lighter rims..worth it?

just share some exp wif u guys! : )

i'm using rays te37 15", indeed light weight, can lift it with 2 finger, bought it at rm1800 ( 2nd hand, some said i kena chopped :.. ( ) another tyre shop quote me brand new same design rm6800.

My friend using advanti 17" kinda light weight too, he bought it brand new around rm2100++, very reliable, he kena many hole but no bent at all... although my rim is only 15" and paired with 195/55R15 AD07 i m still very careful on road, scared ll kena holes : )

pick up wise... i never compared it to other rim so cant give u any answer, as for tyre weight, i did a research for 17" last time, continental sport contact II is the lightest, only 8.8kg, other japan tyre around 10kg...

just share some exp wif u guys! : )

i'm using rays te37 15", indeed light weight, can lift it with 2 finger, bought it at rm1800 ( 2nd hand, some said i kena chopped :.. ( ) another tyre shop quote me brand new same design rm6800.

My friend using advanti 17" kinda light weight too, he bought it brand new around rm2100++, very reliable, he kena many hole but no bent at all... although my rim is only 15" and paired with 195/55R15 AD07 i m still very careful on road, scared ll kena holes : )

pick up wise... i never compared it to other rim so cant give u any answer, as for tyre weight, i did a research for 17" last time, continental sport contact II is the lightest, only 8.8kg, other japan tyre around 10kg...

bro,for 1.8k consider reasonable liow lo.:_:

yup, TE37's price still crazy til now n of coz for other lightweight rims - type C, RG, Regamaster, CE28N also quite light..

most japan rims and some taiwan rims have the JWL logo on the rims...this is prove it is light and also strong enough unlike local JRD rims...it might be more expensive but it is worth the investment...

yup, TE37's price still crazy til now n of coz for other lightweight rims - type C, RG, Regamaster, CE28N also quite light..

mattz,all the wheel that u mention r light accept 1.this wheel is very popular
at this moment but not because of the weight but the look.it's RG.
i find that rg is the heaviest among the mention wheel above.

but the blue lining make people n price crazy, haha.. last time known rega was the lightest, is it true??

for 15",type c is the lightest compare to ce28 follow by rega.for 15"x6.5 off 45
weighing at 3.87kg per piece.there's one more wheel that we never mention
but is very light too.with the similar dimension with the type c,it weight in
at 3.6kg.but the wheel is not so popular in m'sia.it cp-035.

btw, can 16x7 with offset 45 fit onto putra?
whats d max offset that can be used without scraping anything?

thks!

45 offset sounds pretty normal.. you should be safe with dat. Higher offset means ur rims/tires are going in and away from the fenders. Lower offset means ur rims/tires are going out and towards the fenders.

But u only should worry about this if u have done 2 things to ur car:
1) Lowering 2) Big rims and low offset.

*PS: i got no exps with Putras :)

Btw, i was looking around for some brake DIYs and happened to find this article;

Quote: "Huge wheels also increase your car's final drive. Their added weight increases the flywheel effect, slowing the car's acceleration and increasing load on the brakes...The obvious way to make up for the disadvantages of increased wheel diameter and width is to use a light wheel. Light wheels are easier to accelerate and brake. They also reduce unsprung weight.."

Link: http://www.sportcompactcarweb.com/tech/0506scc_handling_cornering/light_wheels.html
Some good info for the thread starter :regular_smile:

i think for wira/putra/satria the best offset was 40-45, 35 also can be use, but depends on tires..

gt_auto, how's cp-035 looks?? any pic??

gud info nehemiah..

i think for wira/putra/satria the best offset was 40-45, 35 also can be use, but depends on tires..

gt_auto, how's cp-035 looks?? any pic??

gud info nehemiah..

m@ttz,i think u saw the wheel before.it's made by racing hart.
sorry,i got no pic.:regular_smile:

This one?

racinghart_cp035.png

Wheelspecs.com :: Racing Hart CP-035 :: Racing Hart CP-035 (wheel*,rim*)

aiya.. found several times la but coz it was racing hart, i don't care la, should b in my list now..

is it true RNR lighter than rega?? don't think so..

no lar munky.i used to own rnr too.is not as light as rega.
when they produced this wheel back in the late 90's,they
use so call squeezed process.the wheel is light(back then)
but very vulnerable.easily crack on impact.what can we
expect with a late 90's technology....hehehe:_:

how bout the strength of light wheels?? last time my fren's ce28 got 2 spoke broken, sell it back, not dare to be on it..

guys..i think this quest has been repeated. but just wanna make sure myself. does taiwan rims at klang r good? in terms of durability, weight, n strengthness(not easy to bengkok) thanks guys~