Heap Light On, RPM Drops !!

battery function is only to start engine. then its up to the alternator to produce enough electricity to power up all the different units in the car. Eg. lights, radio, a/c comp, wiper, window and etc. Unless u've replaced the alternator for a less-than-original spec alternator into your car, then your car's electrical needs are FULLY avai. For original cars, electrical current is never pulled directly from the battery, unless you've modded it before by installing an extra power cable bridging the alternator with the battery. this is not advised as it will overload the alternator and the lifetime of it would be reduced.
headlight needs current to power up, that's why it'll load up on the alternator. but when it does this, the TB sensor is supposed to recognize it and increase idling speed to compensate for extra load(notice that timing belt is connected to alternator ). When it fails to do this, then the alternator would be working VERY hard to power your headlights affecting your idling speed. the reason why you're experiencing decrease in idling for only the headlights is because contained therein the TB sensor includes responses for a variety of units Eg. power steering, aircond, headlights, brake servo. however, unfortunately you must replace the entire sensor instead of pinpointing the exact defaulted function (in your case the headlights).
what you can do is to ask ur mechanic to run a simple test. Dislodge the socket from the TB sensor and run your headlights. if problem persists, then it's not the sensor. BUT if problem vanishes, then jackpot !
TB sensor for Mitsu engines are easily avai (i was told) in chopshops. Reason is because the sensor itself can be taken out and sold separately without the TB. I was unfortunate coz Mazda TB sensors are one-piece with the TB and i had to buy the whole thing. It costs me a good RM400 thereabouts. I assume that since you're only looking for the sensor, it'll cost less than that.
Don't worry, your problem is common in many cars and if you google TB sensor+idling speed+headlights then you might find more interesting information.
Above all, HAPPY HUNTING !

Wow....Damn Good Answer you have there, TQ TQ TQ & Muak~~~!! hahahaha...

Damn clear & very detail answer there :>

Finally clear my doubt!! I'll try it out tomorrow.

Will feed back later. Hope what u say does work.

On 2nd thought, if the sensor (any sensor) faulty already, wouldn't when plug in a hand held dignostic kit (hand held PDA look-a-like gadget) into ECU (plug in point located below steering, close to bonet open switch) , can tell that its (any faulty sensor, if there is one) faulty?

I have tried this tuning services 3 weeks ago try to cure this problem, but it doesn't show anything faulty though...Why ar?

Just trying to help bro.
i'm not really sure how those diagnostics ecu work. When i had the problem, it also did not show any fault. i guess its becoz the sensor itself has not spoilt COMPLETELY, jst one of the functions (my best theory).
anyways, the test is simple enuf to determine if the sensors are really kaput, good luck

Wah..a simple quest turns out to be disasterous..

Disconnect the TB sensor, then start engine, suddenly engine rev up & down, sounds like as if the TB gear broken. So dismantle TB & check: found no gear broken. All sit in nicely & no freeplay. Weird, so service it & put it back, still rev up & down.......what the heck is wrong????....:S

So went down to car chop shop to buy 2nd hand TB gear (all black color, ori is white color) fr Japan car, found the right size, bought all those plastic gears & parts (all in 5 pcs) and change it to my TB.

Then its back to normal.

Again, still dunno what procedure or parts that went wrong, all those ori parts also didn't crack......:< Just add another X-file of my car.

End of the day, shix! forgotten to check head light when diamantle TB sensor!! arhhhh.......me damn forgotten mind.....

Bro. Hav u cek ur fuel filter ad? My ride is a 1.6, So m not sure ur 1.5 has a fuel filter.

is the headlight problem still there ?
when u connect back the sensor, things should go back to normal. Since it didn't, then there should be a problem with the sensor already (also evidenced by 2nd hand sensor that you bought).
by the way, did you bring your car to a workshop ? or did you do it yourself ?

jtys said:
Bro. Hav u cek ur fuel filter ad? My ride is a 1.6, So m not sure ur 1.5 has a fuel filter.

Thank, bro.

I changed my fuel filter not too long ago. Like 2 mths only.

Yes. car with even samller cc like kancil will aslo have fuel filter. But what has fuel filter got to do with RPM which seems only affected by head light (w/o a/cond on)?

Can explain how & why you suspect its fuel filter?

tonytony said:
is the headlight problem still there ?

Head light problem is still there (after change to those 2nd TB gears, 5pcs all in)

tonytony said:
when u connect back the sensor, things should go back to normal. Since it didn't, then there should be a problem with the sensor already (also evidenced by 2nd hand sensor that you bought).

After rev up/down started, i immeadiately connect back the TB sensor (actually connect back the power supply cable, i suppose, to the sensor), but still rev up & down....thats why the 2nd hand TB gear replacement.....

tonytony said:
by the way, did you bring your car to a workshop ? or did you do it yourself ?

I bring it to workshop for normal service & had the mech to carry out the job as well. Really weird things....i oversee the whole service & checking procedure there....things look normal but still weird things happens.....

Thank goodness those 5 pcs plastic gear cost me only rm50 (+ labor). Initially I thought the TB is gone case liao, since it has been cleaned, greased & nothing cracks....

but still have not yet check if disconnect TB sensor cable, will head light distort RPM or not.

haha, now i a bit scared scared liao, afraid if do the testing, the TB might give me any more problem like that....

hehheeh, sounds like it was quite an experience. looks like the headlight problem isn't due to the TB sensor if the problem still persists.
don't worry, take ur time to fix the problem, maybe seek another mechanic's suggestion

din have any experience with the fuel filter though, not sure why jtys suggested it.

Thanks bro :>

I will test it again this friday.

One thing i forgot to add: after changed to those used TB gears, i feel a fair bit of jerk when doing sudden accelerate on 40kmh above....

This is TB problem too?

Any explanation for it?

Hi. Jus trying 2 help. D prob I experienced b4 was dat wile idling sumtimes mati engine. So I cek wit my mech, replaced fuel filter n was fine. Was tinkin maybe if filter was cloged; wen sensor start 2 triger d compensate wud cos rpm 2 drop. Maybe m wrong....sori.
Anyway, currently m goin thru quite similiar prob like urs. But not so much rpm up & down. Mine takes bout 5-7 secs 4 tb 2 compensate wen a/con kicks in. TB is new(hol set; gear+isv mitsu), alternator is new, fuel filter is new.....was using adjustable fpr now replace back my ori fpr oso same. Duno wats hapening....got headache.:confused_smile:

siangmh said:
Thanks bro :>

I will test it again this friday.

One thing i forgot to add: after changed to those used TB gears, i feel a fair bit of jerk when doing sudden accelerate on 40kmh above....

This is TB problem too?

Any explanation for it?

hmm....maybe cek all ur air/vacuum hoses. Prob sum worn out or leakage. Did u remove d hose fr ur top cover goin back in2 d air passage in2 tb & replace wit a breather? If so, try fitting dam back & c how.

Errr....me know not much about the TB/Vacumn hose.....damn...not enough knowledge, cant understand what u say, sorry.....

But everything is as per original condition, no mods in piping/hose/bypass.....

O ok. Pls dun refer me s a sifu or anytin like dat. Me 2 hav got lots 2 learn. Jus sharing & helpin. Ok bout d hoses......jus look out 4 d ones btw 6-12 mm in diameter size. Cek 2 c if dey r in tact or worn out. May be dis wud help.

siang,
jerk as in lost of power ?

jtys,
did ur mechanic do an ecu resetting after replacing the TB sensor ? also another thing that my mechanic did was to reset the idling angle (via a palm device unit).