life span of spark plug?

evoX2

may i know what is the normal life span for normal plug (e.g. Bosch Super 4)? How about those denso, ngk platinium, iridium? last longer?

if ur timing everything is right, can last a year plus...
but if timing/tuning wrong, vr fast 'kong'....

PS: sorry la, forgot the exact mileage u need to replace the plugs.....

May i ask: can cleanning spark plug extends its life?

occasionally i use sand paper or dremmal wire mesh to brush off those carbon deposit stick on it.... what i feel is that after cleaning is that 1 crank can imeadiately start engine liao ...of course provided batt is still ok lar....

When carbon deposits stick on plugs, is that mean incomplete combustion & hence need stronger spark?

normally spark plugs's life spent is about 10000 km.. change once in 2 services..

Apparently Bosch claims that their Super 4 Plugs can last up to 50,000KM. I'm using them now. Haven't really check the plugs condition but i think use almost 20,000KM already. Gonna check when the car cools down.

Last time when i use those cheapo plugs, about 10,000KM you can see a very visibly damaged plug. Very black and and ceramic also quite worn off already.

those are usual and under "normal" driving standards.

those with spoilt valve seals etc etc (engine defects) will affect the plugs a lil but.

how come my car...used for so so so so long...i think nearly 50 000km...i havent change...didnt notice any difference in performance so far...touch wood...

Maybe you've been pretty lucky that the plugs you use are quite durable. Normally plugs will deteriorate after about 20K.

Or maybe you can change a new set of plugs and you probably feel an instant rush of power.

iam still using mine even after 100,000++km. of course iam not using normal kinda plugs, iam using denso iridium. been using it for more then a year now, alwiz check ur plugs n re-gap & clean if necessary. my plugs r alwiz brown-ish, one of the long life factor. alwiz keep both eyes on the engine's tuning, dis makes sure ur plugs a safe from foul ups

Oh yes, those Denso high end plugs definitely last a lot longer than the cheapo ones. The cheaper plugs probably cost you like RM 30 for a set of 4. Denso's probably cost you like RM50/piece. Plus, you get performance gains.

Quite rightly said, the key to a long life plug is to check it periodically. Sadly, i just bought a freaking spark plug wrench and found out my plugs sits alot deeper inside the engine than the wrench could reach in. Wasted my RM13 for the plug wrench.

xtremeleo said:
iam still using mine even after 100,000++km. of course iam not using normal kinda plugs, iam using denso iridium. been using it for more then a year now, alwiz check ur plugs n re-gap & clean if necessary. my plugs r alwiz brown-ish, one of the long life factor. alwiz keep both eyes on the engine's tuning, dis makes sure ur plugs a safe from foul ups

bro,

re-gap follow the plug original gap or follow our car manufacturer's gap?

i used ngk-R so more than 1 year, after that i changed to HKS iridium, now really can feel some diff.

normal spark plugs are designed to give optimum performance for 20,000km. that is what NGK and Denso recommends to Toyota cars. i believe its same for other cars also.

however, i do believe they can last a lot longer. the secret is to clean the plugs always (maybe every 10,000km) and adjust the gap if necessary. but still depends of luck also. sometimes, one plug can bakar even premature.

platinum type can go up to 100,000km. very expensive fo course, when i worked with toyota a decade ago 1 unit spark plug for an Estima (2TZ-FE) or Camry (5S-FE) would have cost RM100. multiply that by 4.

i prefer to change those spakr plugs every 20,000km. they dont coast that much but rather give me a pice of mind during every drive. physchological effects i suppose....

zan, what plugs do you use every 20,000KM?

I'm in two minds now. Either i use those cheaper plugs and change every 20,000 or i buy those Bosch Super 4 or Denso plugs that'll last 100,000Km with some performance gain(minimal). But the Super 4 plugs are a lot more expensive than the normal ones.

For sharing:

1) Bosch Super 4 : rm48 / set of 4
2) Peak (by Split Fire) : rm28 / set of 4 (which is also 4 arch, very much "identical" to bosch super 4

Both no need to do side gapping, its "already" side gapped.

By the way, dont u guys think that 4 arch is more difficult to clean than those single or twin arch?