Mercedes Kaki..

yes, the March issue is the one wif the SEC on the cover.

Yeah, its kinda expensive, in Msia, it sells for almost RM31.

Though i buy Performance BMW more often. Thats also about RM33. That also i try to past issues cos its much cheaper.

Nass:
Hey went today see my car. hehehe still the same but in progress la. Drive shaft done and now waiting for my long shaft! Cool!!! Cant wait to test drive my ride! Anyway i really love those rims we saw the other day. Those 18" looks darn good in my ride! hahahaha....when are you fixing the gearbox?

Yo Chriiz,

You went to see your car? Thought you had something much more important today? Wack you lah!! heh heh!! Good that the drive shafts are done. I can feel the test drive now....:shades_smile:

When your car is out, we will venture to the place where the rims are at, then see if you'd get it or not. heh heh!! I like that place tho even tho the guy didn't help us that much. Because everythng was well placed and neat. Am sure if we got money and willing to buy then they will sure entertain us.:cry_smile:

Hey Port,:X-:

2.3-16v like the 2.5 are fuel injections. But not electronic. Yeah it's good to do the conversion and I'd do it, but not yet. Only when my car is user friendly and 100% done then will save teh cash to do it.

On the 15k, yes it supposed to be a halfcut. But in case it's not, the mechanic should list down the stuff you'd get for the price. Which includes brakes, maybe interior panels, seats etc etc. And like I said before, the price includes labour as well.

nass...
sigh...forgot bout the halfcut now...i already talked to my mum...she said she wants a new paint and recond the interior first...what a miss...
hmmm...i was thinking...i'm lack of knowledge and experience in working out an old car...maybe one day can we drive out our benz and have a tea somewhere???
i need some ideas on reconding the car...and maybe u could point out whereabout of that car should i focus on first???
also...i had pull out the front passenger carpet...i notice that there are cables and a steel plate covering something on the floor which i do not know...any idea what is it???since itz not an efi vehicle then i dont think itz an ecu right???

xpression...
hey...i got the same mindset there...
i planned to dismantle the lights to see what can be save probably this weekend...
anyone could tell me where is the skru part etc???
i had already bought the kit glass washing detergent and planned to use vim to polish my reflector part...any idea???
but then...the crystal thingy still in my mind...because creating a VIP look car is my dream...and i kind of think that this 190e is a good base...

oh yeah...got a few probs identify 190e here...
why i saw that most 190e on the street are with only one body color while my mum's has 2 tones(dark green on top and light green on lower chassis)???and why most 190e rear bumper are kind of "one piece" with the rear fender while my mum's is having seperate pieces???i mean the bumper itself is totally looked like another piece from the chassis...and why the hell ppl has nice black or beige interior while my mum's interior is following the chasis (dark green)???

X-pression, I'm not exactly sure, but shipping to M'sia is about £1k excluding insurance. Import duties are anybody's guess as I'm convinced that the more senior the person you know...

nasscmw, thanks though I'll most probably be putting it up for sale during summer. 3 cars, 1 guy, a bit over - kill!

By the way, I'll be back in M'sia at the end of May so any chance of a TT session? Would be nice to put a face behind all the nicks!

:beer:

Hey XP,

On bringing the car back, you can write to shipping companies from the UK and ask them. I've done that before and they told me how much it costs since the car has to be put into a container. SEcond thing to worry about is the AP, if it's to Malaysia as well as the per litre tax and the car tax (which depends on the age of the car). Ridiculous isn't it? The Malaysian Govt that is. But going to Australia you could ask them what you will go up against if you going to send it there instead.

Any big bookstores will sell the Merc Enthu Mag for about 30 to 31. Seen them already. STill pricey.... sucks!!:cry_smile:

Hey Port,

Since you're not doing the engine, I propose you do the paint job first. Then the interior. Why? If you do the interior first, the people will have to dismantle everything (which maybe including interfering with the wires) then put everything back together again and then before painting they'd dismantle the lights etc etc and will interfere with wires again. Wiring is the main issue. IF you do the paint first then the next thing is the interior, any wiring problems can be done last. BEsides that, you wouldn't want to get your new interior dirty, even tho that might not happen, but let's not risk it. Therefore, spray the car then do the interior. It's like building a house, always the structure and paint before all the final bits like wiring are done. That's how alot of old cars are restored as far as I know. I read alot of muscle car restoration. My fav cars before Mercs (sorry to say heh heh).

