Increasing the engine performance...

also in the end...dats just what u get...a few ponies :biggrin:

hey at least the story at TT session is longer mehh? :biggrin:

instead of "i put CAI & new muffler. got 5 bhp out of it".

you can say "i put 4G15's dohc 16V head complete with intake tract & throttle body, fabricated a custom metal headgasket to compliment, custom header blablabla.."

while sipping tea, that'll sound soo much better! :rofl:

hehe true true...

but if it were me who did all those custom/difficult/expensive stuffs....ill prolly just be sipping air kosong ais :(

hehe

Frankly speaking waja engine is very powerful actually, just change to manual transmission, port n polish, and swap a 272 cam, is good enough. Then invest on good suspension setup and use VERY GOOD tyres. Then your car can perform.

Dont simply rely on engine mod to feed your cravings. Simply asking question that is too subjective to answer yet dont understand why u want to mod the car, will get u no where.

I have a friend driving wira se, 4G15 tuned, change to 1600cc piston, ported, highcam 272, tuned by an ex-rally mech. His car goes touge with subaru and MR2 in genting sempah n ulu yam, back to back in a minimal 0.5 seconds interval between the sportscar.

So, does my sharing ring a bell ? It is plain boring to have a big engine n smoke others on a straight line, yet the skills are not improved.

try not to increase the cc n hp only.. Overall mods is better..
Example change to highcams, then do abit of easier breathing of the engine (intake&exhaust) suspension n brakes for a sportier n safer feel.. Lighten pulley, better tires, bla3..
What i mean is, upgrade sikit2 here n there lah.. N don juz do the engine only, got power but cant control also susah..

thats what i thought..safety and reliability comes performance!! =)

so,the most recommended mod (mild mod) :

1.change gearbox(have to go jpj ar to endorse?)
2.PnP
3.Exhaust system
4.High Cam
5.Adj Cam Pulley
6.Lighten crank pulley
7.Air Filter
8.Better spark plugs,plug cables
9.Volt stabilizer n grounding cable
10.Finally,emanage(though some say its pointless if not doing high modification..pls clarify..thx)

any outputs?share ur thoughts here.. THX EVERYONE FOR UR KINDNESS AND PATIENCE TEACHING ME ALL THESE STUFFS.. I REALLY APPRECIATE IT..

ooo..that's y i asked such questions..to get knowledge about modding..i dont want to do extreme mods on the car coz it will mess it up..and not reliable anymore in the long run..reliability comes performance..not the other way round..hehehe...

i heard installing a 272 high cam will giv idling problem..is it true?can elaborate more?

Not really. i using 272 matspeed cam on my 4g93 sohc. I can say my idle is like stock (below 1k rpm) only thing, i install FICD for my aircond ( car tends to stalled when i 'on' the aircond) problem solved . Btw my car is daily driven.

2.PnP
3.Exhaust system
4.High Cam
5.Adj Cam Pulley
6.Lighten crank pulley
7.Air Filter

10.Finally,emanage(though some say its pointless if not doing high modification..pls clarify..thx)

number 6 to 9 can be considered 'light mods'.

as fer number 10, any form of piggyback can be used.
everybody's on 'e-manage' nowadays ar? :biggrin:

2.PnP
3.Exhaust system
4.High Cam
5.Adj Cam Pulley
6.Lighten crank pulley
7.Air Filter

any outputs?share ur thoughts here.. THX EVERYONE FOR UR KINDNESS AND PATIENCE TEACHING ME ALL THESE STUFFS.. I REALLY APPRECIATE IT..

what i think shud be modded is in this order, 1, 7/3, 4/5 or 6, 10, no.9 can go in anywhere in between, plugs/cables up to u, but i wud do that later lah

Plug cables dont help much in power but they DO make it smoother... U go get the minor mods 1st then put the cables on THEN you'll feel the difference.

If ur car still runing stock exhaust+intake waste of money man :biggrin:

hmmmm, such a complicated case.....I suggest u find a used Microtech LT8, and put into ur waja. Standalone normally improve ALOT engine power on the mid and high revs. At least up to 15% improvement on power.

Dont touch anything on the engine yet, except a 272 cams. Thats it.
The most important thing is highcam, bigger displacement and a management. Other things which is minor, dont waste time n money on it. Such as Openpod filter, plug cables, pnp, dont waste money on these first, they are not so important for a streetcar.

dear threadstarter, NAH!

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/looking-for/300005-gear-box-waja-swap.html

u owe me a lunch :biggrin:

thx all..so,for the mods i've listed,how much is the hp gain can i expect?and..how much RM u think it'll cost?

btw,do we hv to go to jpj if convert to manual gearbox?

hmmmm, such a complicated case.....I suggest u find a used Microtech LT8, and put into ur waja. Standalone normally improve ALOT engine power on the mid and high revs. At least up to 15% improvement on power.

Dont touch anything on the engine yet, except a 272 cams. Thats it.
The most important thing is highcam, bigger displacement and a management. Other things which is minor, dont waste time n money on it. Such as Openpod filter, plug cables, pnp, dont waste money on these first, they are not so important for a streetcar.

Standalone dont you have to get a base air+fuel map from scratch? How much would that cost? :smokin: Then theres the idling etc etc. Theres a reason why people dont jump into microtech, motec or any standalone on street engines y'know...

And the 272 cams, how you going to get more performance if your base mods arent covered? The higher lift cams allow more air/fuel into the engine by holding the valves open for marginaly longer.

If ur 272 cams can flow as much as 600cfm of air but ur exhaust+intake limited to 330cfm whats the point? Wasting your time and money for cams weih.Then of course with more air theres more fuel needed, and if his injectors are maxed out how? Change to bigger ones? Sound lagi complicated then proven intake+exhaust upgrades man. :rolleyes:

Exactly!
Performance = more fuel+air mixture.. Thats the main purpose of forced induction.. But in this care since its NA, easiest way is cams n open pod + exhaust.. No need to go to tuner every now n then..

Id love to see who's so "smart" to buy a standalone for a waja :rofl:.
How much does a set cost anyway without tuning?

Standlone i also donno how much..
But its much worth it if u DONT buy it, at this stage of modding..
Hehe..
Open pod air filter + exhaust could be below 2k..
Suspension below 2k also.. Can get adjustable one if ur lucky..

aiyo.this is more confusing than ever..huhuhu

Sorry weih bro, some people asking you to main with standalone. You go to any shop that sells+install them then you come back here tell us how much ok? :rofl:

Air filter=Rm300 plus and minus
Exhaust system=Rm600 plus and minus

Just get about rm1k and performance, fuel economy, and reliabality guaranteed.

U go ask around for those guys that have put hi-cams and standalone into their cars and see whether susah to drive around or not :biggrin: