Mercedes Kaki..

When I said tried to get you on line, I meant I was trying to message you!! Call you for what? You my girl is it?! Not worth the mulah!! KIDDING!! I tried to message you on the msn but think you were not around.

Anyways your father has a 190E leather steering wheel which I will buy. I didn't know the 2.5-16 has a leather type wheel. What I wanted initially was a 124 steering from the 260E - 300E. But since this is available, am getting it!

Thanks!

Hey X,

Pictures are of the steering I wanted bit with no airbags. Looks sportier?

Hey uncle X,

i didn't get either wheels. What I was looking for was the one from the 2nd pic. The first pic would have airbags. No point putting in airbag steering with no airbags to work! Heh!! There is a no-airbag version for the 2nd pic. My uncle has a 300E so that's how I know it exists. The one am getting looks more like the standard 190E but with leather that's all.

225hp for NA not that impossible...especially i think i want to go for 2.3-16 or maybe 2.5-16 is therez no limit...well...if i were to go for 2.3...i think my final plan would be a set of individual throttle body...especially with forged parts i dont think pumping out ponies is a prob with benz engine...somemore with a cast iron block...i dont know if such upgrades had been done before...maybe i will be the white rat???besides that...a higher compression ratio like 11.0:1 or 12.0:1 would make it all possible...and less fuel consumption compare to other stock engines with same ponies...but again...i dont know if we have someone who can help me with that in malaysia...

well...kompressor engine might be a good choice...but i hate those electronics stuff...especially with complicated and over protecting ecu like most conti have...but down to the main point...i still prefer an NA engine...because i like itz sound when on hi rev...moreover i believe in the raw power of NA engine...juz an example...JGTC supras all use tranaxle NA engine rather than itz ori TT engine...
and for economical reason...Na is easier to take care...

oh yeah...i found a nice merc at a workshop behind summit usj...
itz writted 300SE or something...2 door...maroon...
damn elegant and sporty...
the best part is...i think i will make itz appearance as a guideline later in my exterior mod...=P

That's the thing with the R129, it was never a performance car. Even the AMG version. BUT the R230, either brabus or AMG, shit that's even quicker!! But yeah those things are damn heavy! That's why I prefer something smaller like that CLK. I think the CLK has a balance between weight and performance. Not too big, nice size and if anyone ever gets the AMG version, that'll kick ass!! But since some of us have 190Es, put a damn good 5litre engine in there and it would be even better and quicker!!

X-pression said:
ah.... SEC... loved it once.. but after considering the roadtax n fc.. cant maintain it la.... great car when u have black n some chrome trims.... absolute beauty for its age.

damn it justin.... i guess u must be my twin or something... coz im also setting my eyes on the r129... but the main issue is the weight... its just too heavy.. almost 2 tonne. if i have some cash... wud definitely go for the r230.. hahha... sl65 amg.... nice~
but reality always hits u on the head... road tax.. fc... aiii~~~~

heh heh... if worry bout da Fc and roadtax, then da SL300 would be just great...

yeah its a heavy car, but would u wan to drive fast wif da top down? i dun wan to spoil my hair-do by driving fast man... besides... its a civilized roadster... wanna get a fast car pls head towards Evo or Skyline direction bcos ur in da wrong thread :p

Hiya Just!

That's where you're wrong my friend!! Wanna drive fast? Get a190E 2.5-16, AMGs, M3 series. Point is not only jap cars are made for performance, so are continental cars. You should know that! So there for you Just, you're thinking of the wrong thing. Continental cars are as good as any jap cars and better. Everyone knows even tho a Skyline can beat an M3 in some ways, but in terms of high speed long distance run, they can eat any continental car's smoke!! So therefore my friend, you're saying the wrong thing by saying speed and performance is only for Evos and Skylines. Are you also forgetting about the Merc EVO I and II? Or the SLK and C class AMG 55 versions with F1 style transmission shifting? So you're saying that only jap cars are for performance? Then I think you're in the wrong thread then if you do not know these things. :P AND if you had read carefully I mentioned the CLK has a nice balance between size and performance. Please check out facts on continental car performance before even saying such a thing.... If you think jap cars are fast, what are the ones I mentioned then? Do you even know what's the CLK DTM?

Attached you will find some pics of not skyline/evo cars which to your assumption are not fast cars.

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/attachments/66321

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/attachments/66311

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/attachments/66312

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/attachments/66313

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/attachments/66319

Well said bro Nass. I hafta agree wid U over the performance difference and characteristics of japs and continentals. Hey it was the contis that started the speed mayhem! The Autobahn? That's the real deal ppl. No disrespect to Japs, they have great cars. But how often U get power and class at the same time like our contis? Got a few Jap cars which also combine class with power but most Jap powerhouses are often associated with 'Ah Bengs'. Do U ever see a Benz or Bimmer get that image? It speaks for itself. I do like Japs, who doesn't? But it's down to personal preference la. Wah lau.... CLK DTM...... a car to die for wei.... but again like the 190E Evos, I think they're all LHD. Sighs.

