Mivec Turbo

:mouth_closed: I got a friend who's GSR kicks out 240hp on wheels boosting 1 bar with a TD05 and stock internals. He did try a 1.5 bar run it gave out 280hp.

We believe and almost can make sure that when we looking at this Mivec turbo dyno chart, if let it boosted up to 2.0kg/cm2. , it definitely can have big improvement in hp output. But you will never do this when you consider the reliability and wear & tear of a dairy driven engine, if you don't do this, it does mean you don't have an sucessful mods here.

This should be the main reason why some tuners wanted to D-Tuned their engines!

:mouth_closed: I know of a waja bolt on turbo (on the stock waja 1.6 engine) which kicks out 180hp with 0.8 bar boost with a TD04L... all thanks to the standalone. With his previous setup on a piggy back ECU, he was only getting around 130hp at the same boost readings.

If this really happaned. It means this tuner does not have enough ECU know-how to bring the stock ECU to a much higher level of modification. this is why some tuner always find it is easier to disturb most standalone ECU but not stock.

Another thing we always in doubt is: How good is his standalone tuning after couple of time taken when compare to stock unit.

Hi everyone pls calm down...

why i started here is to share all the information, because we are still learning from each other, to gain the knowledge to built our very own powerfull car, there is always another monster every now and then.

yes tuner is very important, we are not saying standalone not good, but the time frame to tune a standalone maybe will takes more compare with "example" PS(just an example no advert).

so in my case, i travel around kl and pj all the day, for me i dont think have extra time to let my car all the time back workshop to tune insteed using PS i can fine tune my self.

same as some of you, do you willing to let ur mech tune ur car for few days when you have no extra transport? with a little knowledge you can play around with PS and makes ur rides better just few seconds...

why i say so because thats my daily car, and its not a "TOY CAR", thats all

soo much advertising from people who don't even know what DETUNED means...

reference:
No money to pump petrol so try to reduce the fuel consumtion

So lame no.1-no.4 excuses summore...
In order for a stock engine to blow... something HAS to go wrong... otherwise it will NEVER blow engine. Everything has been engineered to perfection when a car leaves a factory.
Why bother posting any dyno charts here... what ever we post up here oso u guys will surely bang wan.. say urs better.

Cheamys,
Don't think half the people knows what you're talking about...
Wow... just main critisize other tuners huh?
I wonder why that 'tuner' u critisizing about is a workshop manager?
I wonder why that 'tuner' u critisizing tunes so many standalone without problems"
I wonder why that 'tuner' u critisizing is the HKS Official distributer?
I wonder why that 'tuner' u critisizing tuned the EK which won the merdeka millenium race?

I wonder... ?

there goes 4g92t with MORE advertising. =Þ

wanna advertise do it PROPERLY... take criticism positively... else how to improve?

The only reason people talk bad about other products/tuners is because they can't think of a reason why theirs is better.

:mouth_closed: Wow... just main critisize other tuners huh?

alvin24, You should be the one who first started to critis.. other stock Ecu users and tuners.

To you : A waja bolt on turbo (on the stock waja 1.6 engine) which kicks out 180hp with 0.8 bar boost with a TD04L... all thanks to the standalone. With his previous setup on a piggy back ECU, he was only getting around 130hp at the same boost readings? ..... from here what you mean 4g92t is too stupid of not to rip out the stock ECU for higher hp? or else he can gain much more flex power from the standalone with all his present set-up

:mouth_closed: I wonder why that 'tuner' u critisizing about is a workshop manager?
I never mean to critis anyone. What i know is some product representative will never like to maximized or utilised the stock ECU because they have to try their best to sale their own standalone unit as many as possible.

Anyway, we shouldn't look down on stock Mivec ECU, we can not simplely think it is
easy to outperform the existing 4g92t's Mivec turbo by using any standalone.

Pls contribute contructively.

Last edited by a moderator:
Please contribute constructively

Last edited by a moderator:
cheamys said:
:mouth_closed: I got a friend who's GSR kicks out 240hp on wheels boosting 1 bar with a TD05 and stock internals. He did try a 1.5 bar run it gave out 280hp.

We believe and almost can make sure that when we looking at this Mivec turbo dyno chart, if let it boosted up to 2.0kg/cm2. , it definitely can have big improvement in hp output. But you will never do this when you consider the reliability and wear & tear of a dairy driven engine, if you don't do this, it does mean you don't have an sucessful mods here.

This should be the main reason why some tuners wanted to D-Tuned their engines!

:mouth_closed: I know of a waja bolt on turbo (on the stock waja 1.6 engine) which kicks out 180hp with 0.8 bar boost with a TD04L... all thanks to the standalone. With his previous setup on a piggy back ECU, he was only getting around 130hp at the same boost readings.

If this really happaned. It means this tuner does not have enough ECU know-how to bring the stock ECU to a much higher level of modification. this is why some tuner always find it is easier to disturb most standalone ECU but not stock.

Another thing we always in doubt is: How good is his standalone tuning after couple of time taken when compare to stock unit.

