Mercedes Kaki..

Consider yourself corrected! :biggrin: No offense.

The model that became the E280 post - facelift was the 260E. Other than the W123 280E, I don't think there ever was another 280E model.

:tee:

well, X-pression,

actually the E280 is fitted with multivalve engine and its only available in the masterpiece model and not in the earlier models.
but i have a problem that maybe someone here could help me, it is my steering box, whenever i drive through uneven roads or yellow line, there are this irritating knocking noise coming out from the strreing box and after checking with many mechinics I was told that the steering box knocking noise is normal and i should just live with it ... is it true? how about other onwers of W124? faced the same problem as well?

haha my dad also owns a w124.... a 260E rebadged as E220. And Samhui is right, there is a E280, my fren's dad has one. Dun think it's a multivalve though.. normally Mercs will have a whistle blowing badge that says like '300CE-24' or '2.5-16' so I dun think the E280 has more than 12 valves. But doesn't really matter lar. The w124 is essentially a luxury car, not meant for robust driving. The engine is smooth and the car is solid though I must say. Very good car that I'll recommend to anyone.

As for Samhui's prob, I have never experienced it before in my dad's car wor.... his steering is okay. Only now the engine eats up black oil, probably needs overhaul :thumpdown . I also dunno wat to do with that car... haih.....

Hey Michael, if U go mybenz, which forum U join wan? As far as I know, now that 190E or W201 forum is dead. I've got questions, but dunno where to ask. Appreciate sum help

hey guys I noe this is irrelevant but I need all the Benz sifus to help me. My dad is selling his W124 E220. Price can anyone give advice? As far as I know, it should be 50K negotiable la. The car itself is in good condition. Year 92. 2.6 Engine 12 Valves. It's an upgraded Masterpiece W124. Colour is Metallic Gold. My dad says he doesn't need the car like he used to. Plus the road tax and maintenance is not something my dad wants to pay for cos we rarely use it. So if anyone interested pls tell me..... can anyone tell me where to put this up in MyBenz? My contact no is 012-9154884 Jason haha. Thanks ya tai kors

hi jason,

why not u use it instead of selling it off like that? leather seats ah ? what color ha?

thanks,

any kedai potong to recommend in the klang valley? w lots of merc parts?

Selling

Hi guys, I want to sell my car. I know this might not the correct place but I see no point posting in For Sale forum, then selling Mercs.

Ok, cut it short, below are my specs.

Mercs. C220. Fully imported from UK. The car assemble in Germany. I still hv the certificate. Manufacturing date is 94 and imported in was in 1999 December. Self import, when I was studying in UK. I still hv my imported documents (AP) in original forms.
Mileage is just 100,000+ miles done. Convert still less than 170, 000 km. Road tax is RM500+. Condition is good. Engine still in good condition and air cond is superb cool and factory fitted with heater, superb hot. All original parts. 16" wheel, using Continental tyre, just change end of 2004. Color is blue.
This is a reliable car. Since the last I bought in 97, I only done major parts servicing, cost me RM2.6k in last december. 7 yrs only spend RM2.6k changing parts. WHich is RM371 per year.
Doing servicing in every 5000 km using fully synthetic oil (Castrol RS) and 20, 000km service in auto-gear oil, all using original parts.
Fully tank can run 400 miles (400 x 1.667) = 666 km. Full tank cost RM95. RM95/666, equal to 14 cents per km. This figure is daily driving in city are.

Selling RM82k.

Any question pls PM me or reach me at maxis 5129536. Soo.

Thanks.

X-pression said:
i thought in autotrader got one chop shop advertise there which is specialised in merz parts.... y dun u try ur luck in mybenz.org the sifus there shud have a lot of places to recommend....

moppy - great car... reading the list kinda make me wonder... merz can go that far with a full tank? mine only goes about 200 - 250km with rm50 ... :'(

i am in mybenz.org too dude. No help so far.I tried calling a few..all also dont have my stuff.esh.u have a 16v kit rite? where do you get your replacement bodyparts?

X-pression

Yes, possible. If you hv the C220 I believe the fuel consumption is much more better than C200. By the way, some technical things you might not believe that, fuel can vapourise, right? If you fill your tank only RM50, I guess that will be about half tank, which means that half tank is not fill with petrol, as a result this will allow your another half tank of fuel vapourise more inside the fuel tank. Do you agree? So, I would suggest that you do full tank refilling everytime, if possible. If you want to save more fuel, pump in the fuel when it reach half tank, but I believe this could create a little problem, since not much ppl like to go to the fuel station.

moppy said:
X-pression

Yes, possible. If you hv the C220 I believe the fuel consumption is much more better than C200. By the way, some technical things you might not believe that, fuel can vapourise, right? If you fill your tank only RM50, I guess that will be about half tank, which means that half tank is not fill with petrol, as a result this will allow your another half tank of fuel vapourise more inside the fuel tank. Do you agree? So, I would suggest that you do full tank refilling everytime, if possible. If you want to save more fuel, pump in the fuel when it reach half tank, but I believe this could create a little problem, since not much ppl like to go to the fuel station.

is this true? the vaporising thingie?

Iv'e heard of this before.. but I never thought that it was real loh. my gawd.. pumping full tank would be quite stressful.
^_^ lots of $$

Yes, theoritically, 2.2 lit fuel consumption definitely is higher than 2.0 lit. The reason you find why C200 fuel consumption more is that C200 less power than C220. Many said that C200 is under power but not C220. If a car you drive which is less power, you leg will hv to press hard on the pedal. In this way of driving, you will burn more petrol. Agree?

