I LOVE my EG...

i'm using vtec semi syn oil,but planning to try motul for next service coz heard motul is gud hehe mine tappets sound a bit noisy tats y planning to use motul.....exhaust setup 2.3 inch piping straight flow(now i'm using std muffler coz of the summons i hv is for using the sports muffler haha)....damn so jealous when past other ppl cars with vrooom....vrroooom loud sound :mad:

khoo...i oso dunno the answer 2 yr question...better wait for some masters answer...but i think newuy when he say h22a...he talking about sv4 accord...cos is same year as our civics...

shah...mine oso year 92 leh n also 3rd owner(1st owner some japanese guy...then brought into malaysia recond....then me) when i bought mine it was owned by a datin...weekend car. most of time left in house oni. got it at 74k km millage oni at 11years old hehehhe

a little story....i went out this morning to meet some frens for breakfast then as i was going back...engine died off again as i was leaving the traffic light...coast to side of road n try re-start...2nd time this is happening...after half hour couldnt re-start called mech n found out was the distributor gone case....heres where it gets really painful...recond distributor costed me RM450!!!warranty baru get 1 month. workmanship rm50(im sure the distri was less than rm450...suspect about rm400 and the guy took rm100 since he came to me at roadside n went find the parts n install there n then)

i remember distributors werent so freaking exp for this model....anybody have any idea about this? nex week when i go back mlk i'm going to go check the price there...feel like kena con oni.

oil leak at bottom still not solved...went for underbody n engine wash just now to clear all the old oil leaks to find out where the leak(top suspect is from vtec valve - should be cheap fix and bottom should be the gasket) and fix it when i go back nex week....:bawling::bawling::bawling::bawling: all in all aredy spent 1.2k on repairs alone...i think i'll leave the oil leak repairs till month end :argh::argh::argh: and the rear full set bushing replacement till the following month. maybe it's time for me to get a new car as a daily driver?

H22A recond dizzy cost bout RM350 to RM380 but foreman do not recommend recond; better to get half-cut (RM250 to RM300). You can actually DIY as it only involve 3 bolts but the need to adjust the timing is abit tricky. I'm on my 4th dizzy (3 yrs) and after the 1st one all others buy from sparepart shop and DIY

Old Hondas famous for oil leaks, if the leak is from engine top, it is mostly due to V-Tec o-ring or valve gasket. The valve area oil leak might have short out your dizzy, better get it fixed

i'm using vtec semi syn oil,but planning to try motul for next service coz heard motul is gud hehe mine tappets sound a bit noisy tats y planning to use motul.....exhaust setup 2.3 inch piping straight flow(now i'm using std muffler coz of the summons i hv is for using the sports muffler haha)....damn so jealous when past other ppl cars with vrooom....vrroooom loud sound :mad:

IMO motul is grossly over-priced; dunno how true is the report below but judge for yourself.

I think normal full syn (sub RM150) is already 'too good' especially for old engines that tends to leak and 'makan minyak' . Continuing using the semi syn. & the extra money better used on other maintainence work or buy a gal a nice dinner

• oil20090603180623.jpg
    oil20090603180623.jpg
    150.1 KB · Views: 119
tat time didnt know wat prob.when d mech came to me n check then only i know is distri prob.d mech went find halfcut h22a distri but said only have 2 bolt type.maybe is h20a variant? Maybe he cheatind me la.yah i agree is simple 2 change. Anybody know how 2 diagnose distri prob?i didnt get a chance 2 c how he did it.

I also think motul 2 exp.semi syn good enuff.change every 5k should b better than full syn at 10k.d normal mech i go 2 always tell me vtec cant use engine oil thats 2 thin since tappet will make noise.

Wah rakyat...so many times change?

How come u using H22A dizzy? Thot u drive civic?

If your ignition works i.e. there is cranking sound but no ignition then most likely dizzy problem. If want to confirm pull out one of the plug cable from the dizzy and stick a test pen on. No light i.e. dizzy kaput. Before failure, you will feel some hesitation.

Ya-la, 1st time dizzy did not come with oil seal so kaput-la, next time I oso did not repair my oil leak until the dizzy covered w. engine oil so now know better. Last one only 6 mths kaput oredi - recond one. Foreman said that recond one might not last as it is rosak but repaired back only so as lasting as half cut both depend on luck.

