Hyundai Accent RX-S Advice needed!

well,moddin a wira to a mitsu isn't all that beng.

i myself dont like this car..good that u love ur car..
but wat we're commenting here is to discourage the person who started this thread frm buying this car.

aiyah.. well, some remarks here are alittle overboard... but then again, the scoop on the hood is also something that went overboard, for an accessory that came wit the car... heh heh heh...

i know that fr the marketing point of view, hyunday is selling accent as a model that successfully participated in the wrc... but... the cosmetic add-ons went alittle off target... in my oponion la...

hell yeah, its very beng car he he
you should know that the emblem RX-S are from the 80's Yamaha RX-S 115 cc, excactly the same emblem, please remove all the beng accessories, leave it as standard ACCENT......next what Accent RX-Z ????

zephyr3d said:
i know that fr the marketing point of view, hyunday is selling accent as a model that successfully participated in the wrc... but... the cosmetic add-ons went alittle off target... in my oponion la...
The only thing similar between the cooking Accent and the WRC Accent is the shell and the name.

The rally model is much better...

http://gamma.nic.fi/~globe/rally/paradise/pics/hyu_wrc4.jpg

Specs below:

http://gamma.nic.fi/~globe/rally/paradise/stat/car_wrc_accent.htm

Engine

No. cylinder: 4 in line
CC (x1.7 if turbocharged): 1998 (3397)
Bore / Stroke (mm): 84 / 90
Comp. Ratio: 9,2:1
Max.Power (bhp): 300
Max.Torque (kg/m): 55
Induction: Hyundai Pectel
Turbo: Garrett
No. Valves: 16
No. + Position Cams: 2 Overhead Camshaft

Transmission

Differential (Front-Central-Rear): Active-Active-Mechanical
Clutch (Manufacturer): Carbon (AP) 2 plate
Gearbox (Manufacturer): 6 speed sequential (Xtrac)

Brakes

Front / gravel: DV304
Front / asphalt: DV370
Rear / gravel: DV304
Rear / asphalt: DV355

Suspension (shock absorbers)

Front: MacPherson (Öhlins)
Rear: MacPherson (Öhlins)

Dimensions

Length (mm): 4200
Width (mm): 1770
Height (mm): 1332
Wheelbase (mm): 2440
Front track (mm): 1550
Rear track (mm): 1550
Weight (kg): 1230

Date 1st Homologation: 1.1.2000
1st Major Rally: Swedish Rally 2000
Debut: Accent WRC2: Portugal 2001
Debut: Accent WRC3: Corsica 2002
Debut: Accent WRC3.5: New Zealand 2003
Best WRC Result: 4th Australia 2000 (Eriksson) / 4th Great Britain 2001 (McRae)

si|verfish said:
Wow, a proud owner of an Accent RS-X. Good for you.

I'm glad that you're happy with it. But I still don't like it so I can say whatever I want. Yes, it is very "Beng", ugly, not very good to drive and the drivetrain is a bit asthmatic. You would have done a bit better if you have gotten the normal one without the dumb scoop and spoiler instead of this pointless version which wants to be sporty but isn't sporty at all.

The original poster here, ask for advise and PROS and CONS of the car. If you do not like the car, does not mean that everybody wil think the same like you. Bastering the make/model or the car is something should not be happen here.

About the scoop thing, i had ask the dealer to not include it, but heck it's there when i toke my car. :cry_smile:

I have not drive a really rally before, so i do not know what is good to drive and what is not. I feel comfortable n stable when driving my car now. it is stable during high speed( 160 km/h). no shaking or loud engine sound. If you would compare this car with PROTONG. I'll keep mine.

I don't think my car is any sporty. I only call Lambo, Ferrari, Lotus a sporty car. All mode from original design is ah beng. Certain Vios mod is nice but some are just also ah beng.

BTW, what car do you drive? toyota? honda? No matter what car you have, juz be proud of what you own.

Be neutral in giving up comment.

hmm.. whatz the point giving a comment if itz neutral? comment comes in their own opinion. One man's food is another man's poison.

proton may be a horrible piece of metal to some, but truely a wonderful car to other.

so same goes to accent... one may like it, but others hate it very much. Gotta take the comment.... itz the fact.

chejeff said:

wadda? there's no such thing. if every1 is neutral...the only comment u'll have is "i dont know" or "i dont give a fark"

and bro..we're not talking about proton...or "protong" as u call it
so dont start flaming other makes..

chejeff said:
The original poster here, ask for advise and PROS and CONS of the car. If you do not like the car, does not mean that everybody wil think the same like you. Bastering the make/model or the car is something should not be happen here.
What the hell are you talking about? You say that everyone thinks differently, and yet you lecture me about me giving my opinion. Geez. Make up your mind. Can or can we not have different opinions?

Anyway, it doesn't matter what you think because I think the Accent RX-S sucks. Don't like it? Sue me.

