Help Needed With Datsun 510

Hi leros,

Is it Datsun SSS 1600 that your ride? If that car, damn dawg... it's cool man!... I've trying looking every where in Penang Island to find this kind of car but still failed.. sob..sob.. I found 3 cars but all the owner don't want to sell... Are you have any source in Penang about this car who might anyone want to sell it... Yo, bro.. got any pics of ur car? 2 0r 4 doors?

Hey there Leros, nice to know that we got a 510 owner in here. I just bought mine last December 04 and now going major bodywork and interior refurbishment. Not going to do any conversion yet because the car is running smoothly when I bought it from an otai in Kelantan.
Few old timers in Kelantan that I came to know are running 3S-GTE and one of em with an SR20 S13. The 3S is better because the owner mentioned to me that parts like knuckles, rotors, long shaft can easily modified to fit onto the Datsun while the SR takes major work to do so. I'm not really sure about CA18DE though...

Anyway... u might wanna refer to this article :
http://turbomagazine.com/features/tur0801a01_free/

It has 510 running a 13B Rotary (yum yum!)... which is a very hardcore modification. Hey... it's featured in Turbo Magazine anyway!

hi all.. ~
i from penang also..
wan to make a 'datsun gathering' someties? :D
it will be great to see some modified 510

u might wanna check out www.datsun.net , if i'm not mistaken... they've been converting 510 with lotsa engines... ;) very useful site... it's australian.

topui11 said:
u might wanna check out www.datsun.net , if i'm not mistaken... they've been converting 510 with lotsa engines... ;) very useful site... it's australian.
nissan sifu appears..ehhe..theres alots info regarding 510 compared with 120y..so sad bout that..

120y also got...
some japanese and taiwanese like to modify them..
there they refer the car as B310

i think 510 is popular around the world.. :D

Hello Guys, sorry for the late reply, Niss4speed, My 510 is NOT 1600, it is 1300 which i plan to upgrade the interior to a 1600. All i need it the complete dash ;-). And my 510 is the 4 door model, not sure of anyone planning their 510 though. Kopi, if you don't mind, can you please post the pics of your car where i can get idea for my project in planning. And do you think i can get parts of this car in Kelantan? If yes, where exactly. Thanks guys... Really appreciate it.

Hi Guys,
I would like to request if anyone have any idea on where parts for a 510 can be achieve, please post it here as it is not only beneficial to me but also to all the other 510 owner out there. Thanks, cheers and regards.

sam1741 said:
hi all.. ~
i from penang also..
wan to make a 'datsun gathering' someties? :D
it will be great to see some modified 510

Which area r u in Penang? Are u drive the datsun SSS 1600?
Did u convert the engine yet? Increase the hp? or any modification that have been made?

Did everyone of Datto lovers notice that, in TV. The Proton Savvy iklan, there is a 510 beside the savvy. White color, before the destroy by monster that step on the car... Damn the monster. Kasi gua that car looo lagi bagus... What a waste... Check it out!! hahaha...

Hi niss4speed, my car oni engine change to 1.6, H/p i dunno. Others all standard. Hehehe.

Hi all, any one else with any info for parts. A few users have PMed me asking if i know any sources where they can get the rear lamp assembly. To all that have such info, please post it here instead of leaving me a PM as this will definitely benefit all other users as well who are interested. For those who have completed restoring or working on their 510, please give your feed back, advise, suggestion on anything that you think will be helpful to us. Last but not least, i hope this thread will be a new beginning for all those sad 510, let bring the legend back. Cheers and regards. :)

Rear lights are pretty hard to get... for those who's looking for the lighting units, it's better u bring the light part to spare part shop and ask them to find for you. I got mine from a wasted 510... Most of the remaining parts are fabricated or rebuilt. Lucky the bumper is solid steel so can be reshape back to original condition. Till this day, still on bodyworks. Already 4 months and counting. The otai with the CA18 inside took more than 1 year to get the car on the road... *sigh*

Dear leros.. I'll try to find some sourse from here about the spare parts of this 510 model. I've heard some of my friend know some pomen modified old cars. If I get anything, I'll info 2 u bro..

Kopi...Hope your car will be ready soon, please also post any pics that you have if you don't mind :) . And niss4speed, i appreciate your effort. Thanks guys.

I've just call the bodyworks guy. He's having difficulty trying to get hold of door rubber lining. He has just done patch up work. Mebbe need to use rubber lining from other model. Think the car should be more original with British Racing Green or Fiery Red (Maranello Red)... but two tones (metallic dark blue n metallic white... front / back) )is also cool... arghhhhh... decisions decisions... the brader oso already asking what colour I want... sorry... dun hav any pics yet. Going back to K'tan this end of July. We'll see if I can get any digital cam back.

Hi Kopi, you are getting your car fixed in kelantan? Well the color seems to be great well its up to you to see what you would like best. About the door rubber, i had once heard that some one is selling the whole rubber kit for a 510 for somewhere around RM 900 but not too sure where though. He seems to be exporting it out. But if you managed to get a better option, please post the solution. Good luck. Cheers and Regards.

niss4speed said:
Which area r u in Penang? Are u drive the datsun SSS 1600?
Did u convert the engine yet? Increase the hp? or any modification that have been made?
hi~
i not drive sss la.. (but i wish to have one... maybe in the future)

i drive 120y
upgrade to A15 engine (still no power)

I was wondering if anyone had ever did sound proofing to their ride, if you did, what you did. I have heard some people pouring bitumen to their floor for sound proofing. Anyone have any comments and suggestion. Cheers and regards

leros said:
I was wondering if anyone had ever did sound proofing to their ride, if you did, what you did. I have heard some people pouring bitumen to their floor for sound proofing. Anyone have any comments and suggestion. Cheers and regards

bitumen eh ? thought they do that for rust proofing. damn heavy material tho. worth a shot if u don't mind extra weight. :)