L9 Turbo ~ Question about it ~

Wilson13B

I own a Kenari which i just transplant a L9 Turbo into it......when the engine was on bench i took the chances to replace the tiny TD02 to TD04 which i take from a Pajero 4D56 Turbo Diesel Engine.....boost are running around 0.9 Bar now..... and everything still in a stock mode ~

But i have some problem,when the full boost kicked in at around 4K rpm,i immediately feel im being pushed into the seat,the feeling was great,but once pass 5K rpm there is a hiss sound like the air is leaking out then the car just like loss it's guts even the rpm still rising towards 8.5K redline,it just lost the power ~ already check all the turbo-intercooler-intake manifold pipe and clip,they are intact and tight ~ what problem could cause this either =S

And when a wastegate is open,will there be noise like this?

Thanks ^^

There's a leak somewhere.... double check all the hoses and in its clips... happened to me once (L5 4cyl turbo) and its a cracked hose was the culprit...

better yet, replace all vacuum hoses with silicones ones.........

nice upgrade btw, I'm still using RHF3, which is standard for L5.. come to think of it, why your L9 came wif TD02? all JB series (JBJL for L5 / JBDET for L9/copen) uses RHF3 series frame turbo...

I own a Kenari which i just transplant a L9 Turbo into it......when the engine was on bench i took the chances to replace the tiny TD02 to TD04 which i take from a Pajero 4D56 Turbo Diesel Engine.....boost are running around 0.9 Bar now..... and everything still in a stock mode ~

But i have some problem,when the full boost kicked in at around 4K rpm,i immediately feel im being pushed into the seat,the feeling was great,but once pass 5K rpm there is a hiss sound like the air is leaking out then the car just like loss it's guts even the rpm still rising towards 8.5K redline,it just lost the power ~ already check all the turbo-intercooler-intake manifold pipe and clip,they are intact and tight ~ what problem could cause this either =S

And when a wastegate is open,will there be noise like this?

Thanks ^^

Thanks for the info ~

When i bought this engine from Japan,it's fitted with a TD02 and a modded Turbo Manifold,felt that it's too small so i upgrade it to TD04 while the engine still on the floor ~

When the engine still on the floor,i already upgrade all the vacuum hose to Samco Blue Silicone Hose and fuel lines to the steel braided one ~

Need to recheck if they leak,still using stock intercooler btw ~

do u have an external wastegate sir? if there isnt any boost leak, it sounds like an issue with the tuning

bro wilson do u still have ur TD02 and that custom manifold...if duwan plz sell it to me hehehehe

do u have an external wastegate sir? if there isnt any boost leak, it sounds like an issue with the tuning

Nope bro,i don't have external wastegate,using the stock Turbo Internal Wastegate only,as the car still not yet sail through Puspakom so better let it look stock 1st =)

better follow xtremeleo's advice...

stock intercooler? better upgrade to front-mount.... better cooling

Yep,i still using the stock intercooler,i have another front mount intercooler,when it sail though the Puspakom safely i ill replace the exhaust system to 2.5" piping,stainless steel intercooler piping and included the front mount intercooler will be installed as well....thank for your advice =)

bro wilson do u still have ur TD02 and that custom manifold...if duwan plz sell it to me hehehehe

Sorry bro,the turbo the mechanic had taken for trade-in and the manifold i still using,only weld another turbo flange to it ....but why u wan a TD02? it's response are really lightning fast but the are it pushing even at 1Bar will lose to a TD04 at 0.5Bar ~ bro,just straight upgrade to TD04 la,not ver expensive also at market as alot of Pajero Diesel also using them,around 300-500 can get one nice dy ~^

---------- Post added at 02:15 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:12 AM ----------

Update : Today i installed a Boost gauge,when i punch the accelerator to the floor,i get around 1Bar of boost but once a leaking air sound was heard the boost drop to 0.6-0.8 Bar and the needle fluctuate around,i was clearly clarify it was a boost leak but i don't know where it leak from,does anyone have an idea to find out which area is the boost leaking from ?

Thanks alot bro ^^

UPDATE : Today i do a boost leak test to the turbo system,after that i found that the BOV was a culprit and leak out air just after 0.5Bar and the higher the boost it leak more,after remove the BOV and block it with a pipe blocker the boost leak issue is sorted ~ no more noise and the boost pressure goes til 1.5Bar 0_0" ....however i detuned it to 1Bar as i don't have any fueling mods yet,risking of blowing the engine at those Boost level.....now the car pulls til the red line like a freight train :biggrin:

nice! better change fuel pump.. wira 1.6 pump should do the trick... and get a goot adj fuel pressure regulator.... a tune up wif piggyback also bring back wonder

nice one bro!

