HKS EVC VI + HKS Easy Writer

kennethfong

Hi all,

Does anyone know what the heck is the function for HKS easy writer? accordingly it says it could fine tune the HKS EVC but what kind of fine tuning??

Also does anyone know how to really use this device, seems complicated to me, and the boost setting, which is the best to follow? RPM? Throttle? Speedo? or RPM + Speedo or RPM + Throtle or bla bla so many types of setting, which one gives the best result?

Also the scramble boost feature, i know there's a built-in switch, but i'm thinking of attaching the external switch else where so what kind of external switch if i wanna install one beside the steering? izzit a quick release press on or the switch should be able to hold?

thanks!

hi hi, nobody knows?? oso if i set my boost to 1 bar, can't really drive, the wheel is spinning like nobody's business, anyone?

do u installed yourself bro?

if done by other installer, u shud ask him how aaa

but don't worry. u've got the best boost controller AFAIK! once u know it phew.

me just planning to install next month.

keep us updated!

rcross7,

haha asked my mech to install for me, but although it's a new product, the installation is still the same like EVC V, it's just that the function and the settings are a bit keplapening.... n did call N1 who sold to item to me, u know wat they said? ooh that the 6 pin socket behind (3 sockets, one main harness, one external switch, another one is the 6 pin connector) is used for HKS FCon Vpro, n i checked the internet it's actually for use with notebook programming function to fine tune the setting, maybe that answer was from N1's sales dept and not technical.... i dun wanna spend extra to buy that socket n software just to find out wat does it do?? haha...

i do find that the KPA unit reading has loads of difference with my megasquirt reading (which i can read when i plug in my notebook) so now i use back PSI hehe, even with PSI reading, it's different with my Apexi Boost meter, if i set 14.5 PSI for my EVC max boost it should be 1 bar, but when i accelerate on the road, i'm seeing 1.1 close to 1.2 bar, damn....

if i set 14.5 PSI for my EVC max boost it should be 1 bar, but when i accelerate on the road, i'm seeing 1.1 close to 1.2 bar, damn....

bro, i suspect it's boost spike but that is intermittent,
normally boost figure shud be set/known when running 4th/5th gear to get the real one (i think u know this)

hmm EVC VI + Easy Writer + Fcon V pro.... yummy!!

btw, what car's yours bro? me caldina GT4

btw, I'm a bit new to this... electronics. real experiences comes from friend's car hehooo! pls enlighten

thanz for the advice, me using Convert Mitsu GSR, i know there's an offset adjustment function to fine tune the accuracy, however for now i just reduce the max boost, now i'm getting an accurate 1 bar acceleration... hehe....

yo bro,

no no, the HKS easy writer is a separate item to purchase, it's not bundled.... bought the EVC VI for RM 1650....

i've bought so many things via ebay US, UK and Malaysia, it's all OK, for availability of things i'm looking for, it's usually available in US / UK, nothing found in Malaysia, but the price is a killer coz it's in USD or Sterling Pounds, and still for that we haven't looked into customs tax declaration and freight and insurance.....

i mean my point is, not worth it-lar buying from US or UK, last i checked the price for EVC VI goes to around USD 500, and if u multiply 3.5, it's more expensive, that's without the delivery n customs yet....

wat is easy writter?

The latest HKS EVC Boost Controller (45003-AK005) has new advanced features such as boost pressure correction mapping so boost levels can be fine tuned for various engine and vehicle dynamics. The EVC Easy Writer software allows tuners the ability to setup and monitor these new advance features of the EVC via a laptop computer.

Main Easy Writer Controllable Settings

-Boost Pressure Correction Mapping:
Viewed in 3-Dimensional Graphs and 5x5 Maps, boost pressure can be fine tuned for: RPM, Vehicle Speed, Throttle Position, RPM + Throttle Position, or Speed + Throttle Position.

-Map Function ON/OFF (whether to use a boost pressure correction map), choice of which correction map to use.

-Target Boost Setting

-Scramble boost level and duration

-Bar Graph display settings:
A-Mode and B-Mode boost level, Vehicle Speed, RPM and Throttle PositionBar Graph Peak Function ON/OFF and Peak Level

-Boost correction level

-Offset value

-Offset map setting value input

-Measure of Unit (kPA or PSI)

-After-Image Function ON/OFF (If a change from positive atmospheric pressure to negative atmospheric pressure occurs, the peak positive boost value will be displayed)

-Sampling time setting (boost monitoring in a period)

-Boost warning function ON/OFF and warning level

-Drop boost function ON/OFF and drop level (when boost reaches the warning value, boost pressure will drop a user preset level)

-Display backlight brightness setting

bro kenny. pls give an example...

say... if i wanna maintain 1.1bar boost from 3000rpm until 6500rpm, can it be done?

or can we set the boost to increase from 2000rpm= 0.6bar, 3000rpm=0.8 bar,
4000rpm=1.1bar all the way to red(7000rpm)?

and lastly, EVC use stepper motor to control wastegate opening right?