Oh yes just remembered, if there are small things on the engine you'd like to fix first, then fix the engine before the paint. Like air cond problems or something.

Hi mate.

I need an ECU (PMS) for Mercedes C200 (W202). Do you know where can I get used/new ECU (PMS) ?

My current ECU number: 018 545 1132

Thanks....

xpression...
thanks for the help...
oh yeah...how to identify exactly the type of 190e...i mean maybe like 2 tonne color is only for 1.8 or something like that???
LOL...i would love to restore that...but when i'm doin more of the research i'm getting greedy...want this want that...dunno down to the last moment how will my expenditure look like...LOL...
oh yeah...juz ask for ur personal opinion...do u think young guys like us will keep an 190e as toy and play with it for years until ure old???i mean at least...will u do that???

nass...
after reading ur suggestion and others...i kind of have another thoughts...
since that i'm not using the 190e as daily car and i planned to get a whole halfcut...so i think i wont touch the entire space below the hood...maybe i will fix the power window first so i can switch down the window...and other basic basic stuff like the rubber seal etc...
muscle car...hmmm...then u probably like the shelbys and the car in gone in 60 secs...forgot itz name...
u must be enjoying the show "Rides" in astro too...
well...i kind of like old cars too...but i like the japs muscle car...like the old celicas or trueno with 2T-G...

Any forums for mercedes benz kaki in malaysia.... cause i need more feed back on my question.. after reading through this tread its the same old fellas replying.. anyways i hope u guys can help...

I'm driving a W124 230E, inline 4.... the highway fuel comsumption is simply beautiful... but once i go into the city.. from 10.5l per 100km its goes up to about 16l per 100km.. woo thats killing my pocket badly.. compare to my dads w202 c200 this is a real killer man.. so i was thinking is there something wrong with my car or is it normal and i was considering to do a few minor mods to the car.

1. changing an open pod air filter, i don't like the conventional air filter for the w124 just so big.. and looks quite ineffective too me.. was hoping with a better air flow the comsumption would improve abit...

2. Changing the extractor sounded like a good idea to me but i'm not sure will it work, the original is a 4-1.. but because of the engine layout i dun think so it would be easy to get a 4-2-1 and it would cost a bomb for a 4-2-1 right.

3. thinking of getting the engine head polish and balance, any mechanic out there that u guys know that have done mercedes engine's before.. just trying to maximise the potential of a 2.3 engine.. the total horsepower output is less than a 1.6 honda.. thats so sad.. haha... thanks for any suggestions..

ibestriker,

Have you called those halfcut places for your ECU? They might have it. Like BA Autoparts, Sun Eng Hup and Chan Used Parts just to name a few. If they do have it please haggle. If not they'd offer you cut throat prices.

Hiya Port,

Going to get half cut? then do your body first. Why? Cause you said you're going to change the rubber seals. Best do body then the rubber.. If you install new rubber then right before the spraying it has to be taken off. What happens? Rubber damage!! Hey dude, better get it straight on what you want to do with your car... Think about what you want to do with it, If you're going to sell it in the next few years why waste the money? Wanting your car is up to you no one can tell you how to keep it or how long to keep it.

You don't call Jap cars jap muscle! Jap don't have muscle cars!! They don't even qualify as a muscle car!! Call them Jap classic sports cars. But no way no how they're muscle cars. Why? Cause for example, the cars you've mentioned, they're not even above 5 litres! They're not even 2 litres! As close to muscle a jap car can get are the Skylines. This is just because they're powerful. Besides that none are considered muscle cars. And oh yes babe, i loves the Shelbys and Mustangs etc etc.....Muscle cars translate to raw brute power V8 cars. But cars like Ferraris aren't considered muscle cars. The only Mercedes which was ever considered a Muscle car was the old SEL450 6.9 (I think that's the correct numbers) and also the 500E/E500 W124s. The SEL has a 6.9 litre V8!! I've seen two upfront and they look normal. BUT would love to step into one if ever got a chance!!