Rakyat...yah mine is civic...but the mech say try find for mine almost cant find so he try see if accord 1 can fit not...yah. after fail car can almost start but like motorboat...then totally cant sputter at all after that.

SF...siau meh...now this old civic aredy can barely afford maintanance. if K20a even worse la. if take K20a might as well jump straight in n take DC5 ehehehhehe

Lolz! Got difference geh...if K20A in your EG, it will be one of the rare and fastest species of EG adi...make a name for all EG owners and be proud of u :smile:

DC5 too expensive la 150K++ I think...buy the engine alone cheaper ma hehe! Yala, as car grow older...more maintenance cost have to take care before it returns to its new self with new parts...:banghead:

1 guy living near here just bought a red DC5R a few weeks ago...the wash car guy say he paid about 110k for it...if i had 110k to spare...i rather go for RX8 or a silvia s15. drove Vtec b4...wanna taste mah. try rotary or turbo next hehehehhe

K20A i think too big to fit under EG hood la...but then Malaysia boleh! heheheh

coz i driving satria with full cyborgR n mivec engine, so i dislike eg espeacially hatchback with vtec...hehehehe kidding oni
k20a where got big? ngam ngam to eg, juz the price not so ngam.

artworkz...i most scared of wiras n satrias ler...u never know what sort of monster hiding under the hood...for EG...oni that few engines...n already can agak their range of power but wiras n satrias different story...hehehehhe

EG front aredy so damn packed with a 1.6...all the extra parts needed with a K20a sure very hard to fit n maintain in an EG front...maybe if track car can la.

but in us,uk, japan....all ord put k20 n k24a.
k20a engine smaller than h22 n similiar to b20. jazz/fit oso can put lol. y civic cant? but the important is chasis dynamic(front dun be too heavy). need some serious weight reduction in front.(i learn from japanese modder)

i had to dig out this thread coz i think this one suits my problem hehe
for all eg lovers and taiko,i face a problems with my front left handside power window....try to settle it but reaching the situation that i'm almost giving up :bawling: my power window can move down but cannot move up....using the main switch at drivers side cannot move up and down,but if use its own front left side switch can move down but cannot move up....already try replace the motor and switch but still the same......check all fuse also still ok(not sure which one is the fuse under the steering but check all fuses still good:biggrin:)...HELP ME :itsme:

maybe its the bracket holding those windows, did u get a mech to diagnose the problem?
try asking arturo, he might know.

damn long didnt noticed this thread updated hheheh sorry yah art

Shah...got try the wire conectivity from switch to motor? old car...maybe got tikus bite off the wires or maybe disconnected somehow. also check wire conectivity from switch to fuse and then fuse to battery hehehe if still cannot. normal wireman can do this for u for small price if u worried about tracing all the wires.

Danz : when i direct wire from battery to motor,its working in perfect condition...
Arturo : yeah also thinking the wiring got problems....hard to traced the fuse coz wording in japanesse :mad: maybe the supply didn't reach the motor and i'm a bit 'slow' when it comes to wiring diagnose :biggrin:
thanks bro danz and arturo for ur concerned :shakehands:

i guess the fuse box should be the same with locall EG's rite?
same like me, my fuse box layout is in japanese, but i found out its the same as perdana v6.

u can get your mech to check on each fuse.......kinda simple job.

mine also in japanese...never did go check if local n jdm same...must go check around about this...

Shah...no need worry la...just send to wireman. they have their ways of tracing the wires without knowing which fuse goes where. i suspect is wiring problem. had sort of the same problem once...wires in the door central locking came loose n got caught n cabut when i wound down the window...so when i lock the door, the lock doesnt engage...

not sure bout local Eg's and don't know who hv it:biggrin:
already check all the fuse bro n seems like no fuse burn.....thinking of checking wiring connector to the fuse box tats y blur when saw all wordings in japanesse hehe easier to check if know which point is for the power window....regret didn't join the learning japanesse language club during school time:burnout:

yesterday noticed when reverse got abnormal vibration from front side...already change all engine mounting, front bushing....also noticed got 'ketak...ketak' sound.....is it possible cause by faulty driveshaft?