BTW bro Nass..... where on earth did U find the 2.8-16 pic? Is it a 190 engine? 2.8 litres and 4 cylinders! Wah.....

Hey Jason!!

I love Skylines and yeah no disrespect to jap cars!! But point is whoever said that continental cars can't be fast?:angry_smile: Fast cars as you said are personal preference. My fav Jap car is the Skyline R33 man!!

Oh yeah babe!! That's a 2.8-16v 190E!!! Originally it's a 2.5-16 but with the EVO I wing. Mind you it's not the Evo but whatever the guy did to it, it's one bad mother!! I found it at the site below. CHECK IT OUT!! I hope I could do something similar one day!!

http://mb190.tripod.com/readers/Bernard.html

Yeap the EVOs are all LHD but so is my car!! And somehow I feel comfy shifting from the left than the right tho! I read that when they made the getrag, it was meant for LHD cars. positioning of the gears play important role for speed!!

http://mb190.tripod.com/readers/Bernard.html

ha ha... of cos i know la bro...

even a E34 M5 can be tweaked to 1000+ bhp ... its done before.

just that for me Jap cars are pocket rockets, dynamites in a palm. whereas continentals are TNT in a big luggage bag. Thats wat i mean if u wan a fast car, go the sushi way... esp if ur into manic BHP figures.

For NA,i 'll take continentals anytime :)

Yo Jason!!

Since I know you're always on mybenz and all, what's your ride? Let's meet up!! I meet up with Chriz sometimes, he has the W123 with the Skyline engine. It's going to be one great mother tell you that!! I have met Mr X Press..... Nice cars he has... and like you, i've met the father as well. Great condition pairs of 190E they both have. Wish mine is in that condition...sob sob....:cry_smile:

Did you check out the 2.8? Tell me what you think!! Wish i could get my hands on the elevated suspensions. Those are very useful to have, with bumps and all. And that stroker kit can make a 2.5 to 2.8, awesome hardware! :cyclops:

Yeah man!! CLK GTR is THE car!!! It has an okay engine, that's because it's just a SOHC engine with a supercharger and those F1 styled flippers if I am not mistaken. I prefer DOHC engines no matter what!! And the killer looks!!! Overall makes a great machine!!! Too bad it's limited in numbers and so darn expensive!! :cry_smile: Would love to have that..... as I said again..... balance of size and performance....

nass...
wow...is that really a 2.8 engine for 190E???howz the stat???compare to the cosworth engine???

LOL...u all talking bout japs car and conti again...dont left me alone man...
well...honest speaking...i was once a japs car worshipper...i believe that conti are for looks and flirting...but when i put my hands on benz for the first time...i was shocked that why i underestimate them...as more as i help my mum in checking her car for probs and fixing this and that...i started to figured out how solid is it...and so i started to research in conti...

hmmm...with my level of understanding and research...my conclusion would be this...japs performance car are mostly with lower engine capacity and depends on forced induction...their chassis are slightly agile than the conti...and the most important is the japs are made "to be open"...juz like linux system where u can upgrade it in whatever way...

for the conti...they are full of muscle to me...they are hard and solid...their chassis are made to withstand high pressure and torque...as for the engine side...the conti performance school usually has NA engine with large capacity...
and upgrading a conti is not as simple as plug and play like the japs...conti need more "interelated parts" and thus kits are available rather than single parts...

of coz...these are juz my shallow ideas and very brief...there are some cars which are "special" in the sense that they might be a "feature mixture" between japs and conti school...

holy sh*t...i like that bernard's oettigger 190...damn shock...but wait...isnt oettinger is for volkswagon???

Yeah dude that 2.8 engine is from the 190E! It is the Cosworth just that that Oettinger company modded it!! Am sure you've read the specs by now. That's damn awesome!! I would love to get it stroked to 2.8!! If ever comes the time will let you know!!

You got that right about jap cars and turbos. They are more on small displacement with turbos.

Problem is, in Malaysia no one really mods a a Merc or BMW, they usually buy it as is. They aregreat cars to mod! Just have to know how. If you look on the streets, most people mod their contis just on looks. I don't blame them because the performance models are very expensive, like thos AMG 55 or those M3s.

But anyways let's meet up and talk 190Es or Mercs if you're free. Let me know!

Oetingger I think was a tuning company for any car until recently they're meant for Volks.