Oh by the way, my brother owns a 1977 Celica. Nice. Reminds me of those old Mustangs. With a Trueno engine.

Hey Dino,

City driving, any car would use up alot of petrol. My dad used to have the W124 230E as well. That's a damn nice car. I always think it's better than the C Class. But don't forget it's a damn old engine too! The C class has a (W202 that is) 2 litre DOHC EFI engine. Guess that's why petrol isn't so bad compared to the 230E, which has a SOHC fuel injection (not electronic).

I do not know how effective are those pod filters are because i remember someone said that if I change the filter of my 190E to those performance ones, it wouldn't be effective cause they'd be sucking up hot air instead of cold. They're only useful when you're going at high speed. Like highway driving and racing and such.

You want to change your extractor? I do not know what happens, but I do know it would change the low end and high end power or something. I could be really off but it has something to do with that I think. Someone once said Mercs were already made to be efficient. Optimising low and hi end power to give the ultimate cruise no matter the litre.But please do not compare them to Jap cars. Very different.

Port and polish? No idea if my mechanic can do that but he's done tonnes of mercs and he's good with them and he used to be a racer. If you're interested let me know and I can give you his number.

Ah thats is okay... any website that i can get more information on mercs... Anyways all this thing i do understand.. I'm a mechanical engineer undergrad.. so was thinking if i can further improve the car .. u are right about the extractors and about the air filter a proper heat shields would solve the hot air problem..

if its a jap car i wouldn't have this kind of headache as i spend quite alot of time playing around with jap's cars.. but with conti.. wooo big headache... finding manuals also prove to be a big big difficulty... thanks anyways.. cheers...

I prefer going for the international forum below...

http://forums.mbworld.org/forums/index.php

You'd get tonnes more info as it's from people around the world. Try both mybenz and that. I think it'll help.

Check out the W124 owners as well. In the forum there is a picture thread. Very nice! That's when my love for the 124 increased!

Hey guys,

As far as i know on sports filter, for normal road going use there is no point. Why? Even tho you do have heat shield most of the time you're still going to drive in the city. There is already alot of heat in the city. You're not driving fast, you're driving slow. There are always cars infront of you and you're just sucking in hot air. Why it works on performance cars is because you're driving them fast, not slow. Therefore cool air. Supposedly the standard ones are good enough for both different types of driving but of course not great on extreme performance. The 190E 2.5/2.3 has a good intake that's because the air intake is just beside the radiator. Therefore you get a ram air like process. As for performance filters, each time it is installed it's always placed behind the radiator and air (cool) only goes in when the car goes extremely fast, hence the reason why they're used best during fast drives or races. With a normal filter, if I am not mistaken, the standard merc like the W124 has a tube like intake which goes direct to the filter. That sorts of cool the air right before the filter. If the filter comes before tube, you're sucking in hot air.

Hey Dino,

Forgot to mention that a heat shield only shields any components from heat. Doesn't do much to curb the air intake into the filter. If you have a heat shield around your filter, it will only protect it against heat eminating from the engine, turbos etc etc. But will not do any wonders in trying to have cold air intake. Once you're moving, air inside the engine is already circulating.

I always thought the best wait to get air into your in engine is to have some sort of direct air intake from the filter all the way to the front of the car. Like those old muscle cars where their air intake is on the hood!! But let's not try that on a Merc. I'd cry the thought of cutting up a hole on my hood even tho it's damn tempting..... I remembered one day my signal lights dropped off, I can feel the heat coming out through the hole.

Erm... i get what most of you people are saying and thanks alot for helping me.. honestly speaking not to offend any of you guys..

I have work in a racing firm b4.. dealing with skylines and stuff.. haha so after working with those cars.. go abit sad with the performance of my car.. and when i compare to fuel comsumption it was about the same.. it got even sadder.. but i didn't have the time to look up for the manual for a w124.. i thought the kerb weight of a w124 is about 1300++kg.. it was stated in my manual... and a proper cold air intake would help.. thats is one thing for sure.. even in jam situation.. because normally the air intake is below the bumper which is cooler air.. the performance air filter i was actually considering was a carbon fiber bmc air filter.. which is properly insulated..

