Indy500 race cars

I'm curios. Whats the difference between F1 and Indy race ah ?

What i know is the different in design and circuit. What else is different. Why we dont have indy race here ? Only in USA got....and their Indy race starting style is like GT. Rolling start wan...:confused: :confused:

Indy is a separation from CART, which was originally originated from F1 in the States, but the Americans wanted their own single seater-open wheel f*ucking fast car race :D

and they love to go in Ovals, which is their type of flavour in the States..
well then they evolved, constantly, and the current shape are mostly dictated by their own rules..

CART are one of the FASTEST circuit racing in the world. 250+MPH is common to them.

The IRL or Indy Racing League is all about speed. They'll go around an oval for like a hundred laps and trust me, the IRL is probably one of the most dangerous racing in motorsport. Drivers are putting their life at stake every race. The Indianapolis race track which F1 drivers boycott last month, is where the Indy race originated, thus the name Indy.

In terms of design, lots of differences. The cars don't rely on aerodynamics, the tyres are slick, the fuel is alcohol if not mistaken. Bloody dangerous and thats why when you see them pit for fuel, there's always a guy splashing some water after refuelling coz the flames have no color.

Is Indy cars faster than F1 ?
Wah !! using alcohol I have saw it on Astro's Super Sports.

But they only go in oval tracks, look a bit boring lah. cause everytime i watch also dont have acident wan. But 1 thing for sure, they are very fast....really hard to catch up wan.

well, hard to say if indy or cart cars are faster than F1. On the Ovals yes... but any other tracks that require them to turn more than 1 side, the F1 will kick their ass! just like what Americans like, brute force and muscle... but the europeans like it with stlye and elegance... Well, i know i can't sit there and watch them go round the oval 100+ times but them yankees do... they are a funny breed ya know?

oh yeaaa... if i remembered correctly, their cars have some sort of a "controled" boost too. Sort of like turbo/nos(not sure) but their regulation limit them to a certain degree of usage. Again, i'm not sure on this. perhaps soemone can clarify on this?

like jeremy clarkson always says, Americans doesnt know shits bout goin roun corners........tats y their drag racings, Indy, Carts, NASCAR r so popular over there....its their cup of tea......

cant really say Indy's r faster than F1 though......coz i believe a F1 car have the technology n power reach 250mph, if they want to tune it tat way......just depends on whether they wanna do it anot.....as for differences between them, i'm curious to know too...hehe....

I do think that Formula 1 cars have the potential to go very very quick if not for so many restrictions and rules that were made to 'slow them down'. Few years back when F1 was all about speed, some drivers managed to clock over 360kmh++ at the old Hockenheim circuit and i think they were able to clock quite fast over at Monza too. But if we ever had a 'no holds barred' F1 car, i think 400kmh++ should not have any problem.

yup... technology wise, F1 should be better than them americans by a lot. If F1 allow turbo, full slick(allowing tyre change during pitstop!!!), less restriction on chasis and also higher octane fuel... then i really think F1 cars can FLY!!! heck we might even see something like Cyberformula GPX liao! hehehe...

Size and weight wise the IRL/Champ cars are bigger and heavier than a Formula One car.

But watching champ cars is interesting. Sadly u dont get to watch much on it these days. IRL is boring. All u get to see is just cars running round and round ovals chasing their own tails. And when it coems to accidents it's just not very nice to watch. Imagine crashing into the wall in excess of 200mph. Instant knock out. And they tend to suffer from spinal injuries. Examples of crashes are like Ralf Schumacher in the past 2 years of the USA GP.
IRL if i'm not mistaken are NA while Champ cars are turbocharged. Development wise they are not as exotic as F1 cars as they dont have the budget to develop the chassis and engine in house. Most of them rely on customer, off the shelf chassis and engines.
Champ cars on the other is hand is pretty cool is there is a neat mix of street tracks and proper tracks. Most of the teams are on par with each other and hence anyone can win. They seem to be pretty strong cars as they are all ways bumping into each other and their cars are still intact unlike F1 cars where a small little bump can end one's race. Safety cars comes out often. So the field tends to get bunched up often and makes it fun to watch races.

antaras said:
yup... technology wise, F1 should be better than them americans by a lot. If F1 allow turbo, full slick(allowing tyre change during pitstop!!!), less restriction on chasis and also higher octane fuel... then i really think F1 cars can FLY!!! heck we might even see something like Cyberformula GPX liao! hehehe...

Eh,bro u watch Cyberformula GPX too ah ? I got the whole complete set of the anime lah..Very futuristic wan, the race cars all controlled by computers that can interact with the driver...very cun cars leh..