Journey of my conversion

aiyo...stim :D .......if u cud only 18" FR wheels ...deep dish......low a bit.....

:( too bad my projek not yet started......

Is skagee a forummer too?? How do I contact him? Just want to compare if we share the same parts....

hmmm,ok the parts on skagee's car is a direct fit from an A31...???the platform for the C33 is pretty similar to the A31 .. not sure about your laurel though,so looks like u will have to do it trial and error .... but i think u can enquire coldair as his platform is more similar to yours as compared to skagee's ...i think uncle will be happy to help ...

I just saw a Laurel C33 halfcut just now. The front suspension is completely different lah... dunno if can change the whole thing or not... most probably not lah... The brake disk bracket is similar to the one devious is trying to sell.

I also saw another R32 halfcut. The front suspension has this big bracket where the disk brake mounts on. And the absorber is mounted a bit inside from the disks. Looks like my brakes sure have to modify to 4 holes to fit. And I wonder if the caliper mounts are the same.

Another thing, I cannot unscrew the calipers lah... have to find an airgun to do it lah... damn tight one. And that thing is damn heavy!!! must be around 10-15 kilos..

wideawake.
Your Laurel's platform should be about the same as mine. Take a good look under your Laurel and tell me this.., look at the Laurel's front suspension, is the absorber strut at the bottom-end held by 2 bolts? and that the bolts are screwed on from bottom-up to hold the absorber in place?. If so this is the same as mine(before) and I have since replaced them using ones from an A31(Cefiro). I have the 4-lug wheel spindle and is running with 4-pot brake calipers out of a Skyline R33. My rear brakes came with disc brakes as standard but the disc diameter is small and hence I fabricated a bracket to adopt the rear dics brake system from an RX7 FD3S. I am not sure if the rear suspension system on the Laurel is the same as that of mine, given that they are the same then you could perhaps use my old disc brakes which I am still keeping.

If opportunity arises, you should bring your Laurel out some day and with that I can tell how close your platform is as compared to mine.

Originally posted by MrNismo@Jul 14 2004, 04:38 PM
Coldair, what car you drive? An Animal? LOLOL
pecah lubang already but now lubang becomes bigger.....aarrrrrrrrrrr!!!

Hah coldair,

You are correct!!!! And I have pictures too... What do I need to change it like yours? I have the R32 disk brakes which are different from the A31.

And I know pogo has a set of A31 stuff he wants to let go... Let me know what I need so I can get it from him... heheh...

wideawake,

Hahahaha, yea that picture looks familiar enough, mine was like that before the change. Ok, here's what you would need for your front suspension...,

1) Replace the knuckles on your Laurel with ones that are from an A31.
2) The A31's absorbers will not be suitable as the spring retainers are off-
centered, suggest that you source for after-market coil-over type
absorbers.
3) The A31 knuckles comes with 4-lug wheel spindle (PCD 114.3), if you want
5-lugs then try getting the spindle out of a 5-lug Skyline and see if they
will fit, I am not sure about this but this is a possibility. The Skyline knuckle
assembly will not fit into your Laurel because your car do not have the
upper suspension arms.
4) Given that you already have the A31 knuckle installed in your car, go get
a set of 4-pot brake calipers and rotor discs out of a Skyline R32 or R33, these
are a direct fit. The non-turbo Skylines have 4-lugs while the turbo ones
comes with 5-lugs, mine was from a turbo but had them re-drilled for 4-lugs.
Price difference between an R32 and an R33 4-pot brake calipers complete with
rotor discs isn't that much but get the R33 ones as the rotor disc diameter is
slightly larger and they are better.
5) The steering rack on your Laurel is probably getting "over-used" by now
because of it's age, if indeed you need to replace it go get the R33 GTS-T
steering rack. It will fit with some minor mods done to it. DO NOT use the
ones with Hicas that usually comes with A31 and R32 because your Laurel
is not 4-wheel steer.
6) Lastly, you would need to look for rims that would allow it to clear the 4-pot
brake calipers. Alternately you could use wheel spacers to rid the hinderance.
7) Oh..., I did mentioned to you before to use Toyota's Land Cruiser brake
booster and master pump simply because this will fit the 4-hole bolt pattern
thru' the firewall. I also told you the "trick", still got it?.

Hope the aboves helps.., good luck !!!.

Originally posted by devious17@Jul 14 2004, 09:58 PM
Huuaarr! Unker has flexed his muscle liao LOLOL
where got la flexing muscles...?, just trying to offer my 2-cents only. ;)

15 July 2004 - 6.30pm

Met up with pogo aka atangcore. Took his A31 knuckle out of his hands. Brought it back home.

15 July 2004 - 10.00pm

Started dismantling the A31 and R32 knuckle. Damn, now I realized I missed Angel. After some gentle persuasions, the caliper scews on all spindles were removed (I hope the neighbours weren't mad with all the klunking sound last night).

Upon inspection, I found out that the spindles from both knuckles are different. The one from A31 had a front mount screw and the one from R32 had screws at the rear. Looks like the easiest mod will be to drill the A31 spindle into 5 holes. I'll bring it to a machine shop today for drilling.

How the hell do I remove the mounting screws? Whack kau meh?

alamak.... ur car looks cool dude... suddenly remind me back my GSR ... :( get a wider rim so ppl looks from back will think twice to shoot u from back heheheh

Thank you sepat for the compliments. What happen to your GSR? Sold already?

Another quick look at the rear of the knuckle shows me that it is not posible to drill 5 holes. This is because there is a groove ngam2 to fit the 4 studs. Looks like I'm gonna have to drill my disk brakes instead.

Maybe in future I'll get a knuckle from R33 or something to mod to 5 holes.

Erm... taking another look at the knuckle one of our forummers is selling, is looks like the spindle was modified also... hmmm... let's see if the machine shop can to wonders.

17 July 2004

Morning
First thing in the morning, took the car to my nearby workshop to replace the long shaft oil seal. Upon removing it, looked like the seal was perfectly in shape. Replaced it anyway. When trying to insert the gear oil, the bolt was stuck. Had to insert the oil from the reverse sensor hole. Conclusion, we suspect that the engine installer guy put oil when the engine was out of the car from the top. And the bugger completely flooded the gearbox with gear oil, hence causing an overflow that leaked from the oil seal.

Late Afternoon
Back from the workshop, took a drive to Titans workshop to see stanley. Upon arriving there, noticed a wierd sound. Popped up the engine. Found out that the power steeering fluid was all over the place. And the reservoir was empty. Damn...
Talked to stanley and richard and decided to proceed with a plan.

Went back and singgah at a Projet station to buy brake fluid and top it to the power steering reservoir. Again, when arriving home, the fluid was all over the place.

Help me.... I can't seem to find the leak. The power steering pump (the one attached to the engine's pulley) is a hicas unit. It has 3 outputs. If you are standing in front of the engine, the top and most further output has been sealed. I'm not sure if the leak comes from there. Have to wait until tomorrow to inspect it in daylight.

Opinions welcomed. Thanks.

Kewl Man!!
I will use yur thread as my refference!

thanxs!!

again.. it's the HICAS unit. dude, u can't just plug it. u have to do a U-turn so that the flow won't stop. hmm... aiyo.. i think i'll open workshop just to disable the HICAS. hehehehe... ask devious17 or coldair. there have more experience on this. i just told my mech what to do and he did the work. hehehe.. me just looking and hand him the tools. ;)

:lol: