Learn about tuned and upgraded Car

ryeeson

I'm totally Newbie about tuning or upgrading a car.

My first question today is:

What do we need to know before install a body kit to our car?

I have read the JPJ "undang-undang" but its not clear to me.
Do we need spacial license to add a body kit? i mean a full body kit.

I saw some suspension intro in a Game.(NFS series) the car can dance with the havy suspension??? Is this possible?
And some movie, when He(the driver) stop the car, the car can be lower until it almost touch the ground. :eek: :eek:

I guess it will slove a problem with the bump. guess what, if the suspension can be lower and higher electroniclly, then what we need to do if we encounter a bump is to push one button to higher the car suspension :rock: :rock:

hi, and welcome to ZTH.

firstly, i don't think that you need any permit or licence to put on body kits on your car. there are some rules with jpj, but you have to know that when they are in a bad mood, they are the law and your perfectly legal car will still be illegal. short story:

*long time ago my mom went for a drive, stop by the police. he check her licence, the car, roadtax, signal light, exhaust note, everything... until he cant' find any single mistake then he say my mom didn't properly inflate the tire. my mom got angry and just drive off say he's bullshiting, then the car tire is perfectly okay for half a year no problem as it is properly inflated from the begining*

the "dancing" suspension you see in NFS are hydraulic system, they are available in the US but i didn't see it here (yet). electronic adjustable suspension are already standard on some supercar, i don't know if one can easily obtain them to put on their own car, since i heard about it before, but yet to see it with my own eyes.

but do note that if you have one extra function (electronic adjustable suspension) in your car, it means that there is one more thing that will break down. I prefer everything simple...

an old car from citroen can do that.higher n lower electronicly.but like what u sed that the "guy" can dance with the car is called hydraulics...if there were some here,im sure u've seen on the road edi..but unfortunately..dont have...

citroen one plays the rear suspension only right? in my knowledge Hydra Active does not apply to all four wheels, what more independently.

BUT..yeahh i do agree...dancing suspension is very nice and wud be sumthing new in our market.

with regard to body kits, it could not be illegal as its harmless. only for aesthetic purpose. and minor aerodynamic improvement. :D

I thought they were illegal.. since the police can't saman your car for being too low.. coz when you see a police car, you can immediately increase ride height :D Anything the JPJ/Police can't saman you for is illegal I tell you!

bodykits i think wont be illegal la... but sometimes u might encounter jpj officers or policemen come kacau u for duit kopi and so on... jz do minor bodykits to avoid such problem la...

about the suspension u were talking about... i thought that one only available in US... they use airbag suspension to raise and lower the car... but for those 'dancing' cars, they use powerful hydrolics to push the car up... of course those are for cosmetic purpose and might affect ur suspension performance... ur cornering ability will be worse after that... so, get proper coilover suspensions... those are jz for looks and movies, not for normal usage....

What i've learnt today is,

1.The cop will "kacau" if they were in bad mode which is true because i used to encounter this situation before.

2. Car can "dance" due to a havy suspension system :tongue:

for the 1st, there is nothing we can do to the cop.. just give them a "kopi" :tee:

for the 2nd, i wonder if we can import this hydrulic suspension and install to our market.. :) but may be we dont have the knowledge yet. :eek:

Today i am proud to present one of my favorites picture.

http://img422.imageshack.us/my.php?image=21069956850434l8pj.jpg

my.php

My question is,will this kind of mod is allowed in our country?
the care is a Honda Prelude (4th gen i guess). taken from (http://92lude.com/index.htm)
one of the guy in the honda prelude home said that this body kit is costum made and not avilable for sale.

Do we have a garage to do this in Malaysia?

i'm planing to buy a car in Q3 next year. i'm looking forward to Honda prelaude but if it only can be moded like this :) since supra is more expensive.

hmm.. wide body.. yummy..

i've read from traffic magazine that say there are a limit in how wide you can make your car.. forgot which issue liau.. early this year punya (larling's car :rofl: ) thats the only traffic mag i've bought cuz got hannah tan inside :D

Do we have a workshop to done the Wide body kit here in Malaysia? How much it will cost?

How about costum made wide body kit? do we have a workshop for this job?

What is the cam for? i hear some people said about single cam, double cam..

the info u may need about all the mechanical parts of a cars can b found ere.... http://auto.howstuffworks.com/under-the-hood-channel.htm