Honda Ek

MohdRidhwan

Hey there,
Im thinking about buying a Ek either hatchback or the 4 doors or other cars that im not sure yet..havent decide it yet. Im still a student. Is it worth buying it with the fuel price gone crazy and the spare parts? when buying 2nd hand cars...what should i beware of?

seems like you have no idea of what you want and what to do if you really make up your mind. Get yourself a motortrader and start to do research from there, there is a write on how to choose and what to be awared of when buying used car. Calculate your budget, then find cars that fall into that budget, then choose from the list.

The Civic is indeed a good buy. I got a 2nd hand EJ last year and i'm enjoying the ride. The stock standard performance is pretty good enough to bring you some pleasure on the road and on the highway. Besides this car has got some good potential to be upgraded and its only a matter of money.

As for spare parts and servicing, yes i've got to admit that servicing the car is a little pricier than my old Sentra but thats partly because i go back to the Honda Service Centre for all servicing, except for items like absorber, springs, ICE upgrade and other small performance upgrade. At the moment, i'm even using their own Honda engine oil. But trust me, its a good drive and well worth the money you spent on servicing.

As for fuel consumption, i really don't understand why are there rumours saying Honda engines drink petrol. Trust me on this, IF you're an average driver who doesn't full throttle like 10 times a day and rev till VTEC range, there should not be a big issue over fuel consumption. Lets face it, you won't have good fuel consumption for whatever car you drive if you were to drive fast and accelerate like mad. One more point to note, a B16A pushes 180HP. Logically, a high horsepower engine WILL definitely burn more fuel thus the higher fuel consumption. Bear in mind, this is only a 1.6 litre engine. Try comparing with another 2.0 or 2.4 litre engine that churns out 180HP and see if you can get back the same fuel consumption.

Just to let you guys now, my company gives us a petrol card and by the end of every month, we have a statement on how much petrol we use and all those statistics calculations. Believe me, i've compared my consumption with all my colleagues who drive Iswara, Wira and Altis, and my car gives the best fuel efficiency and highest KM/LITRE. From the statement every month, i'm averaging RM 0.13/litre and that gives me about 12.46KM/litre. My colleague wira only giving them about 10.9/litre and some even 10.2/litre. Maybe its my driving style coz i don't normally drive that fast when i'm on time and maybe i'll hit VTEC only like 2 or 3 times per week. But what i'm trying to say here is that Honda engines are probably one of the most petrol efficient cars so don't be worried that they'll milk you wallet dry.

Thanks prodigy! Im reallly interested for the ek9. I wont be modifiying alot.

@Hikaru, Ive been searching at MotorTrader. I havent decide it yet coz my dad dont want me to buy 2nd hand cars.

The EK9 is actually a very good buy. Good engine power and great looks but unfortunately, buying an original 2nd hand unit is as hard as buying a Mitsubishi Evo 6 TME. There are lots of converted ones but the original ones are too hard to find and people who own them actually keep these cars for their own use. As it is, even the original EK4's are so rare so lets not even talk about EK9. One more thing, even if you're able to find one, the asking price is quite high. You see not many people are willing to pay like RM80K for a 6 year old car. Do you think your dad will agree? Even my parents and friends said i was a little crazy to pay RM65K for a 6 year old car when i can get a spanking new Waja for close to that price. But then again, a Civic is still a Civic.

I'd suggest you go to for more humble Civic EJ's and these cars are plenty on the road. Its not hard to find a good condition EJ but you should get the EJ year 99 spec ones.

If your dad dont want to buy 2nd hand, u can consider the Satria R3. Have read very good reviews on them. But is it limited??

Guys, noob here.. Just a little off topic here, how do you tell from converted cars ? Say the car originally is a EK3 (1.5?) , but converted to EK4 (1.6 B16A?). I was told the chasis should have some kind of identification. What is it for a EK4 / EK9? Also, does the engine actually match the identification? Sorry, intending to buy one but never really did (previously all "kau tim" by parents, hehe)...

Cheers! :rolleyes:

@kikaider,I thought Satria R3 no more coz only 150 unit were made.

@prodigy, Is it good buying converted cars? yeah...how do u tell a car is converted? maybe the seller tipu u or what.The civic coupe also hard to find...saw only 1 in motor trader. How bout the EG? eg use B16A rite?

MohdRidhwan said:
@kikaider,I thought Satria R3 no more coz only 150 unit were made.

@prodigy, Is it good buying converted cars? yeah...how do u tell a car is converted? maybe the seller tipu u or what.The civic coupe also hard to find...saw only 1 in motor trader. How bout the EG? eg use B16A rite?

Damn alot of post regarding chasis codes and engine codes already wei!! Please back track the previous posts man. Sure can find.

EK4 1.6 DOHC VTEC - B16A
EK9 1.6 DOHC VTEC Type R - B16B

prodigy said:
One more point to note, a B16A pushes 180HP. Logically, a high horsepower engine WILL definitely burn more fuel thus the higher fuel consumption. Bear in mind, this is only a 1.6 litre engine. Try comparing with another 2.0 or 2.4 litre engine that churns out 180HP and see if you can get back the same fuel consumption.
B16A is either 160hp or 170hp... not 180hp
B16B does have 185hp

http://www.clubcivic.com/board/engine-codes.php
http://www.clubcivic.com/board/chassis-codes.php

B16A - 160HP

buy my car la, civic 4door, black. gold reflex tinting, b16 engine, 99 facelift, bla bla bla. rm52k nett. :D

kikaider said:
If your dad dont want to buy 2nd hand, u can consider the Satria R3. Have read very good reviews on them. But is it limited??
NOPE, you can still get it, my friend just got one last month frm Ampang dealer...

my sohc v went..zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz....