fucking-ever. Then it will rise up to the sky and somehow, stay there. When lots and lots of water evaporation takes place, and all of it gathers in the clouds, where the temperature is a lot cooler than on the earth's surface (in hot places like our country), the gas/steam/what-fucking-ever will then go through a process of condensation, where it becomes back to water. When the water cannot be contained in the clouds anymore, it will come down as rain.

What we can do is this.
At least once a day, spray water on your front porch, the part outside your porch gate and perhaps some part of the road in front of your house. Make it as wet as you see fit. Then let the water evaporate into the sky, in hope that it will become rain.

Now, if only a few people do this, it will make close to no difference at all but think about it. If EVERYBODY spray water one a day, during day time, like that, I believe that rain should come in no time.

This probably sound as stupid as our local government but just sharing my part of this thread. I have started spraying water today and will continue to do it at least once a day. Water bill may be an issue but thinking about it, if we don't do anything, we pay with our health anyway.

Anybody else have any suggestions/opinions/etc on what else we could do to improve the hazy condition ourselves? Or at least try?

we shud sit on our couch then watch da politicians, talking in press conference on their big big belly...."ERR WE WILL DECLARE EMERGENCY WHEN IT HIT 500" diu kau u la gomen, before hit 500 u shud do something la....talking can prevent kah? diu lei la gomen!!!

The government can do cloud seeding and create rain. However, the cost to do that is very high and may not even be successful at all. Even if successful, the rain might just be a small one that will not do much good. Rain would definately be good, cuz we need the refreshing. Having said all that, I think we also need the wind on top of the rain. If it just rains alone without a strong wind, the haze will still be around after the rain. I am just speaking from common sense, not sure if I got my facts right.

Also, one more thing that comes to mind is... the next rain will likely be a very "dirty" one. So, get ready to wash your car after the rain!

fstrader said:
we shud sit on our couch then watch da politicians, talking in press conference on their big big belly...."ERR WE WILL DECLARE EMERGENCY WHEN IT HIT 500" diu kau u la gomen, before hit 500 u shud do something la....talking can prevent kah? diu lei la gomen!!!

cool down brother.. no nid diu them... their ass stinks.ss.... thats wat i sy b4 this...

What we need now is one big wind and heavy rain to clear all dis fockin haze shit.. if not its gonna be worse in no time.. 2day oredi hit 550 for port klg according to latest update n i certainly belip 2moro will touch 600 liao.. seeing the figure going up (hopefully its saham) but dis turn out to be de higher de number rose de worst it gets.. i am all agreed to satria95 idea.. i oso did de same jes now evening after reach home..

I oso agree to wat fstrader says.. mahai dis lanjiao gahmen sit down tok kok mch.. do something about it la.. mah lan far hai gahmen pundek nayeh!! :mad:

Regards,
Mike

those stupid indonesians i think they eat shit n drink urine everyday or maybe they r using their arse to think...god damn it...i hope the tsunami or earthquake will strike them again kill them all as well as putting of the fire if it is a tsunami...KNN..when tsunami strike them we pity them..donate money n help them...now they no problem ady wanna kill other ppl...damn suxx...next time if the indon need any help...id rather take the money to eat...let them die standing......@##@$@#%@$#@4

actually .. m'sia gov ARE doing someting ler.. i also just found out only.. they sent troops over there to help put out the fire in the forest..
but it's still questionable la, to me.. (i believe everything has a solution) ..

Q : Why even start burning in the first place?!?!
A : Cause they are poor farmers, and burning is the cheapest solution.

Q : Aiyoh, then GOV shud do something to help la! hire ppl for the farmers each year to help cut and kemaskan their old crops!!
A : their population very big.. its either u are extremely rich or extremely poor.. the poor will live like underneath the highways and all. that is thier neighhbourhood.. And when u are there (Indon).. u cant breathe.. its like this everyday.. but not so chronic..

