Honda EK serial number

Enthusiast

Hellow to peeps here in the honda forum. i am getting ready to buy this ej6 4 door with b18c-r, but am having some doubts. The metal plate in front of the engine bay containing the serial number for example ek-3, ej-6, ej-7, is missing. What does this imply?

Example of the metal plate :

http://img117.imageshack.us/img117/6540/ekengine0wv.jpg

The car i'm buying, the metal plate issit missing? anything wrong with it?

http://img421.imageshack.us/img421/1872/ekengineemptyzq.jpg

can the honda sifus over here advise me over this?

thanx hope to hear a reply asap as the deal is soon.

mayb owner when did engine transplant or painting he took off the plate and forgot to put it back kot....anyway, if i'm not mistaken, the serial number is also engraved at the firewall, sumwher in the middle...check it out...if it's ther, compare with the documents....

Enthusiast said:
Hellow to peeps here in the honda forum. i am getting ready to buy this ej6 4 door with b18c-r, but am having some doubts. The metal plate in front of the engine bay containing the serial number for example ek-3, ej-6, ej-7, is missing. What does this imply?

Example of the metal plate :

http://img117.imageshack.us/img117/6540/ekengine0wv.jpg

The car i'm buying, the metal plate issit missing? anything wrong with it?

http://img421.imageshack.us/img421/1872/ekengineempty9zq.jpg

can the honda sifus over here advise me over this?

thanx hope to hear a reply asap as the deal is soon.

Could it be the car involved in an accident and break the front panel lor....

yeah maybe the owner took off the metal plate for the paint job or maybe oso involved in accident. but nothing wrong if dun have that plate since the engine no. written at block n chasis no on chasis.
its just like a school nametag.. hehe

he..he...or he simply dun want to put the locally assemble red tags... prefer blue instead..he..he.. btw, congrates bro...EJ with B18CR roccckkkkssss!

http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e184/melvtec/ekengine0wv.jpg
i think u can look at this area..

Oderf said:
he..he...or he simply dun want to put the locally assemble red tags... prefer blue instead..he..he.. btw, congrates bro...EJ with B18CR roccckkkkssss!

hahah thanx bro....the car has some parts to be changed tho. rims definitely need to go +_+ do u think racing sparco would look nice on it? the one with white colour spokes and red colour lips!

if ur unsure abt d chasis,can always send 4 a PUSPAKOM inspection..if d owner reluctant,u kinda know sumthg is wrong w it,right?.....
i wudn't really bother too much abt d tag.i'd b more worried abt d engine if i were u...how sure r u dat its a B18CR?i'm saying dis coz my fren got con once...bought an EK 2dr,claimed B18CR inside..in d end,found out its a rojak B18C GSR w B16A head.....
i think Type-R head is P73,right?GSR is P72.....better look out 4 dis rather thn concentrate too much on d tag..but of course,i'd b worried abt d tag too coz usually indicates sumthg has been done on d radaitor panel....
just my 2 sens....hope i din offend any1..

yes u rite. there is so many way ppl can cheat u on the head. its hard to identify it fr external view. but it can.
normally p72 is for b18c gsr.
b18c gsr block oso can be punched with b18cr engine no. or maybe without puching the engine no the seller oso can claim that the engine is b18cr if the buyer have no idea on how to differentiate it.
but there is a way to identify it.
just be carefull and ask someone expert to identify it for u.

yes yes...sum more d engine num....B18CR's start w B18C-19XXXXX(96spec),right?dis is wat i was told whn i was looking 4 an ITR last time.....d newer B18CRs will have num like B18C-2XXXXX
correct me if i'm wrong...

i see i see
the engine was transplanted during year 99.....means the engine code would be??
p73 something something 1999xxxxxxxx something something?
any correct arrangement of the engine code?
so it has to be p73 rite?

akuma said:
yes yes...sum more d engine num....B18CR's start w B18C-19XXXXX(96spec),right?dis is wat i was told whn i was looking 4 an ITR last time.....d newer B18CRs will have num like B18C-2XXXXX
correct me if i'm wrong...

thats rite.
n to differentiate normal b18c block with type r one is above the engine no.
got one word. b18c gsr/b16a all with 'A' n type r with 'Y'...

coz i can see 'Y' fr harpoon's engine.... hehe

d engine cud frm a 96spec or even a 98spec IRT halfcut....doesn't mean its changed in d yr 1999,d halfcut is also a 99 halfcut,right?anyway,d engine num MUST start w B18C-19XXXXX.......anythg below is GSR,confirm.....

"b18c gsr/b16a all with 'A' n type r with 'Y'..."--->now dis is new 2 me...care 2 explain further?whr 2 c d "A" n "Y"?.....above d engine num?whr got?any example or pics?
thx

b16a block...
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b159/hattech/Temp/b16ablock.jpg

b16b block
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b159/hattech/Temp/b16bblock.jpg

wow....i never realised dis...mine is "A"...so sad..no type r under my hood.....
got any exampla btween B18CR n B18C GSR????

thanx so much guys....but i think i've been officially conned.....the deal was on this morning. but i only saw the pictures u guys posted now....
the engine there doesn't have A nor Y....its juz blank....i think something must've been done on it.....and the engine serial number is....b18c 1104232..........does it mean that this engine is confirmed a gsr already based on the serial number?
...............:confused_smile: