i just did my ground cable... share share

c-ground said:
why this thread suddenly so quiet already?

All bz with the DIYs? Haha!!
yalo.. hehehehehe
after i DIY my vacuum gauge
only i realize.. the hard part not wiring,
the hard part not pulling the tube from the engine bay
but
the hardest part is i to DIY a stand for that gauge... :D :D

same like ground wire lar
after DIY only know.. the hardest part is not mount the wire to the "Y" lung
and not mount the wire to engine part
but hardest part is to make the connector to connect back to '-ve' of the battery.. :D :D

It won't be that hard if you connect only 2 cables from the battery. Then the rest of the cables spread from the primary ground points. :D

not forgetting to get a clean and neat layout also.. well, it's up to personal preference sometimes.

ya.. i saying..
sometimes before we start DIY we thought one thing is difficult
but turn out something we think is easy is the most difficult.. :D :D

did mine over there weekend..i oso did gearbox tapi extra bolt n nut needed..same as well with the alternator ka?extra bolt n nuts..i use 4GA AUDIO Cable(tht wat stated on the cable)..can i do like daisy chain type of grounding?like from bulk head(driver side) connect to engine cover?

drexchan said:
parallel cables gives you higher inductance, which defeated the purpose of grounding.

erm.... drexchan i think ur concept wrong.....:emoticon_U:

Basic Inductor's inductance calculation fomula is same with resistor:

Series: all inductor value plus together... ex: if 1 wire got 1H, series 2 same wire = 2H

Parallel: 1/Total inductance = 1/L1 + 1/L2 + .... 1/Ln
-> Total inductance = 1/(1/L1 + 1/L2 + .... 1/Ln)
ex: if u got 2 same wire (1H), total inductance = 0.5H

From above basic inductance calculation, we can clearly c that more wire "parallel" together, inductance no increase, but reduce....

Actually, grounding cable is same concept with "parallel" few wire....., grouding cable connect to chasis, engine cover, alternator (-) point, batter (-) point.... all start from ground and end at ground, if follow drexchan mention then we better dont use grounding cable at car ... coz -"higher inductance, which defeated the purpose of grounding"-:shades_smile:

hi, drexchan... no shot u la... just share wat i know.. coz my job everyday(except public holiday).. need to consider the signal quality and grounding.

tylaxng said:
erm.... drexchan i think ur concept wrong.....:emoticon_U:

Basic Inductor's inductance calculation fomula is same with resistor:

Series: all inductor value plus together... ex: if 1 wire got 1H, series 2 same wire = 2H

Parallel: 1/Total inductance = 1/L1 + 1/L2 + .... 1/Ln
-> Total inductance = 1/(1/L1 + 1/L2 + .... 1/Ln)
ex: if u got 2 same wire (1H), total inductance = 0.5H

From above basic inductance calculation, we can clearly c that more wire "parallel" together, inductance no increase, but reduce....

Actually, grounding cable is same concept with "parallel" few wire....., grouding cable connect to chasis, engine cover, alternator (-) point, batter (-) point.... all start from ground and end at ground, if follow drexchan mention then we better dont use grounding cable at car ... coz -"higher inductance, which defeated the purpose of grounding"-:shades_smile:

hi, drexchan... no shot u la... just share wat i know.. coz my job everyday(except public holiday).. need to consider the signal quality and grounding.
hahaha... i wonder why inductance fomula same with resistant? :D
so if in same case.. more parallel..
so means LESS inductance and also LESS resistant? wow.. same thing happened together.. where is the rest of the value go? :D

anyway anyone remember the physic lesson
about material, length and width effect on inductance?

haha... soli soli...

i didn't notice this is old topic liao....

It's my bad hobby liao.... anything relate electronic and wrong concept... i will post to correct it....

about the material, dimension, area... please check page 2 or 3, i think i already post the resistance relate with area and dimension fomula....

material: here i just consider "copper" onli.. so..
cable cross-section area big means less resistance and also inductance..
increase cable length means resistance and inductance increase.
(resistance fomula is same with inductance w/o consider frequency or consider frequency = infinity)

man... i thought
increase cable length = resistance increase, inductance decrease??

btw my english not good
inductance = how good the current flow through?

oic.. sorry sorry
i become blur blur already

what is inductnace?

wat is groundin actually for? i heard it actually will consume up yr battery box sooner?

was plannin to do groundin + volt stabiliser

anyone know where can i get the HKS grounding kit?

The property of inductance might be described as "when any piece of wire is wound into a coil form it forms an inductance which is the property of opposing any change in current". Alternatively it could be said "inductance is the property of a circuit by which energy is stored in the form of an electromagnetic field.

copy & paste lar.. lazy to type.

So, don't coil your cables.

to add..

if you want to pair 2 pieces of cable together.. make sure that they are tied as close to as possible instead of having a spacing with each other. Greater the distance between 2 cables, greater the inductance per length. And Inductance is the force to resist any change in current. So the end result will be less efficient grounding.

Infact, considering the insulator (skin) of the cable is 1.5mm thick.. 2 cables paired together will have a 3mm spacing already.