Simple to make a calculation of how much fuel you burn in your car. Don't care about the money you pump in.
1) First fill full tank of fuel in a petrol station. You don't hv to wait until you empty your tank. Fill until as full as possible.
2) Reset the clock to zero.
3) Drive around town and empty your fuel tank.
4) Go to the petrol station, where you pump previously. Remember go back to the same petrol station and same petrol pump. Pump to full as full as possible like previously.
5) Write down the distances (km) you hv done. Write down the amount and lit. you hv pump.

Then you can do a simple calculation. For example the distance I made is 666km. And the price I pay for it to full tank is RM95. Which means is RM95/666km = 0.14+ sen.

Calculation for future.

Let say currently petrol price is RM1.62 / lit and I hv pump 58.65L, which is RM95 for my currently full tank.

If in future petrol price up RM1.70 / lit, then 1.70 x 58.65 which is RM99.70 for full tank.
Then if one full tank I can make 666km, then 99.70/666 = 0.149 sen / km

Actually you don't need to know how much of the petrol price. The most important is you hv to know, how far your car can go in full tank. Just a roughly figure.

X-pression said:
wah~~ good calculation... r u an accountant or wat? :lol:
very good in money matters.... :)
now im kinda thinking of getting new engines into my old car... petrol very expensive now....cant stand the extra cost la.. salary also didnt increase but everything else increase.... :angry:

no la... this is da normal n common sense way to calculate fuel consumption la...

X-pression said:
rev190

moppy
C220 better than c200? u sure ar? ur theory kinda illogical la.. i thought higher displacement means more fuel... like 2.0 n 4.0 huge different oh... haha.... but duno la.. mayb u r right...
hm.. theorically ur comment is kinda right.. but who wants to keep on go to the petrol station la... some more if like that i cant keep track of how many kms i can go... coz u know la the petrol price keep going up.. susah to keep track oh.. so i always pump rm50 n c how far i can go.. then i mah know how to drive to prolong the kms...

this is one myth that is very misleading. larger displacement does not mean higher fuel consumption. It has evything to do wif power to weight ratio. Let me give u an example. My 2.8 528i 3 speed auto has better fuel consumption than my 520i 5 speed MANUAL. thats bcos the 2.0 in the large 5 series is underpowered, thus u hav to step on the accelerator more, causing more fuel to be burnt in da process.

even if there is higher fuel consumption on a slightly higher displacement car (such as C200 against the C220) the difference wont b much.

lolz Michael. I think all da ppl driving 190E in ZTH are in this tread lor. BUt nth wan lar, nex time we call all da Benz Kaki for tt la the more the merrier haha! But seriously I wanna meet all da ppl drivin 190s lor. But if anyone wanna tt jz give me a ring.... wow U guys know what happen that day? I was goin home then on da way saw a 190 like mine. Black. As I got nearer, 2.5-16! I went nex to him and smiled, then we raced haha! OMG damn stupid, after that we were side by side I was asking him where he stay and all that so we were practically hoggin da road lor! Damn his car was NICE! But that guy also nice guy la. Sorry tai kors I really need help and opinions from all of U la. My dad's W124 260E one guy came and offer 40k. I think that's too lil. What do U guys think? If anyone still interested can still call me 012-9154884. But how much do U guys think this car is worth, my parents really want to sell it. Not worth keepin, though it is a good car. Appreciate sum help :rock:

Nope, I'm not an accountant, and if you think only accountant can work that out, then you are wrong. That's an engineering calculation.

X-pression said:
wah~~ good calculation... r u an accountant or wat? :lol:
very good in money matters.... :)
now im kinda thinking of getting new engines into my old car... petrol very expensive now....cant stand the extra cost la.. salary also didnt increase but everything else increase.... :angry:

panda said:
skyline86...I have a W123. I always liked classic Merc cars. Where are you located?. Perhaps we can meet up and chat more. I'm in Damansara area.

newbie here.

my dad has one W123 Blacktop engine.
Fully restoration on body become as original mount and new 2K paint.

Cheers!

trdturbo said:
newbie here.

my dad has one W123 Blacktop engine.
Fully restoration on body become as original mount and new 2K paint.

Cheers!

r u referring to Toyota Blacktop engine? hmm.cant really understand wat ure trying to say..sorry

rev190 said:
r u referring to Toyota Blacktop engine? hmm.cant really understand wat ure trying to say..sorry

brader, Mercedes W123 model has 2 type of series engine for 2000CC,
old one call Silvertop
Newer engine call Blacktop.

Obviously Blacktop is better than silvertop,just like same concept with Toyota engine 20V Silvertop and Blacktop.haha

X-pression brader know W123 blacktop engine right?

and me.....driving toyota SEG la..

W123 classic car is my dad one...haha....
one day will show you guys the car pic...

CHEERS!

trdturbo said:
brader, Mercedes W123 model has 2 type of series engine for 2000CC,
old one call Silvertop
Newer engine call Blacktop.

Obviously Blacktop is better than silvertop,just like same concept with Toyota engine 20V Silvertop and Blacktop.haha

X-pression brader know W123 blacktop engine right?

and me.....driving toyota SEG la..

W123 classic car is my dad one...haha....
one day will show you guys the car pic...

CHEERS!

oh izit?sorry then.Thought all older mb engines have 'blacktop's :tongue:

Rev190.

it's ok...
mercedes kaki....ma...share share information.

as my close friend own one workshop specialized in luxury car like Mer, BMW, Jaguar in my places..

According to my friend, he said W124....engine...has alot problems ....especially the the fuel pump......

CHEERS.....