About the scoop thing, i had ask the dealer to not include it, but heck it's there when i toke my car. :cry_smile:
Then take it out yourself. Or why didn't you get the normal Accent.

I have not drive a really rally before, so i do not know what is good to drive and what is not. I feel comfortable n stable when driving my car now. it is stable during high speed( 160 km/h). no shaking or loud engine sound. If you would compare this car with PROTONG. I'll keep mine.
Whatever floats your boat.

I don't think my car is any sporty. I only call Lambo, Ferrari, Lotus a sporty car. All mode from original design is ah beng. Certain Vios mod is nice but some are just also ah beng.
Ummmm, no.

BTW, what car do you drive? toyota? honda? No matter what car you have, juz be proud of what you own.
If you are smart enough, you would be able to find that out easily. I know what are the good and bad points of my car. I'm proud of it because I own it. But I'm not going to think it's the greatest or believe it is something it isn't. I bought it because its what I can afford and it does what I want it to do. Fullstop. You don't like it that's ok with me.

Another weird comment. What do you mean by that? There will be people who like it, people who don't like it, or people who don't give a damn. I happen to belong to the group that doesn't like it. You have to learn to live with the fact that not everyone is going to like your car or agree with you.

ehehh when it first came out i tot to myself the driver have some weird/beng car cosmetic sense. then saw it on paper......omg.....:shocked:

chejeff said:
I am a Hyundai Accent RX-S owner since Nov 05. There is few point i would like to point out.

1. Accent is NOT the so call "ah beng" car. If u mention about ah beng, i believe that there is more ah beng who drive proton or perodua. wira mod aka mitsubishi? there is too many ah beng in town. diff ppl have diff taste. ppl who drive an wira mod to look alike with mitsu lancer feel proud with it.

i am a proud owner of my car. i am happy with it. if u dun like it , don't baster it. get honda or toyota or ferrari if u could afford it. no offence!!!

2. Being proton is better than hyundai(as posted by one of the poster) Please think again. after sales service? quality of car? ring any bell?

3. the selling price for hyundai accent rx-s (m) is about RM 71k. that's board rate. i received a discount of RM 7k so it makes it price at RM64k. yes i guess u all might said"oh, the car is not doing good in market so the dealer give discount to push sales. honestly i agree. it may be the case.

4. for hyundai prospect buyer. before buying any car there is certain things u need to think of before u make any decission

i: Ur budget - Get the best car u can with ur budget u can affort. get honda or civir or even porche is u could afford it.

ii: after sales service- will u receive the same treat/service before and after sales? i heard alot of complain from my friend who drive honda n toyota about the service given by their service centre. proton CS? no need to mention. ask around. hyundai?
iii: availbility of spare parts- no doubt honda and civic n proton spares parts are widely available. hyundai? costly and hard to get spare parts sometimes.

i drove honda city and vios (both auto) before. i still like my accent handling./ call me noob or stopid if u wan to. i love my accent.
hmmm... i believe the members that replied here are somewhat proud of their car, no one's condemning bout their own car... they are just voicing their opinion on ACCENT RS-X if u need a reminder.

and no.. i dont drive a m'sian car.. and neither a korean car. ;)

U the man silverfish... Nice. I really do feels that accent is not that termendous or one killer machine. Its horrible n uglier than my great 8x granfather's car or whatever. Just dump the bloody car n get a life by buying other car models. my 2 cents.:shades_smile:

just a gentle reminder....the NORMAL ACCENT is a DECENT lil car which we haf little to comment about....but the ACCENT RS-X5 ( they even add a 5 to it now, oh gosh) is one heck of a horrible looking car.....be neutral wif comment..??...haha, btw i see lotsa Jeremy Clarkson influence here when it comes to giving comments.....its good in a sense tat it provides some humour n entertainment.....its good in a sense tat ppl do voice out wat they think instead of being neutral n boring wif "Ok ler", "Not bad ler", "Boleh mah"......sienzzzzz

btw, i'm driving a proton n i do condemn it if its not good.....but i do try to improve it according to my liking.....n if (thank God i dun) i own an Accent RX-S, i'll remove all the damn silly, stupid, pointless kits n get down-to-earth wif da normal decent Accent.....*this oni applies to the ACCENT RX-S* ...coz some car's i've seen has been pretty decently bodykitted.....like the Spectra, Sentra just to name a few....

I previously own a satri gti and I really do love every inch and part of the car. Even with minor flaws "proton standart", but heck it still beautifull in the eye. Not like accent with big nose on top and weird name given "RX-S". what is that stands out for ? RX-S : " Really Xtreme Snail" or "Riddiculous Xpired Slut".:mouth_closed:

I think the bloody hell "For display only" fake scoop that you guys complain about. Or you guys actually thing that the so called "BENG STYLE" actually apply to spoiler, the side bodykits, the front bumper and rear bumper?

i seriously admit la..the b/kit was overdone la..has a very significant look like the imprezza scoop and a civic spoiler..