i just did my ground cable... share share

I have also seen a Wira with the grounding done in a reputabe workshop, using a reputable brand that claimed to up a DC5 by 7hp.

So the owner spent RM3** for something that dropped my jaw. Why?

Here's what the workshop did:
1. Connecting the engine head from one end to another end, that's all.
2. Firewall, left end to right end, that's all.

Other cables looked okay.

So what i can deduce from that was - he have got two extra cable that the technician have no idea where else to ground. So instead of asking the customer to keep the two cables (which he paid), he "mounted" them in the engne bay so that it looks nicer and the owner would perhaps more satisfied.

Showing his Wira around.. hey I have an 8-point ground.. wah! canggih the friends say.

So the feel good factor works so well huh?

Cheerz!!

c-ground said:
over kill meaning too many points lar.. shouldn't be any harm if properly done but the wallet gets thinner lor.. haha!!

In addition, too many points also means that the points are closer to each other. If the cables to 2 close points has a big different in length, this would increase the possibility of having a ground loop.

Ground loop means an instrument gets the power from 2 different source with voltage difference. Ground loop is the main cause of humming sound in the ICE. This will sometime cause incorrect signaling to the electronic instruments too.

but those driving EVOs and STis (opps!!) wouldn't mind to spend more right?

i mean like tis.........ground loop? tis is 8points...done at japan
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b95/huakenny/grounding.jpg

Yes I can see some loops there but this wouldn't create a big problem. Just that there's are a few redundant cables.

From what I see:

path 1: cable A - engine block - engine block
path 2: cable B - engine block - alternator
path 3: cable C - throttle body - firewall.

another two path, which we can't see, i guess would be from the battery to chassis (then splits to cable A, B, C), and battery to passenger side fender area.

For us, we would simplify it into:

path 1: cable A - engine block (front, second bolt)
path 2: cable B - engine block (rear, second bolt) - alternator
path 3: cable C - firewall

The othr two path will be as aforementioned.

So, in this car, path 2 is correct. But you don't need to ground the throttle body nor the intake manifold. As these parts has nothing to do with ignition. All the sensors has their own ground from the ECU. Jumping from bolt one to bolt two on the engine head is also redundant. See, I save 2 cables.

BTW, what cables are those? Look like some high voltage construction cables coz they looked pretty hard..

i dunno tat is wat cable lo...

if TB or intake manifold dun need to ground...how comes so many car ground ar? i dun wan mention who la...in zth got ppl sell n do it....

c-ground said:
Yes I can see some loops there but this wouldn't create a big problem. Just that there's are a few redundant cables.

From what I see:

path 1: cable A - engine block - engine block
path 2: cable B - engine block - alternator
path 3: cable C - throttle body - firewall.

another two path, which we can't see, i guess would be from the battery to chassis (then splits to cable A, B, C), and battery to passenger side fender area.

For us, we would simplify it into:

path 1: cable A - engine block (front, second bolt)
path 2: cable B - engine block (rear, second bolt) - alternator
path 3: cable C - firewall

The othr two path will be as aforementioned.

So, in this car, path 2 is correct. But you don't need to ground the throttle body nor the intake manifold. As these parts has nothing to do with ignition. All the sensors has their own ground from the ECU. Jumping from bolt one to bolt two on the engine head is also redundant. See, I save 2 cables.

BTW, what cables are those? Look like some high voltage construction cables coz they looked pretty hard..

Don't ask me why. I don't exactly know but i think they must have been confused with the tiny cable connecting the intake manifold and the firewall, which serves the purpose to ground the firewall instead of the manifold.

huakenny said:
C-ground,

other view of the photo...hehhe

The layout looks good, just a little bit messy and redundant. Workmanship needs to improve. Wrong type of cable used.

It's such a big burdent to the battery terminal clamp to have many cables connected to it. A block, or perhaps a distribution point on the chassis will be better.

c-ground said:
Don't ask me why. I don't exactly know but i think they must have been confused with the tiny cable connecting the intake manifold and the firewall, which serves the purpose to ground the firewall instead of the manifold.

but tat evo is done at japan...imposible japanese dunno how to ground...they came out this kind of grounding kit from their country..rite?

forget it...u headache oledi la...

huakenny said:
but tat evo is done at japan...imposible japanese dunno how to ground...they came out this kind of grounding kit from their country..rite?

forget it...u headache oledi la...

badminton originates from England and do you see them winning in the Thomas Cup?

All I can say is, the E3 is done by an amatuer, DIY kakis like us. Look at the heat shield of the open pod filter.. it's totally wrong!

c-ground said:
badminton originates from England and do you see them winning in the Thomas Cup?

All I can say is, the E3 is done by an amatuer, DIY kakis like us. Look at the heat shield of the open pod filter.. it's totally wrong!

different ma...one is sports activity n one is product....

i saw most japanese sport car wit tat kind of heatshield....or maybe he juz wat to prevent water going inside his filter from outside

because the bonet there got hole for evo3

huakenny said:
i saw most japanese sport car wit tat kind of heatshield....or maybe he juz wat to prevent water going inside his filter from outside

because the bonet there got hole for evo3

Probably. They don't need to bother about cold air intake since they have got an intercooler.

If this kind of shield is on a NA.. then it's very very wrong. ;)

I think we better introduce some 8-cables grounding kit to serve the appetite of some core heard believers then.. haha!!

c-ground said:
Okay.. we will introduce an 8-point grounding kit to satisfied the appetite of some core heard believers then. ;)

coz i see few cars oso more than 5points/6points....evo 8mr wit pink color grounding....7 or 8points.....forester 7points...etc

my 2 cents....but it depends on ur target market lo....coz some buyers might not need tat...hehe...

c-ground said:
so.. how's votech GK serve your ride? Okay?

erm.....maybe 1st time did subaru...so quite messy..hehehe...sorry saying tat...

but i re-ground it oledi....now look nicer...coz i hide it....if not very messy lo...Distri block i change place oledi....

i tel u my points...u corect me...folow my fren car one...

1.front radiator panel (done by votech)
2. left side absorber there (votech)
3.wiper motor there ( i add-on)
4. beside batery..left side bulk head..fender there (i add on)
5.alternator (votech)
6.lefi side engine block (votech)
7.right side engine block (i add it)
8.right side bulk head. (i add it)
9.intake system there (votech)

this gives me more response n my aircon directly can feel cooler n cooler.... no joke...

c-ground said:
Probably. They don't need to bother about cold air intake since they have got an intercooler.

If this kind of shield is on a NA.. then it's very very wrong. ;)

I think we better introduce some 8-cables grounding kit to serve the appetite of some core heard believers then.. haha!!

nola bro...got intercooler oso need CAI n HEATSHIELD

fc n power u can feel it...hehehe..dun talk tis la..out of topic

wah.. so many discussions in just a day... its good that c-ground has spoken...

aiyo.. u guys ah... dun take it so serious bout my "little" words la...

c-ground said:
huakenny,

Until I can get a full picture on your setup, it looks ok.

tis photo took at japan site...subaru sti version5..not bad o the grounding :)

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b95/huakenny/japantuned.jpg