I truely enjoy conti cars like benz n bmw.. but for now i'm still young but my dad hates japs car.. so no chance for evo n subarus... thats is why i'm just trying to improve the car a little.... and yes i said i do know that under city driving the fuel comsumption will increase by a certain percentage.. thats is certain...

And x-pression no need to say sorry for anything.. its ur point of view.. i agree with u.. its just that most things u said i understand already.. thats why i was posting here hopping to improve.. as i'm finish my part time job with the firm.. i have wanna try my own project on my w124 maybe by the end of this year during my holidays.. so i need feed back.. i spend 3 months working and learning how to do machinig for cars... so now i wanna apply what i know to my own car.. and i believe a 2.3 block does has potential..

and about hp in drags.. hp is one thing.. aerodynamics is one mroe thing.. handling another thing.. but when u go 2 the track.. wooo.. all that counts... and kinda sucky when a 1.6 honda ek trashing u around the corners.. hehehe..... like i said.. hope i dun offend any of u.. benz is a nice car.. just that i still love riding real fast when the road permits and its safe.. other than that.. i actually use the car very lightfooted.. as i prefer my mum to use this car.. i use another car... just that i love the w124 looks and was trying to make it more aggresvie

hahaha 500E... that time i really wouldn't care about FC edi would i.. hahaha... lets see how my financial status would be like at the end of the year.. and n would know what engine can be permitted.. hehee

Hey guys,

any new inquiries lets try to start a new thread. I feel that this is get slightly getting out of hand. It started out as Mercedes Kaki for goodness sake!! BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA!! Seems like we're going to the Guiness World Book of Records!!

Hey X Press,

I saw a smashed but restorable W124, so tempted to buy it. No guilt in getting rid of the engine. Oh well... another day for that.... Sad sad

Hey Dino,

Since now that you've mentioned you want a bit of kick, as in performance which should have been highlighted earlier, how about putting in a 2.3/2.5 16v Cosworth engine? Easy to install and it's almost plug and play (that sounds too easy BUT it almost is plug and play). A friend used to have that engine in his W123 and he said it's quite good. You'd get more hp than a 2.6 and a twin cam race engine. Anyways just a suggestion so that you can still retain the Mercedes feel all the way with some performance.

Hiya dude,

all I'm saying is why not start a new thread for a new topic/problem. It seems like we are talking about everything in one thread. Of course there's nothing wrong. It's like saying we are using this thread from tire problem to engine problems to whatever. Yes it is a Mercedes Kaki thread and it did started out about Merc maintenance. What I'm suggesting is maybe if we want to talk about a rim issue let's start another thread, engine transplants another thread. At least it will be in order. But of course there's no problem in doing this way. At least let's say if someone was looking for engine mercedes transplant thread, the title says it all. But hey, if everyone wants to use just this thread it's great. That was just a suggestion. I find it abit messy that's all. We can still continue from here. Just that if anyone would like to find any particular information we have discussed they would have to go through the whole thread just to look for it and it's 11 pages long and going on strong. Maybe there should be another section just for Mercedes under zth they way they have honda, toyota etc etc under japanese & Korean makes.

As you know I have already bought the 2.3 16v engine from our other dear Merc enthusiast, and after seeing the W124 bit smashed up, so tempted to ask about it since it looks like no one wants it so that i can put in the engine. You know how heart breaking it is to see a merc like that. Everything's okay with it. The smashed up part is just the front part of the car. But I don't think it's that bad just that needs some body work for the hood to be closed again. Lights are missing and I think they were stolen because the car looks like it has been there for ages and we both know how much it will cost to replace those! But it still looks good AND only a 230E therefore no regrets in pulling out the engine and putting in another. No rust or whatsoever. If it was a 280, 300 or 260 I'd have alot of thoughts to just pull out the engines as those engines are the premium ones during those days. But no money cause I want to study again. Even my 190E will be put on hold. New rims...new paint job... That's all I ever wanted!! :cry_smile:

Wooo 2.3 16v engine.. is it a SOHC or DOHC what is its fuel management?? i'm real curious.. let me search for it..