lighter rims..worth it?

depends on how hard u friend hit it lar mattz.forged wheel like ce28 should be light n strong.it's like taking a hammer n hit on the spoke.if ur n not strong enough,u need
at least a few bang before u see a crack.if u like me,maybe one smash should break
it.....hehehe:_:

papagoines,hard wheel is ez to produce.lightweight r hard to made.ray's wheel
r famous for their lightness not durability.yes...their wheel r strong but not as
strong as those from oz or enkei or.......the list goes on.hardly see any ray's
wheel in WRC even though they're famous.

handsomeboy,taiwan wheel r as durable as other brand like jrd or bsa but
u get lightness as a bonus.yes....price r a bit higher compare to the local made
wheel.if u choosing a taiwan wheel,make sure u choose the famous one like
advanti or k-speed.

so lets bring hammer to chop shop n do test on their rims, only if ok then i buy, hahaha..

so if forged wheels was cracked or broken, can we repair it become as original?? any best shop in klang valley can do it nicely?? who knows, 1 year diet to buy type c, suddenly accident hitting divider, aiya..

so lets bring hammer to chop shop n do test on their rims, only if ok then i buy, hahaha..

so if forged wheels was cracked or broken, can we repair it become as original?? any best shop in klang valley can do it nicely?? who knows, 1 year diet to buy type c, suddenly accident hitting divider, aiya..

hahaha.....m@ttz,u go first,i follow close behind.at least if they catches u,i still
got time to run away.hahaha......walau,u broke ur type c ar?aduh....after the
repair,u will definitely sell.trust me.it looks ugly after the repair.if they skim back
the part that they weld,they gonna say that it wont last long n will crack again.

depends on how hard u friend hit it lar mattz.forged wheel like ce28 should be light n strong.it's like taking a hammer n hit on the spoke.if ur n not strong enough,u need
at least a few bang before u see a crack.if u like me,maybe one smash should break
it.....hehehe:_:

papagoines,hard wheel is ez to produce.lightweight r hard to made.ray's wheel
r famous for their lightness not durability.yes...their wheel r strong but not as
strong as those from oz or enkei or.......the list goes on.hardly see any ray's
wheel in WRC even though they're famous.

handsomeboy,taiwan wheel r as durable as other brand like jrd or bsa but
u get lightness as a bonus.yes....price r a bit higher compare to the local made
wheel.if u choosing a taiwan wheel,make sure u choose the famous one like
advanti or k-speed.
point taken...thanks GT_AUTO.... :X-:

guys..just wana ask some questions..cz planning to change wheels from my standard 13" wheels..

i'm planning to change to 15"...but need advise on wuts the best..i want good fc n reliable rims..so..shud i go 15" wit light tyres or 14"?
and if 15"..is there so much difference btween the ori wheels and the taiwan wheels replica..? in terms of weight and reliableness?
my thought is that i shud go with 15" lightweight ori wheels with light tyres to get the best fc..or is there not much difference? coz my car is standard 1.3 only..so need it to be lightweight if not no power lor rims too heavy..

the tyres weight dpends on wut ar guys? the series like 55..or 50..? or the brand? or the type?

any recommendations? with range of price if can..and shops to do it..?

thanx guys..sory sily questions..i duno dat much..newbie..

if u want good fc,stick to ur 13".it will be lighter compare to 15".tyre company
don't use lightness as a marketing strategy cos there's no such way to make
tyre light.but if u choose to go for a higher side wall like 55-60 series,it should
be much heavier then the 50 cos more rubber have to be use.:)

Tyre light...hmmmm tyre...

But rims can be lighter. If the 15" rims you get is lighter than your 13" rims, then FC should be same/better.

My Kancil went from 12" to 14" rims were around the same weight, and my FC remained same.

erm..ok..
so..i was wondering wut's the weight for my 13" rims? or around how heavy is it?
coz need to compare when want to buy new one..coz in some thread and in pictures of the rims say 500 smthing..wut is dat? the weight?

does it state at each rim how much they weigh? or how do i check if the rim is heavy or not? or do it the manual way by picking it up? hehe

any recommendation for a good light and durable 14" or 15" rims?
my budget is around +-rm1k for rims only..can suggest any 2nd hand ori or new taiwan rims around dat price ar?

tq...

I have one set of 14 inch BSA light rim .. only 6kg per rim.
Interest pls PM me. thanks.

Some rim shops have the weighing scale (the type use in pasar wan, simple and easy). If yours is stock rims (13", Wira ?? ) then try to look for the same rims in the tyre shop and weigh it first so that you know the original weight.

The 500 or 650 on the rims is NOT the rim's weight (500kg!?!?)

Then you can look for something which is lighter or at least SAME as your original weight.

For 14" RM500 - RM600 can get Taiwan rims. Not sure about 15" but maybe RM200 - RM300 more for Taiwan rims.

500kg on the wheel means impact tolerence of the wheel.the bigger
the no,the stronger the wheel but heavier n vise versa.

RG was 360kg rite?? means not strong enuf to punch wit hammer ehh??

Need your advise guys..

I am currently having a 15" rims with Yokohama A520 tyres (very good tyres, IMO). But my car isn't on sport suspension, it's on the standard factory LMST springs, but it's already lowered abit wan. Dunno why factory specs came that way.. So it's slightly lowered already punya.

I still find it abit heavy.. Dunno.

So should I revert back to an aftermarket 14" rims, get good tyres, and lower it with a good suspension system?

I heard that there are not much performance tyres for 14" rims?

Need your advise guys..

I am currently having a 15" rims with Yokohama A520 tyres (very good tyres, IMO). But my car isn't on sport suspension, it's on the standard factory LMST springs, but it's already lowered abit wan. Dunno why factory specs came that way.. So it's slightly lowered already punya.

I still find it abit heavy.. Dunno.

So should I revert back to an aftermarket 14" rims, get good tyres, and lower it with a good suspension system?

I heard that there are not much performance tyres for 14" rims?

if u like the look of 14" on ur car,why not.it's lighter too.about tyre,there's no
issue i think.there's a lot of good 14" tyre around.

guys..where can i lighten the rims?? any place suggest? my location is shah alam..but it can be done or not? im not so sure...plz mesej me if you have some information about it..i just want to reduce weight to my car...

u can skim ur wheel as much as u like bro to make it lighter.by the end of the
day u might get kill too if the wheel fail.don't do that bro.because a few grams
u willing to risk ur life meh?hehe....save up ur money n buy a better wheel that
r lighter.that's the way to go.no short cut.

yup, it will reduce the strength of ur wheel.. keep ur money n buy the light light one la, i got one if u want, hehe..

i'm newbie here.but i have sth 2 share.
lighter 1kg from each rim = the car lighter 8kg
4 rims from a car 4kg = the car lighter 32kg.
(i got this info from a magazine)
in my opinion
wan 2 lighter the wheel, must from the rims not from the tyre,
choose tyre consider bout it grip and quality, not its weight.
now i saving money 4 changing 6.5jx 15"ssr rim(any1 selling secondhand??),
michelin pp2, and absober. ^^