I understand that it's like this every year in Indon, open burning is normal. Just that this year, too bad for us.. The wind has decided on a different direction..
But i always still keep questioning, WHY THE HAZE?!!!??? :mad: aih.

pickcell, its too late, why sent troops now when its already started? they shud have edi start when it has receive an early warning or somethng ...but now??? i bet tmrw is 600 in selangor areas, and now only they send troops, send troops there do wat? FUCK da indons??? MCH da gomen....:mad:

sorry la bro, me no mood all this shitZ happening, not good for all..

farmers burning up some area till it is out of control... when the fire bridgate arrive, the fire spread like no body business... plus, no rain and strong wind causes the fire to spread more quickily... indonesian gov didnt react fast enough coz they are busy with other stuff... only when we report to them where the haze come from, they jz apologise and do nothing...

what we can do??... pray to god that heavy downpour will flood the blardy indonesians and relieve us from the thick haze...

Many of us (me inclusive) are angry, irritated and feel trapped even in our own home. As I have said, whatever the government do, we have no say. You all should know that. If government DID listen to it's citizen, don't you think our country will be better now? It's because the fucking government don't listen to it's citizens that we are where we are today.

This thread is meant to share ideas on what WE can do to make just that little bit of difference for ourselves. Yes, I know that we can't fight the wind, bla bla bla. But think about the rain process. Spray water to the front porch (or back yard if you please) and let the water evaporate. Water level is low, yes I know, but we're already suffering anyway so if we're saving water, from my opinion, we're also suffering.

That's how I thought of the "spray water in front of your house" idea.
Peace. :)

satria_95 said:
Many of us (me inclusive) are angry, irritated and feel trapped even in our own home. As I have said, whatever the government do, we have no say. You all should know that. If government DID listen to it's citizen, don't you think our country will be better now? It's because the fucking government don't listen to it's citizens that we are where we are today.

This thread is meant to share ideas on what WE can do to make just that little bit of difference for ourselves. Yes, I know that we can't fight the wind, bla bla bla. But think about the rain process. Spray water to the front porch (or back yard if you please) and let the water evaporate. Water level is low, yes I know, but we're already suffering anyway so if we're saving water, from my opinion, we're also suffering.

Sometimes...we can urinate at the front porch or at the back yard mah... save water some more... why go toilet? We call this kinda like a recycle way.... :)

satria_95 said:

dont you know our country is ruled by parliament democracy? in other words, we have been living so long on our own earth, i know our government sometimes dont do thing rite, (dont mention abt other thing), but so far.. this system some how do works, n it bring peace to our country as well. so no point judging our country's ruling system lor.. democracy system is always the best, freedom to speak.

yes, i do agree with u there, we cant fights mother nature, pracautions only to be taken now.

Spray water infront of ur house basically would not make any rain. The clouds need alot alot of water in order to rain. Yes..the water infront of ur house will evaporate..but it wont be sufficient to make any rain. And b4 the vapour starts to "fly" up to the sky..the haze already blocked the vapour n turn it into..mayb..acid vapour?hehe...anyway..im toking crap..so early woke up..c outside still so hazzy..i think after 11 would be worst...my throat n eyes GONE..

there's awareness to ask all penangites to save water...i wonder if da haze effect like kl n klang...wat can we actually do?da gov only knw hw ot tell ppl to save this,save dat...inflation la...petrol increase la...ferry fare increase la...must punch card on time la...
:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: STUPID!!!!!! :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

satria_95 said:

will panasonic Puritee O2 help in this case?
Hope that panasonic will come out new model for "Anti-Haze" model.
(for sure "Anti-Haze" will sell like hot cake in Malaysia)

can we install air filter in our car? just to have a better air quality in our car?
how much and what model is good?

satria_95, i stay at condo, no place to spray :)

well for those who can afford to leave kl..please do..
pack your bags..and just go over to other state for the weekend..

bikinigal said:
there's awareness to ask all penangites to save water...i wonder if da haze effect like kl n klang...wat can we actually do?da gov only knw hw ot tell ppl to save this,save dat...inflation la...petrol increase la...ferry fare increase la...must punch card on time la...
:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: STUPID!!!!!! :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

save water? err..where u get this info from?
newspaper?..
heard penang has been extra hot these few days..

bikinigal said:

Girl..... Girl... cool down... topic now is abt haze... dun pull in other thread.. :biggrin: i thought penang rain this morning?