Mivec 1.8

guys... if a 1.8 mivec suddenly loss its compression.. (RPM climbing really lembab..).. what maybe the cause?

Originally posted by chelnick@Nov 26 2004, 19:08
worn pistol rings???
shouldnt if piston ring kong will give white smoke from ur car?.. but no white smoke liao.. :unsure:

lol.. dunno la dude.... lost of compression... never happened to me before ;)

putera...

not being offensive, but 0-100 kmh in 6.7sec GTi??

whoo... quite impossible, i'm looking forward to know what you hv done to it.

if as u said to order and wait, guess i'll do that then...

but i would like to know how much you guys have spent it? head + installation+ miscellaneous, is JPJ approve?

my car currently got one problem,

when it runs through some uneven roads, my steering keeps

swaying left and right; and one funny thing is that my alignment was

good when i'm sitting alone, but while another pessenger besides me,

the steering jus' move to the right side, any idea please?

lol... could be your steering bushing....

btw if you wanna go 1.8...

what you can do now is get the 1.8 block first...

do whatever you want with it ... blueprint, PnP, scribble your name or whatever...

after your finished with it then only install....

save your time from taking it apart time and time again

Mon,
Well to me dyno readings are just a benchmark..more like a hint or clue in the somehow neverending pursuit (puzzle)of car mods and performance. However am more keen on the power delivery across the band, the torque curves (other than the fairer kind! :P ) and air-fuel ratio. Elements for further fine tuning on road. To me, I have resign to the fact that how the car perform on the tarmac outweighs that hard humpin' on the dyno rollers..

Eh? From 1.8 to 1.6 ah? Active Motorsports.. yeah..they used to tune my car since I was using their Group N re-chipped ECU (am keeping it as souvenir..love that chip though.. real hot salsa, once pop can't stop.. :D ) Too bad they gone bust before I went further..but Autobags continued with the works around the engine (not inside)..for that 130+ atw and tuning my craving for top end. Well..those were the days..and yup..they love to use the 1.6 Proton pistons..higher compression maa! (Even team matrix was using that... ;) )

Gibod,
U using the Mivec pistons on the 4g93 block ah? Maybe should check your head..err.. engine head for gasket leaks. U using 0.4 or 0.8 gaskets? Maybe should check the intake manifold too for leaks or cracks. Mivec manifolds are kinda weak especially at the engine side. If everything is okay.. need to do compression test and then check your lower.. i mean engine block. :)

Lancelot,
As Chelnick had put it.. u got too much for..ooppss free play on the steering and main culprit are the steering bushes. Mine koyak 5 months upon taking delivery of my car then. Get the Superpro PU bushes which cost around RM80 and installation should be around RM50. I did mine with another round of "balut" with some cut-out tyre tube. U can get the bushes at Pentagon Sg. Besi(Chris), Hokomoto Batu Caves, YS Khong Tmn Mayang (did mine here) or my current tuner Supertune Batu Caves. And remember.. a PU bush in hand is more worthwhile than two getah celup bush..or George W Bush or watever bush up or down there! :D

Any mods other than stock are deemed likely to be illegal but then again..there are many technical and legal loopholes..not forgetting the kopi tarik kau kau one!!

[sexual innuendos intended]

Originally posted by gibod_78@Nov 26 2004, 14:33
but usually.. mivec 1.6 then add in 1.8 block..
or
1.8 doch engine... then add in mivec head.. itu saja.. :D

..wat block wud the 1.8 from?... 4g93?..or sumtin else?
sorry ar.. if u find these questions silly..
i dunno much...still tryin to learn here..

gspot,

so as you've said that it's the steering bush,

how about the alignment in my steering?

when driving alone, alignment straight, however with

another pessenger beside me, it goes to the right side...

it's very bothering me, please tell me what's the problem please...

PnP? Camshaft?

i wonder whether my car can do that, i'm using da, SIEMENS ECU version

of sGTi; some ppl tells me that i must change the Siemens ECU to others, i.e.

changing the head to mivec, then it will be easier to do other mods, is it true?

thanks guys,

i think when u wanna change to mivec head u hav to change the ECU as well...if not mivec will not work...tats wat i read from other thread la...hope thats correct

Originally posted by chelnick@Nov 26 2004, 19:31
where's hyper revv???
it's at pandan indah...cheras
behind menara maxisegar
imo....they r quite a great workshop....good in both turbos and na...especially mitsubishi's production...

Originally posted by calvin9683@Nov 27 2004, 18:52
i think when u wanna change to mivec head u hav to change the ECU as well...if not mivec will not work...tats wat i read from other thread la...hope thats correct
not really.... vafc may help to engage mivec.... :lol:

GTi,

what is the name of the workshop at pandan indah?

can anyone help me on the alignment of my car?

when driving alone, alignment good;

extra passenger beside, the steering goes to the right side...

why>?

please...

Lancelot,

Hmmm.. car alignment X-file case huh? Must be one heck of a heavy weight passenger u r carrying! :) Maybe should check ur abs, lower arms etc....

Lance,
May be going to check out some Mivec parts... wanna go ah?