UPDATE : Today i do a boost leak test to the turbo system,after that i found that the BOV was a culprit and leak out air just after 0.5Bar and the higher the boost it leak more,after remove the BOV and block it with a pipe blocker the boost leak issue is sorted ~ no more noise and the boost pressure goes til 1.5Bar 0_0" ....however i detuned it to 1Bar as i don't have any fueling mods yet,risking of blowing the engine at those Boost level.....now the car pulls til the red line like a freight train :biggrin:

Today just add those cheap "FishBone" Valve to increase the boost...i found that when ever the boost reach 1Bar the car will jerk and backfiring like nobody's land ~ does the ECU have boost cut function or my ignition/fuel system can't support that amount of boost?

=S

Today just add those cheap "FishBone" Valve to increase the boost...i found that when ever the boost reach 1Bar the car will jerk and backfiring like nobody's land ~ does the ECU have boost cut function or my ignition/fuel system can't support that amount of boost?

=S

yup... boost cut.. stock standard it will cut fuel system...

Aiya...how to remove it eh?

As I don't want to spend huge amout of money on this car by buying those E-Manage Piggyback or so =S

Now i tune it to 0.9-1Bar but on yesterday midnight run on Kesas highway,i really push it til the max,on 1st and 2nd gear redline @8.5K only change and til 3rd Gear suddenly when the gear engaged the boost instantly jump to 1.5Bar and something happen,somekind of oil line burst with a quite loud noise and god alot of white smoke emitted from engine bay ~ god that time i think i've blown an engine but luckily i still manage to drive it back home and the turbo still boosting like normal "of course la i not boosting it again" ~ car now at workshop,just hope nothing bad happens ~ sigh ;(

dunno how, but some tuner can 'cheat' it, then again dun ask me how la hehe

i think better invest la in some sort of piggyback... get it tuned since properly you've already upgraded to a big turbo.... probably the ecu gone haywire trying to compensate your tuning... no mean to be disrespect.... investing in a good fuel pump (wira 1.6 is a good bet) and adj fuel regulator wud also help....

Aiya...how to remove it eh?

As I don't want to spend huge amout of money on this car by buying those E-Manage Piggyback or so =S

Now i tune it to 0.9-1Bar but on yesterday midnight run on Kesas highway,i really push it til the max,on 1st and 2nd gear redline @8.5K only change and til 3rd Gear suddenly when the gear engaged the boost instantly jump to 1.5Bar and something happen,somekind of oil line burst with a quite loud noise and god alot of white smoke emitted from engine bay ~ god that time i think i've blown an engine but luckily i still manage to drive it back home and the turbo still boosting like normal "of course la i not boosting it again" ~ car now at workshop,just hope nothing bad happens ~ sigh ;(

Thanks for your info bro ~ very appreciated it ^^

Someone offer me a Perdana V6 Fuel pump for 80 bucks,are this a good buy?

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/attachments/376848.vB

May i ask what is this ?

Cause there is a pipe unconnected,the car just back from garage,the TD04 bearing housing cracked and the bearing pieces tearing the exhaust turbine off and cracked the housing also,so i replace it with a original IHI RHF 3 to temporary use 1st ~

Thanks for any info/reply ^^

View attachment 376848

May i ask what is this ?

Cause there is a pipe unconnected,the car just back from garage,the TD04 bearing housing cracked and the bearing pieces tearing the exhaust turbine off and cracked the housing also,so i replace it with a original IHI RHF 3 to temporary use 1st ~

Thanks for any info/reply ^^

not sure... I might have to check on my car, if got time... but then it could be diff between your JB-DET and my JB-JL...

...sorry for your loss though...

I already check with my uncle,he is a quite expert on turbocharged engine from it's past experience from playing with alot of turbo monster machine ,that this is a boost cut sensor,but disconnect the pipe to it the ecu won't sense any overboost so there won't be boost cut ~ the TD04 now is back as a couple with the L9,source from a blown 4D56T Mitsubishi Strom engine which the turbo still in good shape ~ now running at 0.9-1 Bar sometimes when heavy footed it goes to 1.2Bar ~

I noticed one problem recently,when the fuel level is lower than half,if i boosting around 1 bar there will be hesitation,when i got more than half tank or full tank the hesitation will disappear or minimise ~

Guess there is a problem with the fuel pump =S

u dun have enough fuel pressure.... try change bigger fuelpump...take from new Wira 1.6 or ori Evo fuel pump...set ur FRegulator pressure to 3 or 3.5 at idle....coz to run more than 1bar atleast u need bigger fuelpump and fuel regulator...and when got money put mmanagement and go wideband tuning to tune ur AFR....if not if u always boost more than 1.1bar with all std equipment ur engine will suffer and kaboom!!....

Thanks for the info bro,but do the Wira 1.6 or Evo Fuel Pump are plug and play to the ori Kenari Fuel Pump housing or need to fabricate/custom one?

Thanks =)