help me out pls about turbin

wws_86

hey ppl help me out please
i'm driving 4g93t

thinking of changing turbin

hello ppl
just wondering is Garrett AR80 turbin from SR20 smaller than TD05??

but from what i heard is the Air Ratio for Garrett AR80 is bigger than TD05 is it true??

most ppl tend to look at the size of the fins TD05 is bigger but how come the Air Ratio is small than Garrett AR80??

a foreman told me the AR80 its smaller than TD05 but slightly bigger than TD04 is it true??

another foreman told me that the AR80 can tahan longer in high boost compare to TD05, i dun get it if TD05 is bigger why the Air Ratio is smaller??? and also cannot tahan???

any sifu please help me out kind of confuse with TD05 with Garrett AR80

i wanna know which is better...

thank you so much

sorry for this stupid question...

stock SR20 using garret A/R 80 ke??i don know much about turbo size and i only
know Honeywell garret A/R 70 is very big ones.don flame me pls..hehe

Grixism said:
sorry for this stupid question...

stock SR20 using garret A/R 80 ke??i don know much about turbo size and i only
know Honeywell garret A/R 70 is very big ones.don flame me pls..hehe

A/R is the ratio of Area(mm^2) / Radius of the turbine , so it can happen that a small turbine can have same A/R ratio with the big turbine , you should consider it with the turbine blade diameter as well to determine which turbine is bigger .

Just plonk in the TD05H for easy installation. Dont have to redo piping and exhaust mah...

AlucarD said:
Just plonk in the TD05H for easy installation. Dont have to redo piping and exhaust mah...

true...
and get the twin blade TD05H from the evo3... its the best for a gsr... lag not too bad and power is good... very good... :biggrin:

yup.. A/R cannot determine the power of a certain turbine...
to determine the power, u'll need to calculate the trim...

here's a good article to give u better examples...

http://www.turbominivan.com/tech/turbo201.htm

stroker_kit said:
yup.. A/R cannot determine the power of a certain turbine...
to determine the power, u'll need to calculate the trim...

here's a good article to give u better examples...

http://www.turbominivan.com/tech/turbo201.htm

i can't access the page, but thanks a lot dude!

Try to get Garrett GT28 turbine. There are other things to consider when switching to a bigger turbine. You have to change your fuel injectors, fuel pump and exhaust system. I saw a GTI with a 4G93T doing about 290bhp on dyno at GT Auto. But then its up to you. In my opinion get ball-bearing turbines.

LOL.. you forgot to mention that crazy SGti has a Haltech, Sard 800cc injectors and fuel pump. Support 1.4bar. Really nice Dyno chart. Torque starts to climb at 2.5krpm and all the way up till cut... DanG!!

AlucarD said:
LOL.. you forgot to mention that crazy SGti has a Haltech, Sard 800cc injectors and fuel pump. Support 1.4bar. Really nice Dyno chart. Torque starts to climb at 2.5krpm and all the way up till cut... DanG!!

I didn't know about the Haltech. Heard the fuel pump was a Walbro 255 fuel pump. Hardly hear of 1.8GSR going up to 1.4bar.

a friend of mine driving 4g93t, using tdo5 twin fin match with tdo5 single fin back housing, can fly already without any problem.

thank alot everyone
should have enough info for me to decide liow
thank you

i like the sound of that gti 290 horse
hahaha