High Intensity Discharge / Xenon kits

lekalo

HELO! Mebbe ppl have asked this already, but I don't have much time at the moment. I wanna to enquire with the pros about the our Road Transport Department's (RTD / JPJ) rulings on HID's. I have several questions, as I'm interested in getting a set:

1) What colour tempreature (K) is within the RTD's allowed limits?
2) In Malaysia, are there any limits to HID colour temp. in the first place? I don't want to spend a lot of money, and then get pulled over at a road-block just because they are deemed "too bright" or something.

3) What is the price range of the xenon kits available here???? Veli important!

4) Can I maintain the operation of the Low, Normal and Hi beams?

Pls, to all those knowledgeable abt these things, reply ya?
10Q!

lekalo said:
HELO! Mebbe ppl have asked this already, but I don't have much time at the moment. I wanna to enquire with the pros about the our Road Transport Department's (RTD / JPJ) rulings on HID's. I have several questions, as I'm interested in getting a set:

1) What colour tempreature (K) is within the RTD's allowed limits?
2) In Malaysia, are there any limits to HID colour temp. in the first place? I don't want to spend a lot of money, and then get pulled over at a road-block just because they are deemed "too bright" or something.

3) What is the price range of the xenon kits available here???? Veli important!

4) Can I maintain the operation of the Low, Normal and Hi beams?

Pls, to all those knowledgeable abt these things, reply ya?
10Q!

low n high beam is available if ur HID kit has hi/low beam....if u buy those rm599++ those only has low beam..no highh beam.......hi/low beam usuaaly rm1K++

HID with 4300K only acceptable by jpj....more than tat has to try ur luck...anyway...u drive local/japan/korean/european car??? for local better use 4300k nia......

only 4300K ke?

Hai huakenny,

Hey thanx for the info. Yes, I'm driving a local car. Means if got road-block, JPJ or polis, I have am at risk of kena saman if the Kelvin is abv. 4,300K?
But the Kelvin rating is only for light colour, as all HID's are supposed to be the same brightness. Nevertheless, the BRIGHTNESS of the HID is what that counts is it?

kelvin is d brightness i think...n the higher the kelvin..the color is differ......4300k is yellowish so it is approved.....

then like shit la rite the color? Might as well use normal bulb. But how can they saman. The product supposedly offers greater road safety where the driver can see clearer!
Ok, in some instances I do get annoyed when the oncoming car has these cool looking white/purplish bright HID lights. Is this the reason why we can't go higher than 4,300K unless yr car is already equipped with Xenon lighting? which brings me to my next question:
Y la local car cannot retrofit these systems? And then, why allow to sell the high K kits in M'sia? I dun understand la. Can clarify further ke?

I'm using 4350k retroffited, taken from toyota estima. No problems with police roadblock/jpj till now. But I lowered the beam a bit to avoid the annoying glare because proton headlamp is not designed to use HID

Dremel said:
I'm using 4350k retroffited, taken from toyota estima. No problems with police roadblock/jpj till now. But I lowered the beam a bit to avoid the annoying glare because proton headlamp is not designed to use HID

I want! I want! How much does it cost you?

I bought from a forumer here around 6 months ago. Unfortunately I forgot his nickname. It costs me RM700-800 but I see some ppl selling it a lot cheaper now

if im not mistaken if u want to fit in HID, it is better to use Projector headlites as it will not glares into oncoming cars. btw lekalo, get those ranging 8000k or 10000k le, looks cool though, but for JPJ to stop u is another question. if u got stopped den it is faithed already. if ur car got other illegal mods, might as well make it all illegal, cus no matter wht they will still stop u. get wht i mean.? hehe..and i dun think it is legal anyway to fit in HID to our local cars, unless we r imported ones, eg: 4WD axle, illegal to fit into our local cars. so do HID i guess, but if ur getting those 4300k (Yellow) might as well stick back to ur own halogen bulbs which produces the same colour. whts the point rite? only thing is clearer and further viewing.

True, reflector headlights spread the beam all over the place.. LOL.. no solution for now as I have to live with it. Btw i saw a forumer selling a set of projector headlights for satria/putra/wira. I guess you can give it a try.

Spoke to AURA...

Heyy.. thanks 4 all yr replies!
I spoke to Aura Malaysia's representative on the phone just now. They're very helpful! And they've even offered to try setup a viewing of a customer's satria which supposedly has 10,000K HIDs fitted! oooo.. INTERESTING!!:D
But prices aren't cheap tho. Hi & lo beam kits cost abt RM2,000+.. without installation ok?And with the risk of getting tahan-ned, aiyerr.. I think very hard lah, us local car drivers.

Hai, GSR5559 my ol fren.. basket la u.. I no more geng turbo with u la. Retired already. Now I N/A boy! The REAL yin chong!!! ehehehehehe! Illegal?? What's that? I thot illegal was a sick bird!