I hope both side are participating in the 2006 Sepang Drag battle,Last year PS product has at least 2 cars in the Category A&2cars in Category B .We as spectators will be the judge....ok ah?

wow... yet ANOTHER new account created... =Þ ...haih...

lancersr20,
since we're arguing about standalone vs piggy back... needless to say the drag battle winners are all running on standalones... DUH!

antidyno,
i'm sorry... i never recalled me 'banging' on people's dyno chart... which sentence exaclty pointed that out? mind quoting?

cheamys,
I'm sorry... i also never recalled critisizing other tuners... which sentence EXACTLY pointed that out? Mind quoting? Unlike ur criticism towards other tuners are pretty obvious...

4g92t said:
Mivec First Stage Tubo Kit Include:

-Evo Turbine

-Tial 38mm Wastegate

-GSR Manifold

-1.5mm Metal Gasket

-10.5 Compression Piston

-HKS SSQV

-Evo Intercooler

-4x450cc Injector

-Aisan 220lph Fuel Pump

-PS Air-Fuel Enhancer – II

-PS Boost-Cut Eliminator

-PS Peak Air:Fuel Mixture Analyser

-PS Digital Turbo Booster – II

-PS V-Tec Controller

from what i see, i would like to think this topic is a standalone vs PS products :)

from what i see so far, i do not see anything great in PS Air-Fuel Enchancer - II , care to eloborate about the feature.

here is the specifications i got from the net.

[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] The PS. Air-Fuel Enhancer - II [AFE-II] is designed to enhance the air-fuel mixture ratio to the highly modified EFI system engines. It alters the air-fuel ratio by conditioning the air mass signals to the sophisticated fuel computer unit. It is a device, which is ideal for re-mapping of the engine fuel feed controls, especially when the ECU is not designed to handle a level higher than the original mixture requirement. It features a 50% -/+ mixture adjustment of the accelerator position – ACCEL I / II, which will be either at idle or at wide open throttle operating conditions; and an additional 25% -/+ LOW, MID & HIGH rev’ range adjustment for desired performance while the car is being driven.

if i compare what they said with even small stuff like apexi 5-button safc 1945 its just the same ? how about safc and safc-II compared to it , wuish what if we compare with a 16mhz old model haltech e6k , 704 fuel tuning points and 704 ignition points.

boost cut eliminator wasnt even needed for the car actually , based on mitsu 4g9X series ecu's , it doesnt create any check engine when sensors are removed , mechanic conned u up ?

something fishy
[/FONT] Quote:
Originally Posted by cyilaw
look at ur A/F like not enough fuel after 5K rpm or i'm wrong?..:)

yes, youre right...

my mech Andy(drager racing) and CF LO(exodus motorsports) help me to fine tune by refering to the graph using PS Air-Fuel Enhancer – II, now the power graph is much more smoother.

its rather funny , wonder if i come and ask you "hei bro, wanna go yamchar" will your anwser be "wei , sorry laa , my friend you dont know him (Ah Heng from Sunway Motorsports) went out for a while because he is having meeting with
(Ah Meng from Japan Autoparts) , wei wait la wei, yesterday we ate in KFC it was nice the chicken is good man, it has a better meat.

erm wht i mean is that the anwser has something weird into it i can say.

and please do let me know about PS timing control , havent found that from the pspowersport catalog from US

lancersr20 : please do let me know more about PowerSport that you been recommending from Mr.Lo , forgot to highlight sorry mate ;) , maybe some specifications , maybe we all can do a good informative discussion since other ems are condemnd over here.

cheamys : "1.0 PS = 0.98632 BHP".
"what do u mean by The dyno power chart shown in ps has less hp output."

and i tink i will sell my car if u boosted 2.0bar with this compression and lasted the dyno run :)

sleeperr34 : i also would like to know how u detected knocking from dyno graph :) i can ppl want to hire u already :)

bt according to maths , the compression has already been lowered by using metal gasket which obviously reduced drivability. people opt to lower compression piston to achieve high boost. i would say this engine wouldnt go more than that already , unless the block is modded. bt so far no real proof its a 1.6l and no proof its stock :) , i know a 300bhp wira which takes part in drag battle , u may go see him urself :) his name is david , blue wira , daily driven car , its already proven by engineers around the world , to boost u need lower compression , even if high compression they use it forged :) right ?

joeker :D sometime ppl fail to know who r moderators n who has access to iplogs :)

Woo hoo hoo... its getting hotter :)

Guys, no need to fight laa. Now no more "stock" 4g92. the car is in the process of heading to 300Whp mark... so there must be all forged inside.

And than, if they achived it, sure they wan 600Whp and wan it daily driven some more... ha ha boost is addicting

So... peace yoo

This topic is going no where and the point is well noted that even puny 1.6 engines are capable of churning out impresive figures in the hands of competent tuner/garages.

And to those losers out there that take the trouble to register a new nick for the sake of taking cheap pot shots at people.....

PLEASE GET A LIFE.